Friday, August 18, 2017

Summer TBR Wipeout: Wrap-Up

The wonderful Olivia at The Candid Cover is hosting the Second Annual Summer TBR Wipeout. The Challenge works to encourage you to try to work through that pesky TBR pile that seems to never end.

In my Introductory Post I decided to challenge myself with a goal of 20 books. I thought I would have a lot of free time, but with work recently I've been super busy, working three jobs this summer was not a good idea... needless to say, I can't wait to quit two of them when school comes around.

In the first update post I was able to read 8 out of 20 books. Then in the second update post I was able to read another 5 books, putting me at 13/20. In the final leg of the challenge I was only able to read 4 books, making the total 17/20. Unfortunately I didn't reach my goal, but I'm still really happy with the process I made over my TBR. Hopefully I can keep it down for a while :)

Here are all the books I've read during this challenge:








Piglettes by Clementine Beauvais | 3/5 stars
Hunting Prince Dracula by Kerri Maniscalco | 5/5 stars
Windwitch by Susan Dennard | 4/5 stars


Fire With Fire by Jenny Han | 5/5 stars
Ashes to Ashes by Jenny Han | 2/5 stars

In the last part of the challenge:





This challenge was absolutely amazing. I want to thank Olivia for hosting, and everyone else who participated. Cant wait to be a part of this challenge again next year. 

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Review: Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller

Series: Untitled #1
Publication Date: August 29th 2017
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Genre: YA, Fantasy, GLBT
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD


Synopsis: Sallot Leon is a thief, and a good one at that. But gender fluid Sal wants nothing more than to escape the drudgery of life as a highway robber and get closer to the upper-class and the nobles who destroyed their home.

When Sal Leon steals a poster announcing open auditions for the Left Hand, a powerful collection of the Queen's personal assassins named for the rings she wears -- Ruby, Emeral, Amethyst, and Opal -- their world changes. They know it's a chance for a new life.

Except the audition is a fight to the death filled with clever circus acrobats, lethal apothecaries, and vicious ex-soldiers. A childhood as a common criminal hardly prepared Sal for the trials. But Sal must survive to put their real reason for auditioning into play: revenge.
My Rating
4/5 stars

My Review
Mask of Shadows was absolutely brilliant. Perfect for all fans of YA fantasy.

Sal's homeland was destroyed by shadows, and the nobles used her people as bait to slow down the shadows so that they can escape. Forced to become a thief at a young age, Sal is used to sneaking around and fighting to the death, so when an opportunity comes up where Sal can audition to become a member of the Queen's Left Hand, Sal immediately seizes the opportunity to get close enough to kill those who have wronged Sal's homeland. Sal is named Twenty-Three and must outsmart and outlast the other twenty two competitors in order to become Opal.

Sal was a wonderful main character. This was my first time reading a book with a gender fluid main character, and I absolutely loved it. At first I thought I would get confused when other characters were speaking to or about Sal but I was never confused, I also love how it was kind of similar to how our current time period is with the GLBT community, where a lot of people are accepting and understand, but there are others who chose to challenge this and be disrespectful, which one character in this book was. I feel like the author did a great job writing this (although since I'm not a part of the GLBT community, I can't be a true judge of that). I truly loved Sal's personality, Sal was always kind to the servants and other staff, but was also very smart and knew how to be ruthless and when to kill. Sal definitely reminded me a bit of Celeana Sardothien from Throne of Glass, especially since they were both so confident, yet kind in the right moments. 

This book started off very fast. It basically just jumps right into the competition within three chapters. While this is good because there was tons of action right from the start, it also kind of sucks because we don't get to know the world and the character as well in the beginning.

The plot is wonderful, yet very generic when it comes to YA fantasy books. It has a lot of similarities with Throne of Glass series and Hunger Games. While I love those types of books, I really do wish that there was something about Mask of Shadows that set it apart from the other books in this genre.

Most of this book was fairly predictable, the ending did surprise me a bit, especially within the last 2-3 chapters. While I have a feeling I know how the next book will turn out, I'm still super excited to read it, and see what Sal does next.

