Wednesday, December 13, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: Broken Beautiful Hearts by Kami Garcia


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Publication Date: February 6th 2018
Publisher: Imprint 
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: In this gritty, contemporary romance, an injured star athlete escapes to a small southern town after an abusive relationship leaves her reeling.

Before, Peyton was a star soccer player with the perfect boyfriend, Reed. Now, she has a torn knee ligament, a scholarship on the line, and a shattered sense of self. No one believes Reed pushed her, causing her injury, and Peyton just wants to leave the trauma behind. Living with her uncle and twin cousins in their small, football-obsessed town seems like a great escape plan. 

There, Peyton meets Owen—high school classmate and local MMA fighter. Though Owen is charming and gentle, Peyton is determined to repress her growing attraction. But when her old and new life collide, Peyton must reclaim the truth of her past in order to save her future. 

With southern charm, underground martial arts, and red-hot chemistry, Kami Garcia’s second contemporary romance will steal your breath away.

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

Book Blitz & Giveaway: Beauty and Beastly by Melanie Karsak


Beauty and Beastly: Steampunk Beauty and the Beast
Melanie Karsak
Series: Steampunk Fairy Tales
Publication date: December 6th 2017
Genres: Adult, Fairy Tales, Steampunk

Synopsis: In this tale as old as time, Isabelle Hawking must tinker a solution to a heartbreaking mystery.
When Isabelle Hawking and her papa set out from London on a sea voyage, Isabelle is thrilled. Visiting foreign courts, learning from master tinkers, and studying mechanicals is her dream. And it doesn’t hurt that the trip also offers Isabelle an escape from her overbearing and unwanted suitor, Gerard LeBoeuf.
But Isabelle never arrives. Swept up in a tempest, her ship is lost.
Isabelle survives the storm only to be shipwrecked on a seemingly-deserted island. The magical place, dotted with standing stones, faerie mounds, and a crumbling castle, hints of an ancient past. Isabelle may be an unwilling guest, but her arrival marks a new beginning for the beastly residents of this forgotten land.
See how NY Times bestselling author Melanie Karsak puts a steampunk spin on the classic Beauty and the Beast fairy tale.
EXCERPT:
“Hello? Is anyone there?”
The sky overhead darkened, and in the distance, I heard the rumble of thunder.
Oh no. No, no, no.
I looked up at the sky. My head swam.
I needed to find shelter.
I turned to go back to the path, but when I did so, I didn’t see the path, nor the ring of mushrooms, nor anything else vaguely familiar.
Once more, the sky rumbled.
I felt the first of the raindrops on my head, but luckily, the thick leaves overhead sheltered me somewhat. As the storm rolled in, the forest grew dark.
I cast a glance around.
It didn’t matter which direction I went. Eventually I would find the shore once more.
Turning to head out, however, I spotted a bluish colored light in the distance. A house? A fire? A lantern? A…something.
“Hello?”
No reply.
Turning, I followed the bluish glow. I headed deeper into the forest, chasing after the light, but soon found its source. It was a mushroom. The glowing mushroom had been sitting on a rise. It had played a trick on my mind. Then I spotted another glowing fungus, then another, and another, all of which held an incandescent blue light. They grew in a straight line. Without a better recourse, and feeling half suspicious of the supernatural, I followed the glow of the blue mushrooms as the rain pattered overhead, the sky rumbling. I followed the blue lights deep into the ancient woods, aware that I was passing other sacred rings. I walked past a mound of earth, a barrow, the final resting place of some ancient person—and some said a passageway to the Otherworld—as I hurried deeper into the woods. Surely I would find the shoreline soon.
Lightning cracked overhead.
Then, on the horizon, I saw golden light. A fire? I squinted my eyes, trying to make out the shape through the trees, but my head ached miserably. Leaning heavily against my staff, I moved toward the golden colored light.
The forest thinned. The glowing mushrooms led me onward toward the glow of the yellow light in the distance. Praying to find someone—anyone—I followed along, well aware that my quick exertion had my stomach rolling. Black spots wriggled before my eyes. The line of mushrooms ended. To my shock, I’d blundered to the center of the island and found myself standing outside the gates of a castle.
I gazed up at the enormous structure. It towered over me, a black silhouette on the horizon. Light glowed through one of the windows in the upper floors. It was raining in earnest now. Not waiting a moment longer, I pushed the gate. It swung open with a creak.
It was pouring.
I leaned my walking staff against a metal bench in the perfectly manicured garden, then grabbing my skirts, I ran for the castle door. As I rushed, lightning flashed. It created an odd illusion on the bushes and flowers around me. For a moment, they all seemed to glimmer like metal under the bright light.
My temples pounded. My stomach rolled. I raced through the heavy rain to the castle door.
Hoping whoever was at home would forgive me for letting myself in, I pushed open the castle door and crept inside.
The place was eerily silent.
“Hello?” I called. “Is anyone here?”
Breathing deeply and quickly, I realized the moment I stopped that I was not well.
I cast a glance toward a roaring fireplace nearby. A chair was seated before the hearth, a glass of something dark sitting beside the seat. I heard a strange clicking sound.
“Hello?” I called again, but this time, my head began to spin. I put my hands on my hips, trying to catch my breath. I closed my eyes. Everything was twirling.
Footsteps approached.
“I-I’m sorry I let myself in but…” I began then opened my eyes.
Standing before me was a massive automaton, its silver eyes staring coldly at me.
A nauseous feeling swept over me, and my head swam. Black spots danced before my eyes.
“Pardon me. I think I’m about to—”
Faint.
But the word was lost.
And so was I.


