Wednesday, January 27, 2016

Book Blitz + Excerpt: Thirst: Blood of my Blood by R.P. Channing

Publication Date: November 26th, 2015
Genre: YA, Paranormal, Fantasy 
Amazon ~ Goodreads 

Synopsis: ~ Kira Sutherland ~

After a near fatal accident (and getting cheated on by her 'boyfriend'), and beating up the lead cheerleader (with whom the boyfriend cheated...), and being labeled as having 'issues' in her school because she, uhm, sees ghosts, Kira is left with two choices: 

1. Continue her 'therapy' (where she's told the ghost is a hallucination and also gets her legs ogled too often...) 


2. Go to Starkfield Academy, a boarding school for "Crazies and Convicts" (as the social media sites call them.)

She chooses the latter...

~ Cory Rand ~

Cory Rand has not had an easy life. His mother died in a car accident when he was twelve, and so did his mother's best friend...sort of. You see, Janice made a promise to take care of Cory just before she died, and so she lingers. Undead. A ghost that watches out for him.

Brought up in an abusive home, Cory quickly falls into a life of disreputable behavior. After his third offense (which was prompted by a girl, as usual - he has a weakness) he's left with two choices: 

1. Be tried as an adult and share a cell with a guy named Bubba (he thinks...) 


2. Go to Starkfield Academy, which Cory is pretty sure is run by vampires. But, hey, at least he'll get an education.

He chooses the latter...

It's at Starkfield that Kira meets Cory Rand, a boy with an insatiable Rage who sees ghosts, too. As well as other things, other things from his past, things that confuse him, things like fire and witches and demons.

Things he's always ignored. 

Until now.


