Wednesday, May 28, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson
Series: The Remnant Chronicles #1
Publication Date: July 15th 2014
Publisher: Henry Holt
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ B&N

Synopsis: In this timeless new trilogy about love and sacrifice, a princess must find her place in a reborn world.

In a society steeped in tradition, Princess Lia’s life follows a preordained course. As First Daughter, she is expected to have the revered gift of sight—but she doesn’t—and she knows her parents are perpetrating a sham when they arrange her marriage to secure an alliance with a neighboring kingdom—to a prince she has never met.

On the morning of her wedding, Lia flees to a distant village. She settles into a new life, hopeful when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assasin sent to kill her. Deception abounds, and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—even as she finds herself falling in love.

Thursday, May 22, 2014

Of Triton by Anna Banks

Series: The Syrena Legacy #2
Publication Date: May 28th 2013
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Mermaid
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ B&N

Synopsis: Emma has just learned that her mother is a long-lost Poseidon princess, and now struggles with an identity crisis: As a Half-Breed, she’s a freak in the human world and an abomination in the Syrena realm below. Syrena law states that all Half-Breeds should be put to death.

As if that’s not bad enough, her mother’s reappearance among the Syrena turns the two kingdoms—Poseidon and Triton—against one another. Which leaves Emma with a decision to make: Should she comply with Galen’s request to keep herself safe and just hope for the best? Or should she risk it all and reveal herself—and her Gift—to save a people she’s never known?

Once again, Anna Banks infuses Emma and Galen's points of view with humor, intrigue, and waves of romance.

My Rating: 5/5 stars

My Review: Of Triton was the perfect sequel to Of Poseidon. Taking on a more serious role at times, yet still being true to the style of the first book, Of Triton did not disappoint.

Nalia the Poseidon princess has been found. The only problem is that she's on the run. She believes that Grom is actually dead, and that the Syrena are planning a trap to capture her.
But worse things are happening in the Syrena world. There is a war brewing between Poseidon and Triton. The Royals have been accused of neglecting their work and not doing a good job. Will Galen and Emma be able to stop this war?

I found this book to be just as good as the first one. Which is a surprise for me because usually the sequels aren't as good. But this one is. I felt like the writing style of the author changed a little for this book. It has definitely become more serious. Don't get me wrong, there's still lots of funny parts with Emma's witty comments and Rayna and Toraf crazy romance, just not as much.

The view this book has on death absolutely amazed me. Even in this book Emma is still talking about Chloe's death, which is something very realistic, you carry that burden for the rest of your life. And I know that in other books, we usually forget the characters that died in the beginning because they're never mentioned again. Also when Galen was going through seeing someone die, the description was just so beautiful. I honestly felt like I just watched someone die... WELL DONE ANNA!!

My love for all the characters is still the same. I love them all... especially Toraf <3

The only thing I didn't like about the book, is the power of Triton. You look at Emma's cool power of being able to talk to fish and command them to do stuff... and then you get Rayna and Galens power... I mean being able to swim fast is pretty awesome, but I do not see how having a big fin is considered sexy. And as for the yelling, I guess it could be cool at first, but man that would get so annoying after a while.

I can't wait to read Of Neptune, and see the amazing ending to this trilogy. Hopefully it doesn't disappoint.

Happy Reading,
- Aneta

Wednesday, May 21, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: Dream Boy by Mary Crockett and Madelyn Rosenberg

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Dream Boy by Mary Crockett and Madelyn Rosenberg
Publication Date: July 1st 2014
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ B&N

Synopsis: Annabelle Manning feels like she’s doing time at her high school in Chilton, Virginia. She has her friends at her lunchtime table of nobodies. What she doesn’t have are possibilities. Or a date for Homecoming. Things get more interesting at night, when she spends time with the boy of her dreams. But the blue-eyed boy with the fairytale smile is just that—a dream. Until the Friday afternoon he walks into her chemistry class. 

One of friends suspects he’s an alien. Another is pretty sure it’s all one big case of deja vu. While Annabelle doesn’t know what to think, she’s willing to believe that the charming Martin Zirkle may just be her dream come true. But as Annabelle discovers the truth behind dreams—where they come from and what they mean—she is forced to face a dark reality she had not expected. More than just Martin has arrived in Chilton. As Annabelle learns, if dreams can come true, so can nightmares.

Monday, May 19, 2014

Lucifer's Rants: Sex in YA books

Hi everyone, this is a new topic I decided to start here at Angelic Reviews. It's called Lucifer's Rants, named after the fallen angel Lucifer himself, where I talk about a certain topic that's currently bothering me and has something to do with reading. So enjoy.

Onto today's topic.