Author Bio:
New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Melanie Karsak is the author of The Airship Racing Chronicles, The Harvesting Series, The Burnt Earth Series, The Celtic Blood Series and Steampunk Fairy Tales. A steampunk connoisseur, zombie whisperer, and heir to the iron throne, the author currently lives in Florida with her husband and two children. She is an Instructor of English at Eastern Florida State College.



XBTBanner1

Monday, December 11, 2017

Cover Reveal: Alien Minds by Christina Bauer


Alien Minds
Christina Bauer
Series: Dimension Drift  #1
Published by: Monster House Books
Publication date: November 27th 2018
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult

Synopsis: Meimi Archer is living the perfect life. Too bad it isn’t hers.
On my seventeenth birthday, I wake up in the hospital to find I just survived a sketchy but terrible accident. My parents stand by my bedside—both are beautiful, wealthy, and super-nice. They tell me that once I leave the hospital, I’ll attend the prestigious ECHO Academy, where I’ll churn out equations for the government along with my mega-smart peers.
So, I’m living the perfect life.
Then why does everything feel all wrong?
My parents, my house and even ECHO Academy…none of it fits. Plus, what’s up with Thorne, my brooding yet yummy classmate who keeps telling me I need to remember my true past, which seems to have included a lot of us kissing? That’s one thing I’d really like to remember, except for the fact that I’m pretty sure Thorne is hiding a ton of nasty secrets of his own, including the fact that he may not be from this world. But considering how my own past seems alien to me, it’s not like I can judge. Plus, Thorne has dimples. That’s a problem.
And worst of all, why does it feel so yucky to work on these calculations for the government? It’s all supposed to be part of ECHO, but my heart tells me that I’m helping something truly terrible come to pass. Thorne seems to think that kissing him again will release my real memories.
Maybe it’s time to pucker up.


Author Bio:
Christina Bauer knows how to tell stories about kick-ass women. In her best selling Angelbound series, the heroine is a part-demon girl who loves to fight in Purgatory’s Arena and falls in love with a part-angel prince. This young adult best seller has driven more than 500,000 ebook downloads and 9,000 reviews on Goodreads and retailers.
Bauer has also told the story of the Women’s March on Washington by leading PR efforts for the Massachusetts Chapter. Her pre-event press release—the only one sent out on a major wire service—resulted in more than 19,000 global impressions and redistribution by over 350 different media entities including the Associated Press.
Christina graduated from Syracuse University’s Newhouse School with BA’s in English along with Television, Radio, and Film Production. She lives in Newton, MA with her husband, son, and semi-insane golden retriever, Ruby.
Stalk Christina on Social Media – She Loves It!