The Puppy Eyes 
My life was perfect.
I had the perfect shoes and the perfect friends and I lived in the perfect house. My nails were perfect and my hair was perfect (except on Sundays, it was always windy on Sundays) and I had the perfect clothes. My lips were a perfect red and my hair perfectly straight. My eyeshadow was perfect, my hips were...okay, and my waist...well...also okay. Nothing was wrong in my life.
But then there was Jack.
Jack was a problem.
He needed to go. I mean, when you’re dead, you’re dead! I had told him this endlessly. Somehow, Jack didn’t get it. I mean, I felt sorry for the guy. Sure. Being stuck between this life and the next. But just because I found him, does that mean I needed to keep him?
I think not!
Sadly, when Jack got that look in his eyes, that weary, almost teary (if his tear-ducts worked) look, I melted. I just couldn’t send him away. Not even Jack knew where he would go after he died.
Would he, like, die? As in — dead, nada, kaput, finito, gone, no more? Bye bye, sayonara, ciao, hasta la vista baby and all that?
I couldn’t have that on my conscience. No way.
I lay on my bed, wondering what to do about him. “Jaaaaaaack,” I hollered.
Still no answer.
His eyes rolled down to the ground. He was making those puppy eyes again.
“Jack, I told you not to do that. I told you not to play on my sympathies.”
His puppy eyes became worse.
His skin was gray and, well, dead.
“Oh, brother,” I said. “I have to do something about you. If mom finds out I have another ‘imaginary friend’ — at my age — well, I’d die of embarrassment. But, like, really die. Not like you.” I wondered about this. Would I die? Was Jack a freak accident, or did all people live on like him? Think of the cemeteries...
The idea excited me somewhat.
“What would you have me do, Miss Kira?”
“Knock off the Miss Kira crap. I told you it’s just Kira.”
“Yes, Miss Kira.”
The dead. There’s just no reasoning.
“Fine, Miss Kira it is then.” Rover barked like a lunatic in the garden. No one else might be able to see Jack, but I was sure my dog could.
“I have to do something about this,” I mumbled.
The Rat 
Mike knocked on the door before I had time to leave the house. Mike was the guy I thought (at the time) was perfect.
“Who is it?”
“It’s me, baby.”
Baby, urgh — I wasn’t his baby. I dated Mike because he was the quarterback, because girls are supposed to like the quarterback, because it’s just so darn perfect to be seen with the quarterback, like we’re brainwashed into thinking these things from the first romantic doll set mom buys us.
This was my previous life.
“Uh-huh. Gonna let me in?”
So you can try rub me up and then complain when I don’t let you? This, dear reader, was the big problem with Mike. The second we first kissed, his hand went way too far south for me to be comfortable — and I pulled back.
Mike suddenly wasn’t so perfect.
“Uhm, I was just on my way out,” I said.
“Kira? C’mon, open the door.” He sounded upset. “Is there someone in there with you?”
Boys. As if.
I didn’t know much about love (nothing, actually) but I knew this wasn’t it.
“Uhm, now’s not the time, Mike.”
“C’mon, Kira, what’s going on?” He banged harder.
When in doubt...lie. I opened the door a crack. “There’s a dead rat in the house, Mike. Been here for days. I gotta go get some detergent and stuff to handle the stench.”
Mike stepped back. He peered through the crack of the door.
“It’s really bad,” I said.
“I’ll drive you.”
“I’m afraid the smell” — I stuck my armpit to my nose — “has found its way all over me. I’ll drive myself.”
“O — okay. Fine.” And then he grinned like he wanted something. “Later? My place?”
Urgh. “Uhm, Not sure when though.”
I fought the urge to roll my eyes. According to girls at school, he was apparently so damn good looking — theoretically. But for me personally, he did nothing. Moved nothing. Twisted nothing. “Look, I gotta go, Mike. I gotta — ”
“Kira.” His eyes grew stern. “You’ve been avoiding me...”
Bingo! Well done contestant number one! And what have you won? A brain!
I tilted my head. “Mike, look, this...rat — I need to deal with it. We’ll talk later, okay? Bye.” I closed the door, not waiting for an answer, and peered out the peep hole. Mike hung around for a second, shoulders wide and eyes glaring straight at me through the door. Could he see me? Did he know I was looking at him?
He kicked something off the ground, and I had the distinct impression he mouthed the word Bitch before leaving. But I wasn’t sure...
The Mack 
“Roll down the window, Jack.” Jack was recently dead, so he still had a smell about him. (Which only I could smell...)
I had purposely skipped breakfast. Maybe Jack would help me lose weight. I was (still am) a little wide, although it had never stopped guys flirting with me. I know how to dress.
But I could be skinnier.
Lucy Rogers was skinny. All bones and no boobs.
Charlene Carverton was a babe. Cheerleader. Big chest (which she pushed out generously with a push-up — if only guys knew). Toned thighs. Charlene only dated college boys (back then), which I still think is pretty gross for a girl her age.
“He’s not for you,” Jack said out the blue.
“This...Mike — he’s wrong for you, Miss Kira.” For all Jack’s faults (mainly, being dead), he has a good heart. Factually, probably it’s why I kept him around at first.
“You think I don’t know that?”
“Then why don’t you dump him?”
I braked at a stop sign. Looked left and right. “Because I’d look like an idiot. I flirted with him and showed interest, and one kiss later I can’t stand the sight of him.”
“So dump him.”
“It’s not that simple. Kids at school — they can be vicious. I have to let it fade slowly. If I drop the bomb on him, I’ll never hear the end of it through senior year.”
“And you care?”
Yes, I did. Forget Guantanamo, schools are rough. “You don’t understand, Jack. Maybe school was different in your day. But in mine, well, we walk through metal detectors.”
“Schools weren’t too different in my day.” I noted the sadness in his voice.
“You okay?”
“I’m dead.”
Right. “You miss...your life?”
Jack shrugged. “I like being with you, Miss Kira. And I don’t remember much of my life. I think I’m in limbo.”
“Yes, like I have some unfinished business. If only I could is...” He scratched his head.
“Any ideas?”
“Well, it can’t be love. If it were love, I’d be a vampire. That’s who teenage girls fall in love with these days.”
“A vampire? That’s just what I need — two undead beings stalking me.”
“I feel I have something to do around you, Miss Kira. I don’t know what, but something. Something important.”
I looked over at him. “Me?”
I was still looking at him when I missed the stop sign.
The Mack truck drove straight into us.

