Saturday, May 26, 2018

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews. With this amazing meme, you can check out which books I've gotten.

From Netgalley
Tell Me No Lies (Follow Me Back #2) by A.V. Geiger
Love. Obsession. Jealousy. Murder.

No one knows what happened to pop icon Eric Thorn. His Twitter account? Frozen. His cell phone? Cracked and bloody, buried in the snow. 

Agoraphobic fangirl Tessa Hart knows the truth, but she's finally left her #EricThornObsessed days behind. She has no intention of ever touching her Twitter app again. But Snapchat... That's safer, right?

After months of living under the radar, Tessa emerges from hiding, forced to face the deadly consequences of her past. But in the interrogation room, answers only lead to more questions in the pulse-pounding conclusion to the Follow Me Back duology.


Furyborn by Claire Legrand
Follows two fiercely independent young women, centuries apart, who hold the power to save their world...or doom it.

When assassins ambush her best friend, the crown prince, Rielle Dardenne risks everything to save him, exposing her ability to perform all seven kinds of elemental magic. The only people who should possess this extraordinary power are a pair of prophesied queens: a queen of light and salvation and a queen of blood and destruction. To prove she is the Sun Queen, Rielle must endure seven trials to test her magic. If she fails, she will be executed...unless the trials kill her first.

A thousand years later, the legend of Queen Rielle is a mere fairy tale to bounty hunter Eliana Ferracora. When the Undying Empire conquered her kingdom, she embraced violence to keep her family alive. Now, she believes herself untouchable--until her mother vanishes without a trace, along with countless other women in their city. To find her, Eliana joins a rebel captain on a dangerous mission and discovers that the evil at the heart of the empire is more terrible than she ever imagined.

As Rielle and Eliana fight in a cosmic war that spans millennia, their stories intersect, and the shocking connections between them ultimately determine the fate of their world--and of each other.

Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Waiting on Wednesday: Dance of Thieves by Mary E. Pearson


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Series: Dance of Thieves #1
Publication Date: August 7th 2018
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
Genre: YA, Fantasy 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: A new novel in the New York Times–bestselling Remnant Chronicles universe, in which a reformed thief and the young leader of an outlaw dynasty lock wits in a battle that may cost them their lives—and their hearts.

When the patriarch of the Ballenger empire dies, his son, Jase, becomes its new leader. Even nearby kingdoms bow to the strength of this outlaw family, who have always governed by their own rules. But a new era looms on the horizon, set in motion by a young queen, which makes her the target of the dynasty's resentment and anger.

At the same time, Kazi, a legendary former street thief, is sent by the queen to investigate transgressions against the new settlements. When Kazi arrives in the forbidding land of the Ballengers, she learns that there is more to Jase than she thought. As unexpected events spiral out of their control, bringing them intimately together, they continue to play a cat and mouse game of false moves and motives in order to fulfill their own secret missions.
 

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Book Tour & Giveaway: Nothing Happened by Molly Booth


Nothing Happened
by Molly Booth
Publication Date: May 15th 2018
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 336
Genera: YA, Lgbt, Retelling
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ B&N ~ iBooks ~ TBD

Synopsis: This modern-day retelling of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing takes place at the idyllic Camp Dogberry, where sisters Bee and Hana Leonato have grown up. Their parents own the place, and every summer they look forward to leading little campers in crafts, swimming in the lake, playing games of capture the flag and sproutball, and of course, the legendary counselor parties.

This year, the camp drama isn’t just on the improv stage. Bee and longtime counselor Ben have a will-they-or-won’t-they romance that’s complicated by events that happened—or didn’t happen—last summer. Meanwhile, Hana is falling hard for the kind but insecure Claudia, putting them both in the crosshairs of resident troublemaker John, who spreads a vicious rumor that could tear them apart.

As the counselors juggle their camp responsibilities with simmering drama that comes to a head at the Fourth of July sparkler party, they’ll have to swallow their pride and find the courage to untangle the truth, whether it leads to heartbreak or happily ever after.

