Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Review: The Broken Ones by Danielle L. Jensen

Series: The Malediction Trilogy #0.6
Publication Date: June 6th 2017
Publisher: Angry Robot
Genre: YA, Fantasy 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: A prequel to the USA Today bestseller and Goodreads Choice finalist Stolen Songbird (The Malediction Trilogy).

Below Forsaken Mountain, a plot is being hatched to overthrow the tyrant king of Trollus, and Marc is the right-hand man of its leader. His involvement is information more than one troll would kill to possess, which is why he must keep it a secret from everyone, even the girl he loves.

After accidentally ruining her sister’s chance to become queen, Pénélope is given one last opportunity by her father, the Duke d’Angoulême, to make herself useful: she must find proof that the boy she’s in love with is conspiring against the crown. If she fails, her life will be forfeit.

Marc and Pénélope must navigate the complex politics of Trollus, where powers on all sides are intent on using them as pawns, forcing them to risk everything for a chance at a life together.

Except being together may turn out to be the greatest risk of all.

My Rating
4/5 stars

My Review
The Broken Ones was a beautiful and captivating prequel. I completely forgot how good this series is until now. I can't wait to finish reading the whole trilogy.

This prequel takes place two years before the first book, Stolen Songbird. It is the story of Marc and Penelope, their love, and how their actions truly affected the world that we see in the trilogy. I never realized how important of a role they had in the world before Cecile came, it really made me appreciate the characters a lot more.

So I didn't do my research before I started this book, it was only after that I saw the author recommends you read the first two books of the trilogy before starting this one (I've only read the first, so far). It wasn't too confusing for me, since I've read book one and knew the world. There were a few things I was a tad confused about, but I figured it out in the end. The other mistake I made was not reviewing what happened in Stolen Songbird, since I've read it 3 years ago (I think), I've forgotten some of the things that happen and just who some of the characters were, it took me a while to remember who everyone was.

I absolutely loved Penelope and reading from her point of view. She was such a kind soul. I never realized how much I needed this story until I read it. Her story is beautiful and heartbreaking at the same time.

The world building in this book was fantastic as always. Danielle does a great job creating a setting and explains the world she created, she definitely doesn't let you down in the prequel. I was mesmerized at some of the settings, it was as if I could step into them myself. But I think the best part of the world, was seeing what it was like before Cecile arrived and being able to kind of compare and contrast.

Overall, I would definitely recommend reading the prequel if you loved the trilogy. If you're like me and still haven't read book two, or if you haven't started the series all together, make sure you read book 1 and 2 before you read this prequel. 

Happy Reading,
Aneta 

Friday, February 16, 2018

Review: Daughter of the Siren Queen by Tricia Levenseller

Series: Daughter of the Pirate King #2
Publication Date: February 27th 2018
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Genre: YA, Fantasy
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: Alosa's mission is finally complete. Not only has she recovered all three pieces of the map to a legendary hidden treasure, but the pirates who originally took her captive are now prisoners on her ship. Still unfairly attractive and unexpectedly loyal, first mate Riden is a constant distraction, but now he's under her orders. And she takes great comfort in knowing that the villainous Vordan will soon be facing her father's justice.

When Vordan exposes a secret her father has kept for years, Alosa and her crew find themselves in a deadly race with the feared Pirate King. Despite the danger, Alosa knows they will recover the treasure first . . . after all, she is the daughter of the Siren Queen.

My Rating
5/5 stars

My Review
It is very rare that I like a sequel more than the first book, but this is one of those rare cases because Daughter of the Siren Queen was absolutely fantastic. I enjoyed it more than I did the first book, and I desperately don't want this story to be over yet.

Alosa finally has all three pieces of the map, now its time to embark on the adventure alongside her father to retrieve the treasures kept hidden by the sirens. But when her prisoner reveals a secret, that her father has a secret weapon to control not only Alosa but all the other sirens, Alosa does the only thing she knows how to do, she snoops in her father's study. What she finds there, changes her whole perspective of her father and Alosa decides to beat her father and take the treasure for herself, but no one escapes the Pirate King that easily.