$20 Amazon Gift Voucher Giveaway
At the back of the book there is a giveaway link. Once the book hits fifty reviews on Amazon, one of those reviewers will win a $20 (US Dollars) Amazon Gift Voucher!

Tuesday, January 26, 2016

An Uncertain Choice by Jody Hedlund

Series: An Uncertain Choice #1
Publication Date: March 3rd, 2015
Publisher: Zondervan
Genre: YA, Fantasy
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ B&N

Synopsis: Due to her parents' promise at her birth, Lady Rosemarie has been prepared to become a nun on the day she turns eighteen. Then, a month before her birthday, a friend of her father's enters the kingdom and proclaims her parents' will left a second choice. If Rosemarie can marry before the eve of her eighteenth year, she will be exempt from the ancient vow. 

Before long, Rosemarie is presented with the three most handsome and brave knights in the land. But when the competition for her heart seemingly results in a knight playing foul, she begins to wonder if the cloister is the best place after all. If only one of the knights the one who appears the most guilty had not already captured her heart.

My Rating: 3/5 stars

My Review: “Sometimes we have to take risks, even put our lives in jeopardy to do what's right.” 

An Uncertain Choice is a romantic book that will fill the heart of all. It is absolutely sweet and it will have all the hopeless romantics screaming for more.

Rosemarie is the rightful rule of her kingdom after her parents passed away in the plague that swept the country. At birth she was promised to become a nun on her 18th birthday. As Rosemarie's world is filled with loneliness and hopelessness, her godfather rides into town announcing that there might be a way out of the promise her parents made so long ago. In order for Rosemarie to be free, she must find true love and get married before her 18th birthday. Can she fall in love with one of the three handsome nights her godfather presented her? Or will she be forced to rule her country form a convent?

I definitely had mixed emotions about this book, especially in the beginning. Yet as I got farther into the book, it just became too sweet of a tale to not fall in love with.

I found the beginning of the book to be quite boring and dry. I wasn't immediately in love with the main character so it was definitely hard to get started. Yet as the book went on the main character matured and became more bearable. She's still not one of my favourite characters, but I definitely like her and respect her.

This book does not provide much mystery. If you like a book with twists and turns that keep you on your feet, this is not the book for you. Right from the beginning of the book I guessed who the antagonist was and what exactly will happen at the end, and everything happened exactly as I predicted. 

I must say that the world building in this story is quite nice. While Rosemarie's kingdom isn't exactly the greatest, the author definitely made you imagine exactly how everything was so you could picture the world in your head. Even though its not the greatest world building, its still very well written!

The love story in this book is the one that got me. It's absolutely adorable and I definitely ship the couple so much! They are absolutely perfect for each other and complement each other so well. I love how the author incorporated that they simply make each other stronger and help each other grow. If it wasn't for the romance in this book and the fantastic relationships the author created, I don't know if I would finish this book.

Overall, this story had an amazing romance that everyone would enjoy. There could have been some improvements made but its still a fantastic short read perfect for any audience. 

Happy Reading,

Wednesday, January 20, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: These Vicious Masks by Tarun Shanker

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Series: These Vicious Masks #1
Publication Date: February 9th, 2016
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Historical Fiction
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ B&N

Synopsis: Jane Austen meets X-­Men in this gripping and adventure-­filled paranormal romance set in Victorian London.