XBTBanner1

Friday, December 8, 2017

Review: Infinity by Jus Accardo

Series: The Infinity Division #1
Publication Date: November 1st 2016
Publisher: Entangled: Teen
Genre: YA, Science Fiction, Romance 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: There are three things Kori knows for sure about her life:

One: Her army general dad is insanely overprotective.

Two: The guy he sent to watch her, Cade, is way too good-looking.

Three: Everything she knew was a lie.

Now there are three things Kori never knew about her life:

One: There’s a device that allows her to jump dimensions.

Two: Cade’s got a lethal secret.

Three: Someone wants her dead.

My Rating
3/5 stars

My Review
“Real love, she always said, knew no bounds." 

I usually don't like stories about alternate dimensions, just a personal preference I have. But I must say, this is the best story about dimension travelling that I've read so far. 

All Kori want's to do, is work on her mural. When she is escorted home by the police in the early morning, her father puts her on house arrest. When he has to travel away for work, he sends in two soldiers to watch over Kori. Only these aren't regular soldiers, they are Kori's friends from an alternate Earth, trying to save her life.

I liked Kori as a main character, but I didn't necessarily love her. I loved that she was very strong, she knew how to take care of herself and she was incredibly smart. Comparing her to the other Koris she is told about in the story, I'm glad we got to read from this one's point of view, I'm not sure if I would have finished this book if it was in the other's view. There were a lot of times that Kori couldn't understand the other character's emotions and what they were trying to tell her, even though it was clearly in her face. Other than that, she was a wonderful character.

I wasn't a huge fan of Cade (the love interest), he was okay but he just seemed really immature and jumpy to me. Definitely not my type of guy. On the other hand, Nathan was just my type. He was strong, smart, knew when to talk and when to keep his mouth shut. I loved everything about him, honestly probably more than Kori herself. 

The storyline was alright. It was definitely interesting and I did want to continue reading, but I could also see some people getting bored and giving up. I feel like you have to be really into the "parallel universe" type of books to be able to get through this one fast. 

What I didn't like about this book, was how predictable it was. Unfortunately there were no characters that surprised you throughout the book, and basically what you think will happen, happens. No surprises and nothing crazy.

This story definitely had potential, but it just wasn't a complete winner for me. I still really liked it, and will definitely continue the series if I can. 

Happy Reading,
Aneta 

Wednesday, December 6, 2017

November Wrap-Up

Hello everyone. This year I've decided to update you guys with a monthly wrap-up, where I let you know everything that has been happening on Angelic Book Reviews this past month.

What Happened This Month
Lots of midterms and lots of sleepless nights trying to study. I'll keep this short because my finals are just around the corner and I need to spend all of my free time studying, so don't expect a lot of blogging from me in December. November was a good month, I was able to read a bit, I've been getting good grades on my midterms and I've even had a bit of time to spend with friends. 

Books Reviewed This Month


Fix Me by Lisa M/ Cronkhite | Rating 3/5 stars

Reading Challenge Progress
Goodreads Reading Challenge: 91/80 books read
Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge: 31/25 books read
Audiobook Challenge: 23/10 audiobooks

Did you have a good November?

Waiting on Wednesday: Busted by Gina Ciocca


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Publication Date: January 1st 2018
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: Marisa wasn’t planning to be a snoop for hire—until she accidentally caught her best friend’s boyfriend making out with another girl. Now her reputation for sniffing out cheaters has spread all over school, and Marisa finds herself the reluctant queen of busting two-timing boys.