I fell in love with Alosa in the first book, but now we get to see a whole new side of her and I honestly fell in love with her even more. She is still the same sassy girl that you've gotten to know, but now that she is on her own ship and among her crew, you get to see the side of her that really cares for her friends and just how much she would do for them to protect their lives. Alosa honestly makes the perfect captain, and had me wishing that I could be a part of her crew.

The side characters in this book were all fantastic as well, although Alosa's crew is only 34 people, I still found myself confusing a few of the less important characters, and it would take me a second before I figured out who we were talking about. The characters that I could recognize right away, I absolutely loved reading about! Obviously some of my favourites were Riden (and his romance with Alosa) as well as Madsy. There was definitely a lot of tear jerking moments between a few characters, but it honestly made me love the book even more.

I absolutely loved getting to know more about the siren in this book, especially more about Alosa's powers and just how she manages to develop her siren skills and learn to control herself. The plot was fantastic and there was tons of action at every step of the story. There were a few twists in the book, but they weren't anything extra crazy. It was very well written.

Overall, I highly recommend this series to all fans of pirates and fantasy adventure books. If you loved the first book in the series, then you will definitely love this one as well. I can't wait to see what Tricia Levenseller writes next.

Happy Reading,
Aneta
 

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Waiting on Wednesday: Ace of Shades by Amanda Foody


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Series: The Shadow Game #1
Publication Date: April 10th 2018
Publisher: HarperTeen
Genre: YA, Fantasy
AmazonGoodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families reign, gangs infest the streets…
and secrets hide in every shadow.

Enne Salta was raised as a proper young lady, and no lady would willingly visit New Reynes, the so-called City of Sin. But when her mother goes missing, Enne must leave her finishing school—and her reputation—behind to follow her mother’s trail to the city where no one survives uncorrupted.

Frightened and alone, her only lead is a name: Levi Glaisyer. Unfortunately, Levi is not the gentleman she expected—he’s a street lord and a con man. Levi is also only one payment away from cleaning up a rapidly unraveling investment scam, so he doesn't have time to investigate a woman leading a dangerous double life. Enne's offer of compensation, however, could be the solution to all his problems. 

Their search for clues leads them through glamorous casinos, illicit cabarets and into the clutches of a ruthless mafia donna. As Enne unearths an impossible secret about her past, Levi's enemies catch up to them, ensnaring him in a vicious execution game where the players always lose. To save him, Enne will need to surrender herself to the city…

And she’ll need to play.

Tuesday, February 13, 2018

Review: Immortal Fire by Annette Marie

Series: Red Winter Trilogy #3
Publication Date: April 11th 2017
Publisher: Dark Owl Fantasy Inc.
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD 

Synopsis: Once, Emi believed the heavenly gods were righteous and wise, while the earthly yokai spirits were bloodthirsty and evil. But with a traitorous deity poised to destroy her world, and the yokaistanding as humanity's only defense, the lies of her upbringing have toppled to reveal a far more terrifying reality.

Despite the looming threat, Emi can't escape her greatest distraction: Shiro, the fox yokai who has so deftly claimed her heart for his own. Soon—too soon—she will have to break the curse that binds his magic and memories. And once the ancient power inside him awakens, the yokai she loves will be changed forever.

As the earthly gods gather to wage war against the heavens, Emi and Shiro must gamble everything to turn the tide against their immortal, all-powerful foes. Together, they will find a way to save her world—even if it means losing each other.

My Rating
5/5 stars

My Review
This has to be one of my favourite series ever. I wish more people knew about it becauase it truly is breathtaking.

Isanami is about to descend, and its up to Emi to stop her from destroying the Earth. As the day of Emi’s death comes closer, her love for Shiro only grows, will she be able to take the final beads of the Onenju off and release Shiro’s true form? It could mean winning the war, but losing Shiro for good.

I have grown to love Emi with all my heart. I have read countless books, and to this day she has gone through the best character development in my opinion. Going from the girl who was afraid of everything and constantly whined, to a powerful warrior, who even though is technically human, was still fighting among people with crazy magical power and decades of training. Her strength and determination throughout this book was so beautiful, not only was I cheering her on the whole time, but her loyalty to her new friends and her willingness to sacrifice herself to save their lives was just amazing to read about. She had me crying in one moment and cheering her on in the next.