Happy Reading,
Aneta 

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: Ever the Brave by Erin Summerill

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Series: A Clash of Kingdoms #2
Publication Date: December 5th 2017
Publisher: HMH Books For Young Readers
Genre: YA, Fantasy 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: Ever the Divided. Ever the Feared. Ever the Brave.
After saving King Aodren with her newfound Channeler powers, Britta only wants to live a peaceful life in her childhood home. Unfortunately, saving the King has created a tether between them she cannot sever, no matter how much she'd like to, and now he's insisting on making her a noble lady. And there are those who want to use Britta’s power for evil designs. If Britta cannot find a way to harness her new magical ability, her life—as well as her country—may be lost.

The stakes are higher than ever in the sequel to Ever the Hunted, as Britta struggles to protect her kingdom and her heart.

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Book Blitz & Giveaway: The Hummingbird Heart by A.G. Howard


Title: THE HUMMINGBIRD HEART
Author: A.G. Howard
Pub. Date: August 15, 2017
Publisher: Golden Orb Press
Pages: 234
Formats: Paperback, eBook

Synopsis: Set 19 years after The Architect of Song:

Shortly after escaping a circus tragedy, young Italian orphan, Willow Antoniette, seeks refuge at The Manor of Diversions—a holiday resort in England born of a ghost story. For eleven years, she’s raised alongside the children of the resort’s owners: Julian, his twin brother, Nick, and their younger sister Emilia. Now that Willow is of marriable age, she's determined to escape finishing school along with everyone's efforts to make her a proper lady. The only man she wants to spend her life with is Julian, after all. Yet how can she tell him, when he thinks of her as nothing but a friend?

As a machinist and engineer, Julian Thornton prefers a governable life. He can't allow his ever-deepening attraction for Willow to distract from his amusement park plans to lure a younger, wealthier clientele to their family's resort. In hopes to escape Willow and find investors, Julian sets off on a transatlantic ocean liner headed for the St. Louis World’s Fair, unaware Willow has secretly stowed away on the same ship.

A tiny, mute orphan named Newton and a pair of haunted Italian shoes bring Willow and Julian face to face on deck. Forced to work together to solve the mystery of Newton and his vindictive, ghostly companion, Julian and Willow can no longer fight their untapped passions. However, time to admit their true feelings is running out, for the ghost and her murderer have enlisted them as unsuspecting pawns in a karmic game of cat-and-mouse that could cost all of them their lives.


Grab book 1!

Title: THE ARCHITECT OF SONG
Author: A.G. Howard
Pub. Date: August 15, 2016
Publisher: Golden Orb Press
Pages: 425
Formats: Paperback, eBook
Find it: AmazonGoodreads

A lady imprisoned by deafness, an architect imprisoned by his past, and a ghost imprisoned within the petals of a flower - intertwine in this love story that transcends life and death.

For most of her life, nineteen-year-old Juliet Emerline has subsisted – isolated by deafness – making hats in the solitude of her home. Now, she’s at risk to lose her sanctuary to Lord Nicolas Thornton, a twenty-seven-year-old mysterious and eccentric architect with designs on her humble estate. When she secretly witnesses him raging beside a grave, Juliet investigates, finding the name “Hawk” on the headstone and an unusual flower at the base. The moment Juliet touches the petals, a young English nobleman appears in ghostly form, singing a song only her deaf ears can hear. The ghost remembers nothing of his identity or death, other than the one name that haunts his afterlife: Thornton.

To avenge her ghostly companion and save her estate, Juliet pushes aside her fear of society and travels to Lord Thornton’s secluded holiday resort, posing as a hat maker in one of his boutiques. There, she finds herself questioning who to trust: the architect of flesh and bones who can relate to her through romantic gestures, heartfelt notes, and sensual touches … or the specter who serenades her with beautiful songs and ardent words, touching her mind and soul like no other man ever can. As sinister truths behind Lord Thornton’s interest in her estate and his tie to Hawk come to light, Juliet is lured into a web of secrets. But it’s too late for escape, and the tragic love taking seed in her heart will alter her silent world forever.

International and NYT bestselling author, A.G. Howard, brings her darkly magical and visual/visceral storytelling to Victorian England. The Architect of Song is the first installment in her lush and romantic Haunted Hearts Legacy series, a four book gothic saga following the generations of one family as - haunted by both literal and figurative ghosts - they search for self-acceptance, love, and happiness.