But when ex-frenemy Kendall asks her to spy on her boyfriend, TJ, Marisa quickly discovers the girl TJ might be falling for is Marisa herself. And worse yet? The feelings are quickly becoming mutual. Now, she’s stuck spying on a “mystery girl” and the spoken-for guy who just might be the love of her life…

Tuesday, December 5, 2017

Review: Ever the Brave by Erin Summerill

Series: Clash of Kingdoms #2
Publication Date: December 5th 2017
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Genre: YA, Fantasy 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: Ever the Divided. Ever the Feared. Ever the Brave.
After saving King Aodren with her newfound Channeler powers, Britta only wants to live a peaceful life in her childhood home. Unfortunately, saving the King has created a tether between them she cannot sever, no matter how much she'd like to, and now he's insisting on making her a noble lady. And there are those who want to use Britta’s power for evil designs. If Britta cannot find a way to harness her new magical ability, her life—as well as her country—may be lost.

The stakes are higher than ever in the sequel to Ever the Hunted, as Britta struggles to protect her kingdom and her heart.


My Rating
3/5 stars

My Review
Britta believed that all of her work was done when she freed King Aodren from the other Channeller. That is, until the new Channeller reveals herself to Britta as her own mother, who escaped after saving Britta's life when she was little. Britta, Aodren and Cohen must stop Britta's mother before she murders any more channellers, and becomes powerful enough to kill the King and take over the land.

Honestly, I found myself enjoying book one a lot more than this. Don't get me wrong, I still enjoyed the plot and I do love Britta as the main character, but there were so many things about this books that I didn't like or would have loved to change.

Britta really grew on me in book one, and I have to say that she gets even better in this book. She is so strong and just a badass. She kind of had the mentality that "I don't care if its wrong or not proper, I'm doing this because I want to and it feels right." She was an absolute delight once again.

I had a lot of problems with the romance in this book once again. Unlike Britta, Cohen didn't go through any character development. He stayed the exact same overprotective and somewhat sexist guy. In this book he admits to being overprotective and jealous at times, yet he doesn't do anything about it, he's not willing to change, and what frustrates me the most is that Britta is perfectly fine wth this.

I really did like Aodren. Not only is he the king but he's also insanely kind and such a good guy. In the beginning he sort of tries to buy Britta's love with expensive gifts, which of course she denies and doesn't even use, but its the through that counts right? Later on he really shows his character when he ends up saving Brittan and just showing how brave he is and how much he would do for her. I enjoyed his character development so much, and I really think that he would have been better for Britta.

The plot of the story was interesting, and it definitely kept me engaged. Although I found it to be very predictable. The part about her mother being the bad guy, who Britta ends up with, and the ending was all so clear right from the beginning of the book. There weren't any surprises, so it made me a tad bored.

Overall, I really enjoyed this story and Britta will definitely go down as one of my favourite female characters. I just wish that the romance was better and the book wasn't so predictable. I still highly recommend this duology to all fantasy and YA lovers.

Happy Reading,
Aneta

Book Blitz & Giveaway: Ever the Brave by Erin Summerill


Title: EVER THE BRAVE 
Series: Clash of Kingdoms #2
Author: Erin Summerill
Pub. Date: December 5, 2017
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 464
Formats: Hardcover, eBook
Find it: AmazonB&NiBooksTBDGoodreads

Synopsis: Ever the Divided. Ever the Feared. Ever the Brave.

After saving King Aodren with her newfound Channeler powers, Britta only wants to live a peaceful life in her childhood home. Unfortunately, saving the King has created a tether between them she cannot sever, no matter how much she'd like to, and now he's insisting on making her a noble lady. And there are those who want to use Britta’s power for evil designs. If Britta cannot find a way to harness her new magical ability, her life—as well as her country—may be lost.

The stakes are higher than ever in the sequel to Ever the Hunted, as Britta struggles to protect her kingdom and her heart.

About Book 1
Title: EVER THE HUNTED
Author: Erin Summerill
Pub. Date: December 27, 2016
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 400
Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook

Synopsis: Seventeen year-old Britta Flannery is at ease only in the woods with her dagger and bow. She spends her days tracking criminals alongside her father, the legendary bounty hunter for the King of Malam—that is, until her father is murdered. Now outcast and alone and having no rights to her father’s land or inheritance, she seeks refuge where she feels most safe: the Ever Woods. When Britta is caught poaching by the royal guard, instead of facing the noose she is offered a deal: her freedom in exchange for her father’s killer.