Excerpt



About the Author
Molly Booth writes books about Shakespeare and feelings. She's the author of Young Adult novels SAVING HAMLET and NOTHING HAPPENED both published by Disney Hyperion. In high school, she was a stage manager for three different community theatres, which almost killed her. She graduated from Marlboro College and went onto study more Shakespeare (twist!) at University of Massachusetts Boston. Molly is a freelance writer and editor and has been published on TheMarySue.com, McSweeneys.net, HelloGiggles.com, and various other websites. She co-hosts a Bardcentric podcast, Party Bard, and directs a lovely, hilarious, and fierce group of homeschooling teen Shakespearean actors. She also speaks and teaches workshops at schools, colleges, bookstores, book fairs, camps, and libraries. Molly lives in Massachusetts, where she spends a lot of time with family and friends, and the rest attending to her queenly cat and loaf-of-bread-shaped dog.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Tumblr | Goodreads

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule
Week One:
5/14/2018- The Book Girl- Review
5/14/2018- YA Books Central- Interview
5/15/2018- Here's to Happy Endings- Review
5/15/2018- Wonder Struck- Review
5/16/2018- Pretty Little Library- Review
5/16/2018- Confessions of a YA Reader- Review
5/17/2018- Books and Ladders- Review
5/17/2018- Sophie Reads YA- Review
5/18/2018- To Be Read- Review
5/18/2018- BookHounds YA- Guest Post


Week Two:
5/21/2018- Magical Reads- Review
5/21/2018- The Cover Contessa- Interview
5/22/2018- Dani Reviews Things- Review
5/22/2018- Angelic Book Reviews- Excerpt
5/23/2018- Blushing Bibliophile- Review
5/23/2018- Two points of interest- Review
5/24/2018- Bookworm Café- Review
5/24/2018- Novel Novice- Review
5/25/2018- Portrait of a Book- Review
5/25/2018- BookCrushin- Guest Post

Saturday, May 19, 2018

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews. With this amazing meme, you can check out which books I've gotten.

From Raincoast
Bring Me Their Hearts by Sara Wolf
Zera is a Heartless – the immortal, unageing soldier of a witch. Bound to the witch Nightsinger ever since she saved her from the bandits who murdered her family, Zera longs for freedom from the woods they hide in. With her heart in a jar under Nightsinger’s control, she serves the witch unquestioningly.

Until Nightsinger asks Zera for a Prince’s heart in exchange for her own, with one addendum; if she’s discovered infiltrating the court, Nightsinger will destroy her heart rather than see her tortured by the witch-hating nobles.

Crown Prince Lucien d’Malvane hates the royal court as much as it loves him – every tutor too afraid to correct him and every girl jockeying for a place at his darkly handsome side. No one can challenge him – until the arrival of Lady Zera. She’s inelegant, smart-mouthed, carefree, and out for his blood. The Prince’s honor has him quickly aiming for her throat.

So begins a game of cat and mouse between a girl with nothing to lose and a boy who has it all.

Winner takes the loser’s heart.

Literally.
 


From Thomas Allen & Son
The Unbinding of Many Readers by Miriam McNamara
A clever, romantic novel based on the true story of a girl who disguised herself as a boy to sail with the infamous pirates Anne Bonny and Calico Jack—and fell in love with Anne Bonny.

There’s no place for a girl in Mary’s world. Not in the home of her mum, desperately drunk and poor. Not in the household of her wealthy granny, where no girl can be named an heir. And certainly not in the arms of Nat, her childhood love who never knew her for who she was. As a sailor aboard a Caribbean merchant ship, Mary’s livelihood—and her safety—depends on her ability to disguise her gender.

At least, that’s what she thinks is true. But then pirates attack the ship, and in the midst of the gang of cutthroats, Mary spots something she never could have imagined: a girl pirate. 

The sight of a girl standing unafraid upon the deck, gun and sword in hand, changes everything. In a split-second decision, Mary turns her gun on her own captain, earning herself the chance to join the account and become a pirate alongside Calico Jack and Anne Bonny.

For the first time, Mary has a shot at freedom. But imagining living as her true self is easier, it seems, than actually doing it. And when Mary finds herself falling for the captain’s mistress, she risks everything—her childhood love, her place among the crew, and even her life.

Breathlessly romantic and brilliantly subversive, The Unbinding of Mary Reade is sure to sweep readers off their feet and make their hearts soar.

Friday, May 18, 2018

Review: 84K by Claire North

Publication Date: May 24th, 2018
Publisher: Orbit
Genre: Adult, Dystopian, Science Fiction
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: What if your life were defined by a number?