New Adult: Recommended for ages 17+.


Excerpt:

In the dream, Willow was a child again. With each barefooted step around the stacks of baggage in steerage, she found them taking on new shapes: pyramids of clowns, bears, horses and feathered performers, all balanced atop one another. She was back at the circus, albeit a much hazier and dimmer rendition than she remembered. She skipped along the center ring, excited to be home at last. Grit and discarded trash snagged between her little toes. A spotlight clicked on to illuminate a trunk. From within came a thumping sound, and girlish giggles.

“Tildey!” Willow cried out, racing across the distance to find her doll, her pigtails slapping her face and neck upon each bounding step. The creak of abandoned trapezes swung overhead, cutting intermittently through a thick cloud of fog. Yet it wasn’t fog. It was tobacco—a stench that seeped into her leotard, her tights, her very pores, until she could taste it coating her tongue like bile.

The spotlight shifted from the trunk to a trapeze just above her where a shape took form in the light: a graceful silhouette in a shimmery leotard and glistening tutu.

“Mama?” Willow whispered in the dream, forgetting Tildey for the chance to see her mother perform once more.

The trapeze vanished into thin air but the aerialist continued a controlled descent toward her, held in place by harnesses attached to the center pole. A face came into view, painted white like a clown, with bloody eyes and a hollow of a mouth—stretched wide on a perpetual scream. Willow yelped and squeezed her lashes shut, willing away the creature … for it was not Mama.

When she opened them again, the freakish performer exploded into a flock of hummingbirds made of ink. They skittered around Willow, buzzing wings scraping her skin and hair, imprinting tattoos everywhere they touched. She screamed and stumbled backwards, bumping into the trunk which was somehow right behind her. A tinkly, off-key lullaby drifted from inside the giant box. The lid shook and shuddered, as if something wanted out.

Whimpering, Willow tried to back away, but her feet grew heavy. She looked down and ballet shoes, covered in steel spikes, swallowed them up. The empty harness that had held the ghastly aerialist slithered toward her like a snake, coiling itself around her legs and arms to hold her in place.

On the final haunting strains of music, the trunk’s lid popped open, and out from the midst rose a hunched old man, holding Nadia’s haunted shoes upside down. Blood and water gushed out of them—a stench of copper and stagnancy—and the man laughed with a voice that gnawed into her bones like a thousand snarling wolves.


About A.G. Howard: 

A.G. Howard was inspired to write SPLINTERED while working at a school library. She always wondered what would've happened had the subtle creepiness of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland taken center stage, and she hopes her darker and funkier tribute to Carroll will inspire readers to seek out the stories that won her heart as a child.

When she's not writing, A.G.'s pastimes are reading, rollerblading, gardening, and family vacations which often include impromptu side trips to 18th century graveyards or condemned schoolhouses to appease her overactive muse.





International Giveaway 
(1) Grand prize: Signed set of The Architect of Song & The Hummingbird Heart PB
(1) First Place prize: Signed The Hummingbird Heart PB
(1) Second Place prize: Signed The Hummingbird Heart poster
(3) Third – Fifth Place prizes: Signed The Architect of Song & The Hummingbird Heart swag pack sets









a Rafflecopter giveaway

Ends on August 22nd at Midnight EST!

Monday, August 14, 2017

Book Tour & Giveaway: Rowan Wood Legends by Olivia Wildenstein


Series: The Lost Clan #2
Publication Date: August 14th 2017
Publisher: CreateSpace
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal 
Amazon ~ Goodreads

Synopsis: SOME LEGENDS ARE BETTER LEFT UNTOLD.

I wasn’t the sort of girl who believed in fairytales, let alone tales about faeries. But that changed the day Faeries came to my small town and Hunters rose from their graves. 

On that fateful day, I received a book, a peculiar collection of myths and legends. Turns out it was so much more than stories. And just as I was on the verge of unlocking its secrets, it was stolen from me by someone I called a friend. 

Now, I don’t know whom I can turn to, whom I can trust. All I know is that there are two sides, and I am straddling the great divide because I am both Faerie and Hunter. And although I swore I would never choose, I am slowly falling for one of those sides…

Fans of Karen Marie Moning's Fever series will adore Wildenstein's Lost Clan series

My Rating
4/5 stars

My Review
Rowan Wood Legends was just as good as the first book, if not better. If you liked the first one, you definitely need to get your hands on this one as soon as possible.