However, it’s not so simple.

The alleged killer is none other than Cohen McKay, her father’s former apprentice. The only friend she’s ever known. The boy she once loved who broke her heart. She must go on a dangerous quest in a world of warring kingdoms, mad kings, and dark magic to find the real killer. But Britta wields more power than she knows. And soon she will learn what has always made her different will make her a daunting and dangerous force. 



Excerpt:
The king and his men ride away into the Ever Woods.

Gillian sweeps in, face beaming. I want to shake her shoulders and erase that smile. I slam the door.

“You look murderous.” Gillian spins around, her skirts swishing against the stone.

“I am.”

A blink. “You don’t like the dresses?”

“Really? You’ve been living with me for a month.”

“Right. So they’re not your usual choice, but they’re variety. Something different form brown trousers.

“They’re for the Royal Winter Feast Ball. He wants to sprinkle royal dust on me and make me noble.”

Gillian presses her hands to her cheeks and pretends to swoon.

“Stop it,” I snap.

She flounces into the bedroom and lifts a rose dress from the bed. That grin. Seeds. She’s as mad as the King Aodren.

The pull to the king, still taut in my chest, halves my attention from her squealing prattle. I press my palm to my sternum. I’d give anything to be free of him. To be able to live in peace on Papa’s land. But I don’t know how to break the bond.

If Enat were still alive — the thought flattens me — she’d know what to do. She’d tell me how to free myself from King Aodren. He’s been gone for five minutes, and I can still pick out his location in the Ever Woods.

I pound my fist on the door. I have to figure out a way to rid myself of the bond. I have to.
Gillian jerks to a stop. “It’s not the end of the world.”

I start to respond, but an answering rush of something strange and shuddery slips under the surface of my skin. I lurch, cradling my suddenly clammy hand, eyeing Gillian, then the door with growing alarm. Unease spreads from the top of my head to my heels, a drop of poison fanning through a jar of ale.

I’ve felt this way before.

“What is it?” Gillian’s fists crinkle a rose-colored gown. Breath suddenly short, I yank the door open and stare deep into the Evers. The breeze’s icy fingers caress my face. There’s nothing to see, but something is very wrong.

“The king.”

About Erin:
Erin Summerill was born in England. After spending years bouncing between Air Force bases in Hawaii, England, and California, her family settled in Utah, where Erin graduated with a B.A. in English from Brigham Young University. She had aspirations to write the next great American novel, but writing proved tougher than she first thought. So she grabbed a Nikon and became a professional photographer while crafting manuscript after manuscript. The scenic detour of shooting weddings across the United States, as well as internationally, provided world-building inspiration. It gave her the vision to draft her debut YA fantasy, EVER THE HUNTED. Now when she isn’t writing, or shooting a wedding, she’s chasing her four kids, two dogs, one cat, and five chickens. This could be why she downs massive amounts of Coke Zero and Hot tamales.



Giveaway

3 winners will receive a finished copy of EVER THE BRAVE, US Only.
Ends December 12th midnight EST.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, December 4, 2017

Book Blitz & Giveaway: The Upside of Falling Down


The Upside of Falling Down
Rebekah Crane
Publisher: Skyscape
Publication date: January 30th 2018
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult

Synopsis: For Clementine Haas, finding herself is more than a nice idea. Ever since she woke up in an Irish hospital with complete amnesia, self-discovery has become her mission.
They tell her she’s the lone survivor of a plane crash. They tell her she’s lucky to be alive. But she doesn’t feel lucky. She feels…lost.
With the relentless Irish press bearing down on her, and a father she may not even recognize on his way from America to take her home, Clementine assumes a new identity and enlists a blue-eyed Irish stranger, Kieran O’Connell, to help her escape her forgotten life…and start a new one.
Hiding out in the sleepy town of Waterville, Ireland, Clementine discovers there’s an upside to a life that’s fallen apart. But as her lies grow, so does her affection for Kieran, and the truth about her identity becomes harder and harder to reveal, forcing Clementine to decide: Can she leave her past behind for a new love she’ll never forget?
EXCERPT:
My composure cracks when I’m safely tucked in a stall in the bathroom. Everything shifts, my real need coming into focus, like a caged bird that knows it doesn’t want to live behind bars anymore.
I need to get out of here.
How can I see my dad and not love him? What is wrong with me? Everything I thought would happen hasn’t.
I press my sweaty head against the cool stall door. I wish I could be who Stephen wants me to be, a fearless girl willing to fight through this. More importantly, I wish I could be who my dad wants me to be. Clementine Haas. But I can’t. To go home with him like this would mean that every day he’ll wake up and want Clementine there, and instead, every day it will be me—whoever I am. We’ll both live in a constant state of disappointment.
I can save him from that.
I come out of the stall, focusing on myself in the mirror.
“Jane,” I say to my reflection. “I’m Jane.”
Stephen surely won’t help me get out of here. He wants to keep me safe in the hospital, which is still surrounded by camera crews and reporters. But there’s another way.
The hallway is clear of my dad and Stephen when I poke my head out from the bathroom. My heart races as I walk swiftly away from my room and toward the staircase at the other end of the hall. Once the door closes behind me, and I’m safely tucked out of sight in the stairwell, a moment of relief comes, but it’s brief.
The railing keeps me steady as I make my way down the steps and onto the first floor. My legs are weak, slow, but it’s not an option to stop at this point. Stop and I get caught. Move and I might find freedom.
In the courtyard, Kieran sits at the table where I left him, his feet up on the bench, a book in his hands. I check out the cover. It’s clearly a romance novel.
“You like romance novels, too,” I say. “We have something in common. Though I wouldn’t peg you as a romantic.”
“I’m full of surprises.” He squints in the sunlight. “I’ve never understood why guys go for fast cars and guns when these books have fast women and sex.”
“Honesty again. That’s a good thing.”
Kieran dog-ears the page he’s on and closes the book, setting it down on the table. “You ran away from the dare.”
“I didn’t run away.” I take back my seat. “I had to do something.”
“What was that?”
“It doesn’t matter. I’m ready now.”
“Are you sure, Jane?”
Kieran is just full of good questions, but debating the answer with myself would take too much time.
“Jane Middleton,” I say, holding out my hand. “That’s my last name.”
“Very royal sounding.” He places his warm hand in mine and says, “Kieran O’Connell. It’s nice to meet you.”
“Very Irish sounding, Kieran O’Connell.”
“Half-Irish, on my mother’s side.”
“And your dad?” I ask.
“Technically, he’s British, but he’s more asshole than anything.”
“Honesty again.” I reach for the last container of Jell-O on his tray. “I’m ready for my dare. Spoon, please.”
Kieran holds one up but doesn’t hand it over. “Are you sure you want to do this, Jane? It’s pig and cow parts.”
This is so much more than Jell-O. This is my life he’s holding in front of me.
“Where’s Waterville?” I ask, pointing to his hat.
“South of here a few hours.”