The romance! You guys already know how much I love Shiro, but in this books I was definitely wanting their relationship to work out (even though I want Shiro for myself). It’s truly wonderful to see how much they love one another, and how much they help each other become better people. 

The action in this book was on point! There were slow moments and there were fast moments, but they all played such important parts in the story that there was no part of the book where I was bored. I just sat there and kept reading, it was just too good to put down.

What I loved in this story was the ending. Everyone has an idea of how the ending will go down, but Annette created a wonderful twist that will leave the reader surprised, but also happy. I loved the way the story ended, it definitely hit all the important points and answered all the questions the reader has.

Overall, I’m extremely sad that this series is over. Highly recommend it to all fantasy and forbidden romance types. I am definitely looking forward to reading more from this author.

Happy Reading,
Aneta 

Monday, February 12, 2018

Book Blitz & Giveaway: The Viking's Chosen by Quinn Loftis


The Viking’s Chosen
Quinn Loftis
Published by: Clean Teen Publishing
Publication date: February 12th 2018
Genres: Historical, Romance, Young Adult

Synopsis: His orders are clear: launch a raid against England and bring home the spoils of war. But the prophecy is also clear: General Torben will take a foreign bride—one who is a seer and healer just like his mother. The eldest princess of England is said to be just that…a beautiful, charming, and headstrong woman. But he’s a Viking army general and she’s an English princess—and one who is already promised to the king of Tara.
Two worlds collide in this epic historical fiction centered on an undeniable chemistry that smolders against the odds. Richly written and injected with moments of humor, this action-packed romantic tale will leave you breathless.
Quinn Loftis is the author of twenty novels, including the USA Today Bestseller Fate and Fury.
Are you a book reviewer?
Request a review copy here!
EXCERPT:
“At least he does not resemble the back end of a boar,” Dayna whispered.
I shot my sister a quick nod of agreement and then covertly turned back to peer at my future husband who was currently conversing with my father. After our morning ride, my sister and I had found a hiding spot behind some large drapes just to the left of the room occupied by our guests. It afforded us the surreptitious ability to listen and watch with the two kings interact. Thomas had taken his leave, but not before he informed me of what he thought about our childish behavior. I did not care if I was being childish. I was not ready to meet King Cathal just yet, at least not without a little advance warning of what I would be dealing with.
“You are correct,” I murmured back. “He is not ugly, but his handsomeness is marred by that tight lipped frown. He looks cruel.”
I had been surprised to find that my future husband was not nearly as old as I had thought he would be. If I had to guess, I would put him at eight and thirty, or, at the very oldest, two and forty. His hair was dark, cut close to his head. He had deep green eyes, a hawkish nose, and thin lips that seemed to hold a perpetual scowl. Standing at a little over six feet, King Cathal was lean but obviously muscular. Yes, he was handsome, but the cold, detached look in his eyes ruined any favor I might have found in him.
“Do you think it hurts to hold his face like that?” Dayna asked.
I bit my bottom lip to keep from laughing. “Perhaps he was just born that way.”
“Tis a shame to be so handsome and yet such a pompous ass.”
“Shh,” I chastised. “That pompous ass could have your head if he felt your offense warranted it.”
“Father would not allow me to be beheaded, Allete” Dayna assured me. “I am his favorite.”
I made a motion with my hand to quiet her so we could hear what it was our father was saying to the king of Tara.
“She has to know by now that I have arrived,” King Cathal was saying. His words came out clipped and low.
“Allete tends to have her own mind about things. I am sure she will join us when she is ready,” King Albric said, attempting to placate his irritated guest.
“And who allows such independent thinking?” Cathal challenged. “A woman should know her place.” His pointed look was aimed at the queen who stood quietly next to King Albric.
Allete was sure her mother was going to smack the rude man, but a subtle hand placed on her mother’s wrist held her in place.
“I understand your frustration, Cathal, but please be considerate of Allete’s situation. She is being courted by a man she has never met. She will be expected to leave with that man in a month’s time and travel to a place that is not her home, where she has no friends, no family. She deserves time to adjust.” King Albric, ever the diplomat, attempted to ease his counterpart’s temper. Based on Cathal’s pinched lips, however, his efforts were wasted.
“Could you at least send for her?” The other king asked in a more civil tone. And then added, “Please,” all be it a bit begrudgingly.
I snatched Dayna’s sleeve and gave it a gentle tug, indicating it was time for us to go. Like mice being hunted by a cat, we scurried from our hiding place and snuck to my bedchamber. We had barely made it inside when there was a knock at the door.
“Enter,” I said, attempting to keep my voice from sounding breathless.
Lidia entered. The look on her face was one of trepidation.
“The king requests your presence,” my handmaiden said in a soft voice.
I smiled at the girl. “Chin up, Lidia. All will be well.”
Lidia let out a huff, her manners momentarily forgotten. “You have not met the man. He is positively awful.” Her hand flew to her mouth and her eyes widened. “Forgive my frankness.”
Dayna laughed. “Allete would never punish you, especially not for telling the truth.” She lowered her voice conspiratorially. “We already saw him. We spied on them.” Dayna winked, looking completely unrepentant.
Lidia lowered her hand and made an ‘O’ shape with her mouth.
I straightened my dress and pulled my shoulders back. “Might as well face the music. I doubt he is going to turn around and sail back home without me.”