Caught in the middle of a war between Fairies and Hunters, Catori has chosen not to trust anyone. Alone and confused, Catori must discover the true reason behind Holly's sudden death, and whom she can truly trust.

Once I started this book, it was really hard to put down. I read it in two days, but I probably could have done it in one if work didn't get in the way. This book picks up right after the first one. I was changing my opinion on characters that were already introduced in the first book, and I was truly intrigued with new characters that the author introduced in this novel.

I loved Catori in the first book, but I definitely love her even more now. She has an amazing personality. She is so determined and strong, but she never forgets the people that really matter to her and have been there for her. I admire her character so much, and her character development in this book has definitely left me impressed.

The world-building was also fantastic. We get to see more of the world that Olivia created in the first book, and while I would have loved to see even more of it, I'm very happy with the setting descriptions, the creativity of the worlds and the history/backstory that we are given.

This book was so close to being perfect for me. Similarly as the first book, I found the plot line of the story quite strange. It kind of felt like a rollercoaster for kids, where it goes over little tiny bumps, rather than the adult rollercoaster that does a huge rise and drop right before the end and leaves you wanting to go on the ride again. I hope you guys can understand my analogy here, I just really felt like there was not enough wow to the action in the story.

I really liked the ending of this book, and I absolutely can't wait for the next one. If you liked the first book then you definitely should read this one as well, and if you haven't read the first one, then definitely do so if you love fantasy stories with strong female characters.


About the Author
Olivia Wildenstein grew up in New York City, the daughter of a French father with a great sense of humor, and a Swedish mother whom she speaks to at least three times a day. She chose Brown University to complete her undergraduate studies and earned a bachelor’s in comparative literature. After designing jewelry for a few years, Wildenstein traded in her tools for a laptop computer and a very comfortable chair. This line of work made more sense, considering her college degree.

When she’s not writing, she’s psychoanalyzing everyone she meets (Yes. Everyone), eavesdropping on conversations to gather material for her next book, baking up a storm (that she actually eats), going to the gym (because she eats), and attempting not to be late at her children’s school (like she is 4 out of 5 mornings, on good weeks).

Wildenstein lives with her husband and three children in Geneva, Switzerland, where she’s an active member of the writing community.
 


Giveaway
1 Signed Paperback of Rose Petal Graves
1 Signed Paperback of Rowan Wood Legends
1 Native American Dreamcatcher 

Sunday, August 13, 2017

Book Blitz & Giveaway: Taming the Rebel by Dawn Klehr


Taming the Rebel
Dawn Klehr
Series: Endless Summer
Published by: Entangled Crush
Publication date: August 14th 2017
Genres: Romance, Young Adult

Synopsis: Rebel Hart should be at home taking care of her father after his breakup with his boyfriend, not tromping through the woods at summer camp. He’s had his heart broken beyond repair, and the way she sees it, there’s only one person to blame—the boyfriend’s son. So when that infuriatingly gorgeous quarterback turns up at the same camp, she plans to make him pay.
Justice Brody isn’t happy about trading training camp for actual summer camp. But if he wants to stay on the football team, he has to show that he can be drama-free. He welcomes the anonymity that comes with summer camp…until he realizes the one girl who knows him better than anyone is there, too. Rebel is off-limits, impossibly beautiful…and trouble with a capital T. Still, he can’t stay away. And even as Rebel exacts her revenge, in several very embarrassing and painful ways, neither can she.


Author Bio:
Dawn Klehr is the author of the young adult thrillers: The Cutting Room Floor and If You Wrong Us.
She began her career in TV news and though she’s been on both sides of the camera, she prefers to lurk behind the lens. Mostly, she loves to get lost in stories –in film, the theater, or on the page – and is a sucker for both the sinister and the sappy. She’s currently channeling her dark side as she works on her next book.
Dawn lives in the Twin Cities with her funny husband, adorable son, and naughty dog.