“Is it by Cork?” I ask, remembering the map and trying to sound like I know a thing or two.
“Not exactly. A bit more west.”
“Is that where you live?”
“For the summer months.”
I point to his T-shirt. “Then you go back to Trinity College?”
“Yep.”
“And where is that?”
“It’s in Dublin.” Kieran looks at me oddly. “Have you not heard of Trinity College?”
“Of course, I have. I just forgot for a second. It’s in Dublin. Right.”
“What about you?” he asks. “Are you on break from college as well?”
The question throws me. I have no idea if Clementine is in college. But I’m also not sure it matters. The part of me that keeps searching for Clementine needs a break. Jane can be whoever she wants. “Yeah, sure,” I say.
“What are you studying?”
“Undecided,” I say quickly. “You?”
Kieran rolls his eyes. “Business.”
“You don’t sound happy about that.”
“Not everything in life can be happy, Jane.”
The spoon rests in Kieran’s hand. No, sometimes life beats you down. Sometimes life deserts you, and your only choice is to find another path. “Are you going to give me that spoon or what?”
“You know, you don’t have to do this,” he says. His blue eyes hold mine. He knows this is more than just Jell-O, too. That’s what a dare does. It taunts you to take a different direction, to do something you never thought you could do, to jump, knowing that a million consequences could be on the other side of that dare, but that if you don’t do it, you’ll always wonder. And sometimes wondering is worse than consequences.
“I’m doing it,” I say. And I shovel a spoonful of pig and cow parts into my mouth.
Kieran sits back, a broad grin growing on his face. When I’ve eaten the container clean, he claps.
“I wasn’t sure you had it in you.”
I have to choke down the last bits of Jell-O, then I put my empty container on the tray with his, only partly satisfied.
“Why are you here?” I ask. “It can’t possibly be for pig and cow parts.”
“I come up to volunteer. Help out my fellow man and all. The food is just an added bonus.”
“That’s nice of you.”
“People need help,” Kieran says coolly. “It’s the least I can do.”
“People do need help,” I agree. “And now it’s my turn.”
“For what?”
“Truth or dare?” I say.
A glimmer comes to Kieran’s eyes. “That’s my line of questioning.”
“It’s not fair that I answer the question and you don’t.”
“Life isn’t fair, Jane. It’s all Jell-O, remember.”
I lean across the table. “Are you chicken or something?”
My confidence is surprising. Kieran seems to bring out something natural in me, or maybe he brings out more faith that the girl I was is still with me, just waiting to come out. Our eyes are fixed on each other’s. Kieran crosses his arms over his chest.
The clucking starts first. Then I start to flap my arms like chicken wings. Kieran glances around at all the other tables, and then he starts to laugh.
“OK. OK.” He holds up his hands in surrender.
But as soon as the clucking stops, someone drops an entire tray of dishes onto the concrete sidewalk. They break with a loud crash. I startle, freezing in my seat. It chokes the breath right out of me. A head rush comes on so suddenly that I’m worried I’ll faint right in front of him. Blood sinks to my feet. My hands go clammy. I start to sweat.
“Are you OK, Jane?”
Kieran talks, but I can’t see him. My head rests in my hands. Sound reverberates through me, and an intense pain creeps up behind my eyes. For a second, I swear I feel someone grab my hand. I expect to see fingers intertwined with mine, but they’re gone, and I’m left with a horrible empty feeling inside my chest.
“Are you OK?” Kieran asks again.
“I’m fine.” If I faint, this is over. With ragged breath and shaking hands that he can’t see under the table, I say, “Truth or dare, Kieran?”
“We don’t have to do this.”
“Truth or dare?” I say again more forcefully.
Kieran shakes his head. “It’s a Catch-22. Neither is easy. They both have consequences.”
“Do I have to start clucking again?”
He pauses for too long, and then he says, “Fine. Dare.”
The blood returns to my hands and head. The sweat dries on my forehead. This time, my voice doesn’t shake as I speak.
“I dare you to get me the hell out of here.”