Author Bio:
Quinn is an award winning author who lives in beautiful Western Arkansas with her husband, two sons, Nora the Doberman, and Chewy the Cat who thinks he's a dog. She is the author of 17 novels, and 2 novellas, including the USA Today bestseller, Fate and Fury. Quinn is beyond thankful that she has been blessed to be able to write full time and hopes the readers know how much all of their support means to her. Some of her hobbies include reading, exercising, crochet, and spending time with family and friends. She gives all credit of her success to God because he gave her the creative spirit and vivid imagination it takes to write.

XBTBanner1

Saturday, February 10, 2018

Review: American Panda by Gloria Chao

Publication Date: February 6th 2018
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Genre: YA, Contemporary
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: An incisive, laugh-out-loud contemporary debut about a Taiwanese-American teen whose parents want her to be a doctor and marry a Taiwanese Ivy Leaguer despite her squeamishness with germs and crush on a Japanese classmate.

At seventeen, Mei should be in high school, but skipping fourth grade was part of her parents' master plan. Now a freshman at MIT, she is on track to fulfill the rest of this predetermined future: become a doctor, marry a preapproved Taiwanese Ivy Leaguer, produce a litter of babies.

With everything her parents have sacrificed to make her cushy life a reality, Mei can't bring herself to tell them the truth--that she (1) hates germs, (2) falls asleep in biology lectures, and (3) has a crush on her classmate Darren Takahashi, who is decidedly not Taiwanese.

But when Mei reconnects with her brother, Xing, who is estranged from the family for dating the wrong woman, Mei starts to wonder if all the secrets are truly worth it. Can she find a way to be herself, whoever that is, before her web of lies unravels?
 

My Rating
5/5 stars

My Review
American Panda is a hilarious and beautiful novel. I laughed, cried and learned so much!

After her brother's disownment from the family, Mei has become the perfect child. She graduated a year early, is attending MIT to study biology and eventually go into medicine, and now her mother is starting to set her up with an approved Taiwanese boy. The only problem is that Mei doesn't want to be a doctor, she likes a Japanese boy and would rather spend her time teaching dancing to other students. The more pressure Mei's parents put on her, the more she wants to do things her way. As the secrets keep building up about Mei's true passions, they become much harder to keep from her parents.

This story was truly wonderful! At the end of the book in the author's note, Mrs. Chao mentions that she wrote this book so that other Taiwanese and Chinese young women can have a book where they can relate to the main character, and while I support this 100%, I also wish that we had more YA books out there that talk about dealing with the pressures that parents can put on you. I really wish I could have read a book like this when I was in high school, because I could definitely relate to Mei's character and what she was going through, even though I'm from another culture. 

Mei was a fantastic main character. She's hilarious, witty and has such a kind soul. If I ever met her in person, I just know that she would be the type of person I would love to be roommates/best friends with. Her character development throughout this book was phenomenal. It honestly filled my heart to read in Mei's point of view.

The plot of this story was very well written as well. While there wasn't tons of "action" per se, there was definitely a lot going on, and it was interesting enough where I didn't want to put the book down. 
This book definitely taught me a lot of new things about the Taiwanese that I didn't know before. I found the history, the lifestyle and the language very interesting. I am so glad the author chose to incorporate so much of her culture into this book, I really appreciated it.