What if any crime could be committed without punishment, so long as you could afford to pay the fee assigned to that crime?

Theo works in the Criminal Audit Office. He assesses each crime that crosses his desk and makes sure the correct debt to society is paid in full.

But when Theo's ex-lover Dani is killed, it's different. This is one death he can't let become merely an entry on a balance sheet.

Because when the richest in the world are getting away with murder, sometimes the numbers just don't add up.
 

My Rating
5/5 stars

My Review
This book is told from the perspective of Theo Miller, and is told in many different time lines. At times, the different time lines seem to blur together, but I think that made me want to read it even more. Theo Miller works in the Criminal Audit Office, where he evaluates crimes and puts a number to said crime. If the “criminal” can pay, they are free, if they cannot they go to the “patty line” where they practically become slave workers. Essentially, if you are rich, you can do anything you want. 

When an old lover comes back to Theo’s life, she can ruin everything he has done to remain hidden and hide his true identity. When she is murdered and he has to put a dollar value to her life, he decides that their system must end. He travels all over the country with people he never could have imagined so he can destroy the country and get the child that may or may not be his. 

The main character who we follow in this book, Theo Miller, will do anything to get his daughter back. In the beginning of the book he starts off as relatively good and kind. As the story progresses and more is told of his history, you realize that maybe he isn’t what he seems. As the book continues, he starts doing more and more that reveals just how much he will do to get what he wants.

This book was a wild ride. At some parts I didn’t know what timeline I was in, or what character was speaking, or even what was happening. But this all worked. It all made sense, the disorder made sense. You have to read until the very last page for everything to come together, and even then, some things are not explained. 

Overall, I loved reading this book and I loved how unique the writing style was. This book is not your average piece of fiction, it goes above and beyond the expectations. I highly recommend this to all in need of a good dystopian and action packed novel.

Happy Reading,
Aneta 

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Waiting on Wednesday: Sanctuary by Caryn Lix


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Publication Date: July 24th 2018
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Genre: YA, Science Fiction
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: Alien meets Alexandra Bracken’s The Darkest Minds in this thrilling debut novel about prison-guard-in-training, Kenzie, who is taken hostage by the superpowered criminal teens of the Sanctuary space station—only to have to band together with them when the station is attacked by mysterious creatures.

Kenzie holds one truth above all: the company is everything.

As a citizen of Omnistellar Concepts, the most powerful corporation in the solar system, Kenzie has trained her entire life for one goal: to become an elite guard on Sanctuary, Omnistellar’s space prison for superpowered teens too dangerous for Earth. As a junior guard, she’s excited to prove herself to her company—and that means sacrificing anything that won’t propel her forward.

But then a routine drill goes sideways and Kenzie is taken hostage by rioting prisoners.

At first, she’s confident her commanding officer—who also happens to be her mother—will stop at nothing to secure her freedom. Yet it soon becomes clear that her mother is more concerned with sticking to Omnistellar protocol than she is with getting Kenzie out safely.

As Kenzie forms her own plan to escape, she doesn’t realize there’s a more sinister threat looming, something ancient and evil that has clawed its way into Sanctuary from the vacuum of space. And Kenzie might have to team up with her captors to survive—all while beginning to suspect there’s a darker side to the Omnistellar she knows.
 

Tuesday, May 15, 2018

Review: From Twinkle, with Love

Publication Date: May 22nd, 2018
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Genera: YA, Contemporary, Romance 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: Aspiring filmmaker and wallflower Twinkle Mehra has stories she wants to tell and universes she wants to explore, if only the world would listen. So when fellow film geek Sahil Roy approaches her to direct a movie for the upcoming Summer Festival, Twinkle is all over it. The chance to publicly showcase her voice as a director? Dream come true. The fact that it gets her closer to her longtime crush, Neil Roy—a.k.a. Sahil’s twin brother? Dream come true x 2.

When mystery man “N” begins emailing her, Twinkle is sure it’s Neil, finally ready to begin their happily-ever-after. The only slightly inconvenient problem is that, in the course of movie-making, she’s fallen madly in love with the irresistibly adorkable Sahil.

Twinkle soon realizes that resistance is futile: The romance she’s got is not the one she’s scripted. But will it be enough?