England, 1882. Evelyn is bored with society and its expectations. So when her beloved sister, Rose, mysteriously vanishes, she ignores her parents and travels to London to find her, accompanied by the dashing Mr. Kent. But they’re not the only ones looking for Rose. The reclusive, young gentleman Sebastian Braddock is also searching for her, claiming that both sisters have special healing powers. Evelyn is convinced that Sebastian must be mad, until she discovers that his strange tales of extraordinary people are true—and that her sister is in graver danger than she feared.

Thursday, January 14, 2016

Oasis by Dima Zales

Series: The Last Humans #1
Publication Date: January 19th, 2016
Publisher: Mozaika Publications
Genre: YA, Dystopian
Amazon ~ Goodreads

Synopsis: A new dystopian/post-apocalyptic series from a New York Times bestselling author 

My name is Theo, and I'm a resident of Oasis, the last habitable area on Earth. It's meant to be a paradise, a place where we are all content. Vulgarity, violence, insanity, and other ills are but a distant memory, and even death no longer plagues us.

I was once content too, but now I'm different. Now I hear a voice in my head, and she tells me things no imaginary friend should know. Her name is Phoe, and she is my delusion.

Or is she?

Note: This book contains some strong language. We felt it was important for the censorship theme of the novel. If such words offend you, you might not enjoy this book.

My Rating: 5/5 stars

My Review: Oasis will most likely be my favourite book this year!

When I first started this book, I was a bit iffy about it. I wasn't sure if I was going to like the main character, especially if he was in fact crazy. But after a few chapters I was absolutely amazing by the book and I could not put it down. It's action packed, mysterious and you just can't help but fall in love with it.

Theo thinks he's going crazy because he can hear a voice inside his head. The voice known as Phoe, can't possibly be an imaginary friend, Phoe knows things, like where his friends are at all times, and information he can't possibly make up on his own. When Theo's friend Mason disappears after confessing his love for a girl (which is strictly not allowed in society), Theo happens to be the only one to remember that Mason even existed. Theo and Phoe have to find out what happened to Mason, why only they can remember who he is, and who Phoe really is.

At first this book really reminded me of Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi, especially with them being trapped in a dome, if you go outside you die type of thing. Then it sort of turns into a Giver type of situation with the Elders and only one person being able to remember.

Even though this book resembled a few other books, it was still very original. I haven't read a book that had a virtual reality/video game twist to it, so that was very new and exciting to read about. I know it sounds weird, but it will all make sense in the end.

The character of this book are fantastic, at first you're not sure about Theo but you end up loving him in the end. He's very relatable, especially to someone with fears. A huge aspect of his character is trying to get over the fear of heights and the author nailed that perfectly! We also get to meet Theo's two friends Liam and Mason. They are both funny characters, and I wish we got to see more of them in the book. As for Phoe, I found her to be a bit confusing at times, but in the end, I absolutely loved her character, especially her intelligence. 

The plot line of this book was excellent. There's tons of action to keep you interested in the book, with lots of mystery and twists. I can guarantee you that you will be surprised at one point or another, and the ending will be totally different than what you predicted. 

Overall, I'm in love with this book. Everything about is absolutely fantastic from the characters to the writing. If I could change one thing about this book, it would be the ending. I felt like it kind of ended in a bit of a hurry, and I would have liked some more information before it ended, but this is also a great way to get you hyped for the next book. I definitely recommend this book to all dystopian fans, especially fans of The Giver, Hunger Games, and Under the Never Sky. I can't wait to continue this series, and read more from this author.

Happy Reading,
- Aneta

Wednesday, January 6, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Series: Red Queen #2
Publication Date: February 9th, 2016
Publisher: HarperTeen
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Dystopia
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ B&N

Synopsis: Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control. 

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors. 

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat. 

Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

Sunday, January 3, 2016

I'm back & 2016 Blogging Goals

Hi everyone! Welcome back to my blog. I must say it has been a while. 
So for those of you that still remember me, last year I took a small break from books. My schooling got in the way, and I ended up not reading for almost half a year. Well now that the new year is starting, why don't we set some new goals and get back to reading!