Sex in Young-Adult books

So recently I read a book called The Infinite Moment of Us by Lauren Myracle. I found this book in the Young-Adult isle at my local book store and I decided to pick up a copy. I was absolutely shocked when the two main characters had sex in the book. I'm not talking about how Bella and Edward had sex in Breaking Dawn where they hinted at it but Stephanie actually didn't write about it. This was the opposite, I'm talking crazy details here, from beginning to end. Like and adult novel. I was sure this must have been a mistake and there's no way that this book could be for young adults, but after checking on Goodreads, my worst nightmare was confirmed that this was meant for teens to read.

It's very obvious to society that teens and pre-teens are becoming more sexual. Not only are they dressing more maturely, but they're also having intercourse much much sooner. I still consider myself a young-adult, but even I can tell the difference. When I was in grade 6 all the girls dressed like boys, with those big clunky skater shoes and oversized hoodies. Now when I walk by my old school, I see all the little kids wearing crop tops and short shorts. And the shocking thing is that I was in grade 6, only 6 years ago. I know trends change fast but going from hiding under your clothes to not wearing any... Damn.

In my opinion, I feel like the media is telling kids that its okay to dress this way and be sexually active. I even expect this from music videos and movies now. What I didn't expect is to find this problem even in books. Books have always been that one place where I could escape this crazy trend, and focus on the adventure in the story. I feel like romance is definitely necessary in books, but sex is a little too much. We all love those little romances, like Katniss and Peeta or Tris and Four, but we never even hear about them having sex. I don't know about you, but to me it would ruin the book if Katniss and Peeta started getting it on by the beach in the quarter quell. Now that would be weird and unnecessary.

Anyways, what I'm trying to get at is, sex shouldn't be presented in young-adult books. Not only are we teaching the younger generation that its okay to do, but its also something that doesn't need to be included, and could easily ruin a good book.
What do you guys think? Do you think it's okay if Young Adult books have detailed sex in them, and and they should follow society, or that its a bad thing?

Leave a comment with your opinion below,
Thanks for reading.

Sunday, May 18, 2014

The Infinite Moment of Us by Lauren Myracle

Publication Date: August 27th 2013
Genre: YA, Romance, Contemporary
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ B&N

Synopsis: For as long as she can remember, Wren Gray’s goal has been to please her parents. But as high school graduation nears, so does an uncomfortable realization: Pleasing her parents once overlapped with pleasing herself, but now... not so much. Wren needs to honor her own desires, but how can she if she doesn’t even know what they are?

Charlie Parker, on the other hand, is painfully aware of his heart’s desire. A gentle boy with a troubled past, Charlie has loved Wren since the day he first saw her. But a girl like Wren would never fall for a guy like Charlie—at least not the sort of guy Charlie believes himself to be.

And yet certain things are written in the stars. And in the summer after high school, Wren and Charlie’s souls will collide. But souls are complicated, as are the bodies that house them...

Sexy, romantic, and oh-so-true to life, this is an unforgettable look at first love from one of young adult fiction’s greatest writers.

My Rating: 3/5 stars

My Review: The Infinite Moment of Us is a wonderful contemporary romance from both Wren and Charlie's point of view.
Wren Gray is a people pleaser. All she's ever done in her life is please her parents and teachers. Now that she's about to graduate, its time for her to make her own choices. And one of those choices include her first love, Charlie Parker.
Charlie is in love with Wren. Except she doesn't know him yet. But when she finally realizes Charlie's love for her, Charlie experiences some problems from his troubled past.

This book was definitely a big surprise to me. I found this book at the store and as soon as I saw the cover, I knew I had to have it. When I first started reading it, I thought it was really good. But when I got to the middle, I was shocked and my feelings for it kind of went down.
When I picked this book up, I found it in the Young Adult section, so when I got to a certain part where there was some sexual content I was extremely surprised. This isn't something I'm used to while reading Young Adult novels, I just feel like it wasn't very appropriate.

Wren's character was very interesting. At first I felt kind of connected, I definitely share a lot of similarities with Wren about the whole 'pleasing' people part, and about being an only child. But after she got together with Charlie, I found her character to be really annoying. Some of the fights they shared together were just stupid and pointless. 

Charlie's character on the other hand was actually pretty interesting to read about. I've never read a book where the main character has been though some pretty traumatic things so this was very interesting for me. He definitely reminded me of an old crush of mine. So he was definitely my fave character.

Overall, I will say that I did like this book (even though the ending is stupid). But it could definitely use some improvement, and it's definitely not for children. I'd say only 17 and up should read something like this.

Hopefully you like this book more than me, 
Happy Reading
- Aneta

Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch
Series: Snow Like Ashes #1
Publication Date: October 14 2014
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ B&N

Synopsis: A heartbroken girl. A fierce warrior. A hero in the making.

Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.

Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again.

So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she’s scaling towers, fighting enemy soldiers, and serving her kingdom just as she’s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn’t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics – and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own.

Thursday, May 8, 2014

Defy by Sara B. Larson

Series: Defy #1
Publication Date: January 7th 2014
Genre: YA, Fantasy
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ B&N

Synopsis: A lush and gorgeously written debut, packed with action, intrigue, and a thrilling love triangle.