Told through the letters Twinkle writes to her favorite female filmmakers, From Twinkle, with Love navigates big truths about friendship, family, and the unexpected places love can find you.

My Rating
4/5 stars

My Review
I absolutely loved Sandhya Menon's first book When Dimple Met Rishi, but From Twinkle, with Love completely store my heart. This book was absolutely fantastic from beginning to end.

Twinkle has a lot going on in her life. Her best friend Maddie has joined the popular crowd and seems to be embarrassed to be seen with Twinkle, so when a secret admirer by the name of N starts emailing Twinkle, she is absolutely sure that it is Neil, one of the most popular boys in school, who has the power to make Twinkle popular and win back her best friend. The only problem is that Twinkle is falling for Neil's twin brother Sahil. As drama unfolds in Twinkle's life, she must follow her heart and decide which twin she should go for, and who her true friends really are.

I absolutely adore Twinkle as a main character, I loved reading in her point of view. She is so genuine and sweet, but she also carries a darkness in her that we all face at one point in our lives. I think her character was so relatable, and so inspirational with her female empowerment and her ambition. I think she is a great main character and a great role model for younger girls.
Although I loved Twinkle, and I really liked Sahil and their romance together. My favourite character in this novel was Vicky. She truly surprised me, in a good way. Vicky is one of the popular girls that Maddie hangs out with, who actually ends up becoming great friends with Twinkle. At first, I thought that Vicky was just trying to trick Twinkle, but she was genuinely nice and truly cared about Twinkle the whole time. She honestly deserves an award for one of the best supporting characters.

I thought the plot of the story was great. The pace is great, and there is enough going on in the novel to keep you interested. I finished this book in one night, because I could not put it down and just wanted to continue reading until I got to the end. The one problem I had with Menon's previous book was that it was very predictable, and while this novel was slightly predictable, I was definitely surprised a few times (aka, how I was surprised Vicky turned out to be nice), so that was an improvement I was very happy to see.

Overall, I loved Twinkle and her story. I thought this novel was cute and inspirational to young women. I definitely recommend this book to people looking for a book that will lift your spirits. 

Happy Reading,
Aneta

Saturday, May 12, 2018

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews. With this amazing meme, you can check out which books I've gotten.

From Penguin
Seafire by Natalie C. Parker
After her family is killed by corrupt warlord Aric Athair and his bloodthirsty army of Bullets, Caledonia Styx is left to chart her own course on the dangerous and deadly seas. She captains her ship, the Mors Navis, with a crew of girls and women just like her, whose lives have been turned upside down by Aric and his men. The crew has one misson: stay alive, and take down Aric's armed and armored fleet.

But when Caledonia's best friend and second-in-command just barely survives an attack thanks to help from a Bullet looking to defect, Caledonia finds herself questioning whether or not to let him join their crew. Is this boy the key to taking down Aric Athair once and for all...or will he threaten everything the women of the Mors Navis have worked for?


Smoke in the Sun (Flame in the Mist #2) by Renee Ahdieh
The highly anticipated sequel to Flame in the Mist—an addictive, sumptuous finale that will leave readers breathless from the bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn.

After Okami is captured in the Jukai forest, Mariko has no choice—to rescue him, she must return to Inako and face the dangers that have been waiting for her in the Heian Castle. She tricks her brother, Kenshin, and betrothed, Raiden, into thinking she was being held by the Black Clan against her will, playing the part of the dutiful bride-to-be to infiltrate the emperor's ranks and uncover the truth behind the betrayal that almost left her dead. 

With the wedding plans already underway, Mariko pretends to be consumed with her upcoming nuptials, all the while using her royal standing to peel back the layers of lies and deception surrounding the imperial court. But each secret she unfurls gives way to the next, ensnaring Mariko and Okami in a political scheme that threatens their honor, their love and very the safety of the empire.

From Netgalley
Nothing Happened by Molly Booth
This modern-day retelling of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing takes place at the idyllic Camp Dogberry, where sisters Bee and Hana Leonato have grown up. Their parents own the place, and every summer they look forward to leading little campers in crafts, swimming in the lake, playing games of capture the flag and sproutball, and of course, the legendary counselor parties.