Overall, this book was fantastic. I have nothing bad to say about it. If you're looking for a hilarious contemporary, want to learn more about Taiwanese-Chinese culture, or want to read a book that has a huge focus on family, then this is the book for you.

Happy Reading,
Aneta

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews. With this amazing meme, you can check out which books I've gotten.

From Hachette
84K by Claire North
What if your life were defined by a number?

What if any crime could be committed without punishment, so long as you could afford to pay the fee assigned to that crime?

Theo works in the Criminal Audit Office. He assesses each crime that crosses his desk and makes sure the correct debt to society is paid in full.

But when Theo's ex-lover Dani is killed, it's different. This is one death he can't let become merely an entry on a balance sheet.

Because when the richest in the world are getting away with murder, sometimes the numbers just don't add up.



Tyler Johnson Was Here by Jay Coles
When Marvin Johnson's twin, Tyler, goes to a party, Marvin decides to tag along to keep an eye on his brother. But what starts as harmless fun turns into a shooting, followed by a police raid.

The next day, Tyler has gone missing, and it's up to Marvin to find him. But when Tyler is found dead, a video leaked online tells an even more chilling story: Tyler has been shot and killed by a police officer. Terrified as his mother unravels and mourning a brother who is now a hashtag, Marvin must learn what justice and freedom really mean.

That's all for this week. What did you guys get?

Friday, February 9, 2018

Review: Honor Among Thieves by Rachel Caine & Ann Aguirre

Series: The Honors #1
Publication Date: February 13th 2018
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Genre: YA, Science Fiction
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: Petty criminal Zara Cole has a painful past that’s made her stronger than most, which is why she chose life in New Detroit instead moving with her family to Mars. In her eyes, living inside a dome isn’t much better than a prison cell.

Still, when Zara commits a crime that has her running scared, jail might be exactly where she’s headed. Instead Zara is recruited into the Honors, an elite team of humans selected by the Leviathan—a race of sentient alien ships—to explore the outer reaches of the universe as their passengers.

Zara seizes the chance to flee Earth’s dangers, but when she meets Nadim, the alien ship she’s assigned, Zara starts to feel at home for the first time. But nothing could have prepared her for the dark, ominous truths that lurk behind the alluring glitter of starlight.
 

My Rating
5/5 stars

My Review
Zara Cole is a thief, living off of what she can steal and sell. Most people didn't choose this life, but Zara did. After escaping her abusive father, she was given the choice to either make it on her own, or to travel to Mars and live on a claustrophobic compound with her mother and sister. Thieving isn't always easy, especially when you steal from the wrong person. After Zara steals from Deluca's daughter, he sends men after her to get his possessions back. When the opportunity presents itself to escape into space, Zara immediately takes it to get away from Deluca's wrath. But life in space isn't as free as Zara through, especially when your alien host is keeping secrets from you.

I loved this book so much. I knew I was going to like it before I even started reading it, but it was a lot better than I expected. The world, the characters, and the plot were all so perfect. I desperately need the next book in this series right away.

Zara is a fantastic main character. Zara may not be the smartest person, but what she lacks in knowledge she makes up in courage. She is the type of person to do things first without thinking, but she always follows her heart and on the inside she is a compassionate and loving person. Getting to know her in the beginning of the book, we find out that she's had an abusive past with her father, and has gone through a great deal of things that most young people don't. You can really tell how strong of a character she really is. Her character development throughout the book was absolutely fantastic. She goes from a closed in person that keeps everyone out, to slowly opening up and trusting those around her. She establishes great connections with the people around her, and she honestly becomes such an amazing character. I loved Zara.

The other characters in this book were great as well. Beatriz is Zara's partner among the ship (Nadim). I honestly didn't like Beatriz at all in the beginning, but after she goes through major character development of her own, I really found myself enjoying her character and the hilarious things she does. Nadim - the ship - was a really great character as well, he honestly felt like a little brother figure. He's sort of naive and young, but has such a good heart. Marko and Chao-Xing were a little less present in the book, but still played a major part. I enjoyed Marko's character from the beginning, he's very strong and definitely gives an interesting perspective, plus he used a Polish saying so that gave him major brownie points with me. Chao-Xing is distant and rude (except for the very end), and even though she's not a very good character, we do see some change in her and I definitely didn't hate her as much as I thought I would.