Alexa Hollen is a fighter. Forced to disguise herself as a boy and serve in the king's army, Alex uses her quick wit and fierce sword-fighting skills to earn a spot on the elite prince's guard. But when a powerful sorcerer sneaks into the palace in the dead of night, even Alex, who is virtually unbeatable, can't prevent him from abducting her, her fellow guard and friend Rylan, and Prince Damian, taking them through the treacherous wilds of the jungle and deep into enemy territory.

The longer Alex is held captive with both Rylan and the prince, the more she realizes that she is not the only one who has been keeping dangerous secrets. And suddenly, after her own secret is revealed, Alex finds herself confronted with two men vying for her heart: the safe and steady Rylan, who has always cared for her, and the dark, intriguing Damian. With hidden foes lurking around every corner, is Alex strong enough to save herself and the kingdom she's sworn to protect?

My Rating: 5/5 stars

My Review: Defy is an amazing story about a beautiful and strong girl named Alexa, or Alex as she is known by her fellow members of the King's Army. When Alexa was young, she witnessed the death of both her parents by a Black Sorcerer, to escape becoming a prisoner she decided to pose as a boy with her twin brother Marcel in the King's Army. Now 17, Alexa is one of the most feared fighters in the castle, but when a sorcerer comes in the middle of the night, to abduct Prince Damian, Alexa finds herself captive in the enemy territory. 

This book was fantastic from the start. I instantly fell in love with Alexa, if I was in her place I would have done the exact same thing. I felt like she was a real person, the amount of detail the author put into her emotions and skills was just amazing! You definitely get to see lots of character development which was perfect for me.

Every great book nowadays has a love triangle. And so did this book, and it was absolutely fantastic. Alexa is trapped between her feelings towards the prince, now that she has got to know him better, and her best friend Rylan. Rylan has been there for her ever since she joined the King's Army, but she's been recently assigned to watch over the prince, realizing that he's not as snobby as he pretends to be Alexa develops some feelings for him. The only problem is that she is supposed to be a boy.
I definitely liked this love triangle. This is one of those books where its really hard to pick which one you like better. I must say that I ended up having a favorite, but it was really hard for me to chose.

The only thing I was kind of disappointed with was the world-building. I feel like if you have an amazing story such as this one, you need a crazy detailed world filled with magic and different places with cool names. Sadly this story didn't have that. We pretty much only got to know of the town Alexa lived in before the attack, and the Castle they stayed at. The rest of the book was just focused on action and feeling, even when Alexa went into the jungle, or got abducted.

Even with the missing details in the world-building, the action and characters were so amazing int his book that I have to give it a 5/5. I would definitely recommend this book to all Young Adult readers who love some crazy action and a good love triangle. You won't be disappointed.

Happy Reading,

Thursday, May 1, 2014

2014 Reading Challenge Progress: March + April

Hi guys, so as you know I'm doing 3 different challenges this year, throughout the whole year just to stay motivated with my reading. Here is my progress for March and April, I missed my progress for March because I was in Europe, so I\m doing it now, sorry.

This year my goal is to finish 60 books within the year. In the month of January I have finished 6 books, for February I finished 5 books. In the month of March I read 8 books, I was extremely happy with this outcome, but then sadly in the month of April I only finished one book :( I've been so busy with catching up in school and stuff that I've barely had any time to read. Lets just hope that I can pick up the slack for May. This puts me at 33% done with this challenge, and 1 % ahead of schedule.

Books Read:
World After by Susan Ee
To All the Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han
Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers
Eden Forest by Aoife Marie Sheridan
Knight Assassin by Rima Jean
Lover Divine by A. Star
A Bird In The House by Margaret Laurence
Captivate Me by S.J. Pierce

Poison Princess by Kresley Cole

Series Challenge
This is a reading challenge that focuses on finishing series. This challenge is hosted by Octavia from Read. Sleep. Repeat. My goal is to complete 12 series this year. You can check out my original post for this challenge here.
I've finished one series in March. I know this isn't the complete series, but the other 4 books have not been published yet, and will not be published until 2015 and later, so this still counts as a finished series.
Series Finished:
Penryn & The End of Days

Edelweiss & Netgalley Challenge

This challenge is hosted by Emily from Falling For Ya, my goad is to read 25 books. Check out my main post about this challenge here.
Books Read:
Knight Assassin by Rima Jean

So far I've only read 2  books toward my goal of 25... which is not good at all! But I've been approved for many books over Netgalley, so I just need to find the time to read them all.

I'm hoping that I can finish some books over May, its going to be a really busy month for me, but I'm sure I can squeeze a few books in. And I know that in June when all my school stuff is done, I'll be able to relax outside and read a few books.

If you ever want to track my progress throughout the month, you can check how I'm doing in the side bar on my blog, which I update frequently.

Thanks so much for reading, 
Leave a link in the comments to your 2014 Reading Challenges, I'd love to see them.

Have a lovely month everyone :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...