1. Read while you can!
I'm still in university, and this coming up semester will be extremely hard once again. But I will have a week off in February for Reading Week, as well as two months off between May and June so I will definitely have some time to read this year. Also I'm planning on reading on the bus ride there and back, I have the kindle app on my iPhone so why not read?

2. Don't start challenges you can't complete.
Last year I started many book challenges, and sadly I didn't finish any of them. It was much too hard. So this year, I am only doing the Goodreads Book Challenge, and I have pledged to read 25 books this year. While that doesn't seem like much, last year I only managed to read 21 books with my busy schedule, so hopefully this will work.

3. Have at least one post a week.
Since I won't be reading as much, there won't be as many reviews this year. Which means I've decided to spread them out accordingly. Along with Waiting on Wednesday and other memes, it works out to be around one post a week. I really wish I could post more, but for now thats the best I can do. Let's just hope I can complete this goal for the whole year.

4. Have fun with reading.
Another reason I stopped reading last year, was because I wasn't having fun reading anymore. I was reviewing so many books for publishers that I didn't get to read the books I really wanted to read, and it almost turned into a job rather than a pleasure. So this year, I won't be requesting books unless I find them really interesting, and definitely read some older books that I've been dying to read for ages.

Thanks again for stopping by. I've honestly missed blogging and reading so much! I missed the friends I made through blogging and I absolutely can't wait to get back into it. 
Happy New Year everyone, and good luck to your own personal challenges

Saturday, January 2, 2016

Her Dark Curiosity by Megan Shepherd

Series: The Madman's Daughter #2
Publication Date: January 28th, 2014
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Mystery
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ B&N

Synopsis: To defeat the darkness, she must first embrace it.

Months have passed since Juliet Moreau returned to civilization after escaping her father's island—and the secrets she left behind. Now, back in London once more, she is rebuilding the life she once knew and trying to forget Dr. Moreau’s horrific legacy—though someone, or something, hasn’t forgotten her.

As people close to Juliet fall victim one by one to a murderer who leaves a macabre calling card of three clawlike slashes, Juliet fears one of her father’s creations may have also escaped the island. She is determined to find the killer before Scotland Yard does, though it means awakening sides of herself she had thought long banished, and facing loves from her past she never expected to see again.

As Juliet strives to stop a killer while searching for a serum to cure her own worsening illness, she finds herself once more in the midst of a world of scandal and danger. Her heart torn in two, past bubbling to the surface, life threatened by an obsessive killer—Juliet will be lucky to escape alive.

With inspiration from Robert Louis Stevenson’s The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, this is a tantalizing mystery about the hidden natures of those we love and how far we’ll go to save them from themselves.

My Rating: 5/5 stars

My Review: “Sometimes you have to embrace the darkness to stop it.” 

A darker and more mature sequel to an already amazing book. This series continues to get better and better!

As Juliet arrives back in London she is found and taken in by the wealthy and caring Professor Von Stein. But things could not get any worse, Juliet is ill. The serum she's been taking is no longer working and she must race against the clock before it stops working completely to find a new serum. She still cannot shake what has happened on the island, and it all comes back to haunt her as Edward and Montgomery both show up in London, one hunting the other. Along with a mysterious killer and a line up of dead murders, Juliet has to follow her heart and solve the mystery.

I have to say, that if you love the first book in the series, and how dark and twisted it could be, then you will love this book even more. There is a huge mystery, lots of adventure and even a bit of romance.

As I said before, this book is a bit more darker and mature than the first book. I absolutely adore this about the book because you can watch Juliet mature right in front of you and it just makes her a better character all together.

Sadly I can't say too much about the character, because I don't want to give anything away, but I will say that the old characters and the characters introduced in this book will shock and/or make you love them even more!

Overall, this book is a fantastic sequel. It did not disappoint. If you loved the first book then I would definitely continue on with the series. If you have not read the first book, go do that right now because you will not be disappointed.

Happy Reading,

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...