The world that the authors created was definitely my favourite part of this novel. We are given lots of background on how Earth was almost destroyed and the Leviathan were able to save it. The Leviathan are an alien species that basically function as a space ship that can talk to you (kind of like Siri, but with emotions). As Zara and the crew explore space, we are met with so many different settings and we learn more about the Leviathan and other areas in this vast world that the authors created.

Overall, there wasn't a thing I didn't like about this novel. Once I got into the book, I could not put it down. The world that the authors created was breathtaking, the characters were amazing and there was tons of action and descriptions to keep the reader engaged in the story. I can't wait to see what happens in the future books.

Happy Reading,
Aneta

Wednesday, February 7, 2018

Waiting on Wednesday: Ice Wolves by Amie Kaufman


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Series: Elementals #1
Publication Date: March 27th, 2018
Publisher: HarperCollins
Genre: YA, Fantasy
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: Everyone in Vallen knows that ice wolves and scorch dragonsare sworn enemies who live deeply separate lives.

So when twelve-year-old orphan Anders takes one elemental form and his twin sister, Rayna, takes another, he wonders whether they are even related. Still, whether or not they’re family, Rayna is Anders’s only true friend. She’s nothing like the brutal, cruel dragons who claimed her as one of their own and stole her away.

In order to rescue her, Anders must enlist at the foreboding Ulfar Academy, a school for young wolves that values loyalty to the pack above all else. But for Anders, loyalty is more complicated than obedience, and friendship is the most powerful shapeshifting force of all.
 

Tuesday, February 6, 2018

Cover Reveal: Slippers and Thieves by Christina Bauer


Slippers And Thieves
Christina Bauer
Series: Fairy Tales of the Magicorum #3
Published by: Monster House Books
Publication date: TBA
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult

Synopsis: Years ago, Elle—never call her Cinderella—escaped her evil step family in order to build a new life for herself in Manhattan. Today, Elle’s awful past is a distant memory. In fact, Elle even attends West Lake Prep, an exclusive high school where regular humans mix with members of the Magicorum, such as fairies, shifters and witches. Although she still must live in hiding from her evil stepfamily, Elle has always found ways to get whatever her heart desires.
That is, until Alec Le Charme.
Alec is the heir to the Le Charme dynasty of high-end jewelers. He’s also kind, charismatic, has a knee-melting smile. Elle has fallen for him, hard. Unfortunately, thanks to Elle’s evil step family, Alec is absolutely off limits. In fact, if Elle and Alec so much as kiss, it will start a magical chain reaction that would end in powerful factions of witches and wizards going to war. As a result, Elle and Alec vow to stay friends, no matter what. Then West Lake Prep holds a masquerade ball. Identities get mixed up and forbidden kisses are finally shared.
Time for the Magicorum to go to war, and for Elle to confront her hidden past in ways she never thought possible.
Previous books in the series:


Author Bio:
Christina Bauer knows how to tell stories about kick-ass women. In her best selling Angelbound series, the heroine is a part-demon girl who loves to fight in Purgatory’s Arena and falls in love with a part-angel prince. This young adult best seller has driven more than 500,000 ebook downloads and 9,000 reviews on Goodreads and retailers.
Bauer has also told the story of the Women’s March on Washington by leading PR efforts for the Massachusetts Chapter. Her pre-event press release—the only one sent out on a major wire service—resulted in more than 19,000 global impressions and redistribution by over 350 different media entities including the Associated Press.
Christina graduated from Syracuse University’s Newhouse School with BA’s in English along with Television, Radio, and Film Production. She lives in Newton, MA with her husband, son, and semi-insane golden retriever, Ruby.
Giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Review: The Rogue Queen by Emily R. King

Series: The Hundredth Queen #3
Publication Date: February
Publisher: Skyscrape
Genre: YA, Fantasy
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: Despite the odds, Kalinda has survived it all: Marriage to a tyrant. Tournaments to the death. The forbidden power to rule fire. The icy touch of a demon.