This year, the camp drama isn’t just on the improv stage. Bee and longtime counselor Ben have a will-they-or-won’t-they romance that’s complicated by events that happened—or didn’t happen—last summer. Meanwhile, Hana is falling hard for the kind but insecure Claudia, putting them both in the crosshairs of resident troublemaker John, who spreads a vicious rumor that could tear them apart.

As the counselors juggle their camp responsibilities with simmering drama that comes to a head at the Fourth of July sparkler party, they’ll have to swallow their pride and find the courage to untangle the truth, whether it leads to heartbreak or happily ever after.
 

Kiss of the Royal by Lindsey Duga
In the war against the Forces of Darkness, the Royals are losing. Princess Ivy is determined to end this centuries-long conflict once and for all, so her new battle partner must succeed where the others failed. Prince Zach’s unparalleled skill with a sword, enhanced by Ivy’s magic Kiss, should make them an unstoppable pair—but try convincing Zach of that.

Prince Zach has spent his life preparing for battle, but he would rather be branded a heretic than use his lips as nothing more than a way to transfer magic. A kiss is a symbol of love, and love is the most powerful weapon they have—but try convincing Ivy of that.

With the fate of their world on the line, the battlefield has become a testing ground, and only one of them can be right. Falling for each other wasn’t part of the plan—but try convincing their hearts of that.
 

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Waiting on Wednesday: The Traitor's Ruin by Erin Beaty


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Series: The Traitor's Circle #2
Publication Date: July 10th 2018
Publisher: Imprint
Genre: YA, Fantasy
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: In the sequel to The Traitor’s Kiss, war breaks out between nations and Sage Fowler must infiltrate enemy territory to reconnect with her first love, Captain Alex Quinn.

After proving her worth in book one as a deft spy and strategic matchmaker, Sage Fowler is now comfortably positioned in high society as the royal tutor. When she’s called upon to teach his majesty’s soldiers how to read and write, she jumps at the chance to serve her kingdom of Demora—and to be reunited with her fiancĂ©, Captain Alex Quinn. 

During a skirmish, Sage and Alex are separated. She watches him die before he can deliver important military intel—or so she thinks. She escapes from the enemy and makes an unlikely alliance with a mysterious soldier from a third nation. As Sage tries to rally their support against a common foe, the important political alliance is plagued by secrets and betrayal. 

Can Sage complete Alex’s mission and save her kingdom once more?

Tuesday, May 8, 2018

Cover Reveal: The Revolution of Jack Frost


The Revolution of Jack Frost
K.M. Robinson
Published by: Bleeding Ink Publishing
Publication date: November 6th 2018
Genres: Dystopian, Fairy Tales, Retelling, Young Adult

Synopsis: No one inside the snow globe knows that Morozoko Industries is controlling their weather, testing them to form a stronger race that can survive the fall out from the bombs being dropped in the outside world—all they know is that they must survive the harsh Winter that lasts a month and use the few days of Spring, Summer, and Fall to gather enough supplies to survive.
When the seasons start shifting, Genesis and her boyfriend, Jack, know something is going on. As their team begins to find technology that they don’t have access to inside their snow globe of a world, it begins to look more and more like one of their own is working against them.
Genesis soon discovers Morozoko Industries is to blame, but when a foreign enemy tries to destroy their weather program to make sure their destructive life-altering bombs succeed in destroying the outside world, their only chance is to shut down the machine that is spinning out of control and save the lives of everyone inside the bunker–at any cost.
The World Portal for The Revolution of Jack Frost has just been opened up on www.kmrobinsonbooks.com with behind-the-scenes info, exclusive looks at characters, there will be interactive choose-your-own-adventure games, facebook filters and frames, videos, artwork, and more coming soon, and the information is changing every few days, so if you want to catch it all, you have to keep checking back for all the exclusives. There may even be bonus scenes and other freebies on the site as well!


Author Bio:
K.M. Robinson is a best selling storyteller who creates new worlds both in her writing and in her fine arts conceptual photography. She is a marketing, branding and social media strategy educator who is recognized at first sight by her very long hair. She is a creative who focuses on photography, videography, couture dress making, and writing to express the stories she needs to tell. She almost always has a camera within reach.
Get free excerpts of her books at excerpt.kmrobinsonbooks.com and check out her website www.kmrobinsonbooks.com
Connect with her on social media at @kmrobinsonbooks on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and Snapchat. You can view videos and live replays on Youtube too!