Author Bio:
Rebekah Crane is the author of three young-adult novels—Playing Nice, Aspen, and The Odds of Loving Grover Cleveland. She found a passion for young-adult literature while studying secondary English education at Ohio University. After having two kids and living and teaching in six different cities, Rebekah finally settled in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains to write novels and work on screenplays. She now spends her day carpooling kids or tucked behind a laptop at 7,500 feet, where the altitude only enhances the writing experience.


XBTBanner1

Friday, December 1, 2017

Review: Piglettes by Clementine Beauvais

Publication Date: August 8th 2017
Publisher: Pushkins Children's Books
Genre: YA, Contemporary 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: Awarded the Gold, Silver and Bronze trotters after a vote by their classmates on Facebook, Mireille, Astrid and Hakima are officially the three ugliest girls in their school, but does that mean they're going to sit around crying about it?

Well... yes, a bit, but not for long! Climbing aboard their bikes, the trio set off on a summer roadtrip to Paris, their goal: a garden party with the French president. As news of their trip spreads they become stars of social media and television. With the eyes of the nation upon them the girls find fame, friendship and happiness, and still have time to consume an enormous amount of food along the way.


My Rating
3/5 stars

My Review
Piglettes is an adorable and inspiring novel. I would love to share this one with my younger self.

Mireille is angry that she got bronze on the schools yearly Ugly list. For the past two years she's won gold, and this year someone took away her #1 spot and now she's in third. Marielle knows how to deal with being called names, and she doesn't let that affect her. But when she confronts the first and second place winners, she realizes that they are not as easy going as her. The three girls band together, and against all odds they plan a bike trip to Paris, proving everyone who said they couldn't do it wrong, the three girls embark on their trip, each for a different reason.

I am a huge supporter of books written in other languages being translated to English. We definitely need more of that, and I was stoked to be able to review this book. I instantly fell in love with the characters, the story and the message this book was sending. It has such beautiful writing, but its done in a way where the reader can laugh along with the main characters.

I love that this book had diversity in it, and dealt with some really important issues, such as bullying, family problems, and wounded soldiers. This book was meant for early highschoolers and the 15 years of age group, but some of the things the author talked about were very mature and I am so glad she did it in a gentle way where its easy for people to understand. 

While I really did love the message of the story and the characters. There were parts of the story that seemed to drag on quite a bit, and there wasn't a lot of action or excitement, the book is mainly focused on character development of all three girls and their chaperone.

I definitely recommend giving this book a read, it will make you laugh and your heart swell with joy. Best of luck to the author, I hope to see more books like this in the future.

Happy Reading,
Aneta

Thursday, November 30, 2017

Book Blitz & Giveaway: Now or Never by Lucy Smoke


Now or Never
Lucy Smoke
Series: Iris Boys, #1
Publication date: November 29th 2017
Genres: New Adult, Romance
Synopsis: “Harlow Hampton meets the Iris Boys.”
All I needed was a break. A sign. Something.
Nearly getting run over was not the sign I was looking for, but it’s what I got. That and a group of guys who say they work for something called Iris.
No, thank you.
I had enough to deal with, thank you very much. No brother. No dad. No sanity most of the time. I certainly didn’t need to be dealing with thieves and wild cats and guys that were way too good looking. That is…I didn’t need them until they were all I had left. Now I have to make a decision about my future and whether or not they’re going to be in it.


Author Bio:
Lucy Smoke is a self proclaimed creative schizophrenic. She suffers from severe wanderlust and enjoys people watching to find her next character. Who knows, maybe you're in one of her stories as well.
Lucy Smoke is a writer of dark romance, new adult romance, and young adult romance. Many of her novels experiment with newer sub genre's such as reverse harem. You can like her facebook page and keep up to date on her teasers for future novels and chances to win free books and prizes!

XBTBanner1

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: Ink, Iron and Glass by Gwendolyn Clare


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Series: Ink, Iron, and Glass #1
Publication Date: February 20th 2018
Publisher: Macmillan 
Genre: YA, Fantasy 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: Can she write a world gone wrong?

A certain pen, a certain book, and a certain person can craft entirely new worlds through a branch of science called scriptology. Elsa comes from one such world that was written into creation by her mother—a noted scriptologist.

But when her home is attacked and her mother abducted, Elsa must cross into the real world and use her own scriptology gifts to find her. In an alternative 19th-century Italy, Elsa finds a secret society of pazzerellones—young people with a gift for mechanics, alchemy or scriptology—and meets Leo, a gorgeous mechanist with a smart mouth and a tragic past. She recruits the help of these fellow geniuses just as an assassin arrives on their doorstep.

In this thrilling debut, worlds collide as Elsa unveils a deep political conspiracy seeking to unlock the most dangerous weapon ever created—and only she can stop it.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...