That same demon now disguises itself as Rajah Tarek, Kalinda’s late husband and a man who has never stopped haunting her. Upon taking control of the palace and the army, the demon brands Kalinda and her companions as traitors to the empire. They flee across the sea, seeking haven in the Southern Isles.

In Lestari, Kalinda’s powers are not condemned, as they are in her land. Now free to use them to protect those she loves, Kalinda soon realizes that the demon has tainted her with a cold poison, rendering her fire uncontrollable. But the lack of control may be just what she needs to send the demon back to the darkest depths of the Void.

To take back the empire, Kalinda will ally with those she distrusts—and risk losing those most loyal to her—to defeat the demon and bring peace to a divided nation.

My Rating
5/5 stars

My Review
This book had me hooked right from the first page. There is action from beginning to end.

Rajah Tarek has risen from the dead, only its not really him. A demon from the void, released by Prince Ashwin poses as his deceased father. In order for the demon to be free to release his master, he must make Ashwin's wish come true, which is of him ruling over their kingdom. With the demon posing as Rajah Tarek, no one will listen to Ashwin and Kalinda. As war over the empire begins, Kalinda, Ashwin and Deven must find a way to send the demon back to the void, before the world they know is lost forever.

I am so happy with how this series is turning out. I love all the books equally, they are all so different but all very goon in their own ways.

I adore Kalinda, and my opinion of her only keeps getting better and better. After the demon breathes ice-fire into Kalinda, her powers aren't the same. Her once bright flame has turned green, and no healers can heal her from the poison of the demon. We finally see a darker side to Kalinda in this book, and it was absolutely wonderful to read about. 

The world building in this book was even better than the previous. We see so many new places, and get a visit to some settings from the first book. The world Emily created sort of just comes together in this book, and it was fantastic to read about.

The plot in this book was definitely my favourite out of all three books. There was seriously action from beginning to end, and there wasn't a moment in the book where I was bored.

Overall, this series just keeps getting better and better and I cannot wait to read the next book (I'm assuming there will be another book based on the ending). I highly recommend this book to all YA Fantasy fans, especially if you loved the first two books.

Happy Reading,
Aneta 

Monday, February 5, 2018

Cover Reveal: Rite of the Vampire Saga


The Vampire Heir
Juliana Haygert
(Rite of the Vampire Saga #1)
Publication date: March 5th 2018
Genres: New Adult Paranormal Romance
A young woman with a secret. A man with a death sentence. And a terrible fate that might destroy them both …
When I was invited to the secretive castle DuMoir, I knew I’d end up dead. The guests might be excited by the exclusive tour around the estate, and the ending ball that concludes it, but I know better.
The castle’s inhabitants are vampires. And they want our blood.
I must find a way to survive their feast, because I’m not here as a clueless visitor. I’m here for a reason. Undercover work can be hard, but I’ve been through worse. That is until I unwillingly become a blood slave to Drake, a mysterious, brooding vampire prince.
Tragedy strikes the castle and chaos arise. Despite the new dangers surrounding us, I soon find out there’s more to Drake than he lets on, and feelings I’m not supposed to have stir in my chest.
But I can’t afford any distractions or everything will be lost. After all, I’m hiding a secret—a dark secret that might save us all … or doom us forever.
--

The Witch Queen
Juliana Haygert
(Rite of the Vampire Saga #2)
Publication date: April 16th 2018
Genres: New Adult Paranormal Romance
Blurb TBA



















--

The Immortal Vow
Juliana Haygert
(Rite of the Vampire Saga #3)
Publication date: May 28th 2018
Genres: New Adult Paranormal Romance
Blurb TBA



















The Vampire Heir (Rite of the Vampire Saga Book 1) by Juliana Haygert WON’T have a pre-order!
So if you want to receive a short email notifying you of its release, please fill out this form!


Author Bio:
While USA Today Bestselling Author Juliana Haygert dreams of being Wonder Woman, Buffy, or a blood elf shadow priest, she settles for the less exciting—but equally gratifying—life of a wife, mother, and author. Thousands of miles away from her former home in Brazil, she now resides in North Carolina and spends her days writing about kick-ass heroines and the heroes who drive them crazy.


XBTBanner1
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...