XBTBanner1

Saturday, May 5, 2018

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews. With this amazing meme, you can check out which books I've gotten.

Bought 
A Court of Frost and Starlight by Sarah J. Maas
The Winter Solstice. In a week. I was still new enough to being High Lady that I had no idea what my formal role was to be. If we'd have a High Priestess do some odious ceremony, as lanthe had done the year before. A year. Gods, nearly a year since Rhys had called in his bargain, desperate to get me away from the poison of the Spring Court to save me from my despair. Had he been only a minute later, the Mother knew what would have happened. Where I'd now be. Snow swirled and eddied in the garden, catching in the brown fibers of the burlap covering the shrubs My mate who had worked so hard and so selflessly, all without hope that I would ever be with him We had both fought for that love, bled for it. Rhys had died for it.

I FINALLY HAVE IT!! If I go missing for a few days, its because I'm reading this book. Don't come looking for me.

Thursday, May 3, 2018

Review: The Smoke Thieves by Sally Green

Series: The Smoke Thieves #1
Publication Day: May 1st 2018
Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers
Genre: YA, Fantasy
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: The beginning to an epic medieval fantasy trilogy, perfect for Game of Thrones fans. 

A shrewd princess whose father is plotting against her. A brave soldier turned traitor. A loyal servant on a quest to avenge his family. A streetwise demon smoke hunter in desperate need of money. A charming thief with no clue about his true identity. Their lives would never intersect, until a war between kingdoms bubbles up, and the dangerous truth about demon smoke intertwines all their fates. Welcome to The Smoke Thieves, a tangled web of political intrigue, shifting alliances, and forbidden love, in a world where sometimes no amount of magic can keep you safe.

My Rating
4/5 stars

My Review
The Smoke Thieves was a fantastic novel, set in an amazing world that I can't get enough of.

This story is told in the point of view of 5 different characters, while I enjoyed everyones story and character development, I don't think it was necessary for all five characters to have a story in their point of view.
Catherine was definitely my favourite character in the story. She is a princess who is forced to do as the king and her brother tell her to. She is forced to travel to another country to marry a prince she has never met before, even though she would much rather be with her guard Ambrose.
Ambrose is listed as a traitor after killing one of the Prince's guard in order to save his own life. While on the run, Ambrose discovers that the King plans on invading Pitoria, and using his own daughter's wedding as a distraction.
March is a servant, who detests his King for what he has done to the rest of his people and his family. When an opportunity arises to get revenge on his King, March travels to Pitoria to find the King's bastard son, and erase the royal line from existence.
Edyon is the bastard son of the King, the only problem is that he doesn't know it. Even worse, he doesn't know that the handsome stranger that promised to take him to his father, could be actually sending him to his death.
Tash is a demon hunter. Along with her partner Gravell, the two travel across Pitoria slaying demons and stealing their smoke. But selling demon smoke is illegal in Pitoria, and the two hunters must be very careful on who they sell their smoke to.

All of these characters are all very unique, but in a good way. While it was nice to jump from one point of view to another to keep the story interesting, I just found that once the characters met up and were in the same place, it felt a little repetitive on reading the description of the same person from another's point of view and just constantly hearing the same thing over and over again. I think three points of view would have been much better, but I can also see that the author was trying to go for more of a game of thrones style with multiple main characters.

My absolutely favourite part of this book, was definitely the world that Sally Green created. Whenever there is a map at the beginning of the book, I glance at it when I first start to read the book, and then I either forget about it or take a glance once more and just never look at it again. With this book, for some reason I was constantly flipping back to the map just to see where each character was and see if there was a possibility of them meeting up. The world was not only interesting, but very well developed. I could clearly picture all the places, and truly feel like I was a part of the story. 

The pacing of this novel was alright. The beginning was a bit slow, and while there was some action, there was also a lot of slow parts of characters just planning or talking. I definitely felt like parts of this book were unnecessary, and could have been cut out to make the pacing of this book go a little bit faster.

Overall, I loved all the characters in their own way, although I think five point of views were a little bit too much. The world building was fantastic, but the pacing of the story was a little on the slow side. I would still definitely recommend this book to all YA fantasy readers, especially those that love adventure novels. I can't wait to read the next book in this series.

Happy Reading,
Aneta 
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...