XBTBanner1

Book Blitz & Giveaway: The Boy I Hate by Taylor Sullivan


The Boy I Hate
Taylor Sullivan
Publication date: August 12th 2017
Genres: New Adult, Romance

Synopsis: Samantha Smiles and Renee Montgomery have been best friends for over a decade. They’ve shared laughs, secrets, and a mutual hatred for one person: Tristan Montgomery, Renee’s older brother. He was the guy every girl wanted, and every guy wanted to be, and it wasn’t uncommon they’d befriend his little sister just to get closer to him. Which was exactly how Samantha became Renee’s saving grace. She was the only girl Renee could trust not to fall in love with her older brother.
Until the one night Samantha spent with him alone, leaving her questioning everything she’d ever known about the blond headed heart-throb.
Years later, Renee asks Samantha to be her maid of honor. With no other option, Samantha is forced to drive cross-country with the focus of their teenage ire.
He was her first kiss.
Her only secret.
Can Samantha survive the trip cross-country with the reckless Tristan Montgomery? The guy who did what he wanted, whenever he wanted, without worry for tomorrow? Or will she discover a different side of him. One that’s sweet, funny, and maybe a little bit vulnerable. And fall completely and helplessly in love for the first time in her adult life with the one man who could cause her to lose her best friend forever?
Are you a book reviewer?
Request a review copy of The Boy I Hate here!
EXCERPT:
She looked down to the parking lot, seeing his Mustang still parked below, and knew she was about to lose it. She headed for her own room, placed the breakfast on the nearby table, then rid of every last drop of patience, began pounding on Tristan’s door.
“Wake up you lazy bastard! Wake up, or I swear to God I’ll beat this door down with my fists.”
A large boom sounded from inside the room, and Samantha smiled with satisfaction as she continued to pound. “That’s right,” she whispered. “Get up you lazy ass—”
But before she could finish her sentence, the door was yanked out from under her. She stumbled forward, barely able to catch her footing, and slammed face first into warm, solid, skin.
She froze, because the glimpse she caught on the way down wasn’t one she ever thought she’d see. It was a very large, very bare, and very “Good morning” version of Tristan Montgomery.
“Please tell me you’re not naked,” she whispered, but it was mostly to herself, because she didn’t really need him to answer. She squeezed her eyes shut, took one step backward, and turned around.
They both stood there, quiet and still, and she tried to recover her heart. The sight of Tristan in nothing more than his birthday suit left her feeling dizzy. She’d seen many naked men in her days, though until now, the only one she’d seen in person was Steven. Especially this close up.
“Well?” he finally asked, when she remained silent.
Well? Well… Tristan was much…larger than Steven. Much larger in every way imaginable.
She cleared her throat, knowing her voice would’ve cracked otherwise. “It’s ten in the morning,” she answered with more confidence than she felt.
“And?” But his voice was thick and husky, and she could swear he was having as difficult a time recovering as she was.
“It’s time to go.”
“Is it?”
“Yes,” she said, hating how the tone of his voice sent a shiver down her spine. “And you should really put some clothes on. The people of Utah don’t want to see…that.”
He chuckled, but shifted slightly behind her. “Hate to break it to you sweetheart, but a lot of people want to see that.”
She cringed, because she knew it was true. Like in high school, she knew women lined up to catch the barest glimpse of Tristan.
He moved quietly behind her, his steps so soft you’d never know they came from a man of his size. “You can turn around now.”
She raked her teeth over her bottom lip, taking the very corner and chewing it before turning to face him. He still had no shirt on, his feet were bare, but he wore a pair of old gray sweats resting so low on his hips you could tell he wasn’t wearing anything underneath.
“Aren’t you freezing?” she asked, feeling a shiver run through her own body.
“No,” he said, leaning against the doorway and crossing his feet at the ankles. A tiny grin teased at the corner of his mouth, and she knew he was having too much fun at her expense.
She turned toward the Mustang, not attempting to hide her irritation. “I brought you breakfast,” she said quickly.
“That’s nice of you.”
“It’s not nice. Just my way of getting your lazy ass out of bed.”
He threw his head back with laughter. “Are you always this pleasant in the morning?”
Pressing her lips together, she wasn’t about to let him to pull her into another argument. “We need to go,” she said, turning on her heels and opening the door to her room.
She walked inside, hoping the action would give him the hint to do the same. “I’ll have your breakfast waiting for you in the car.” But before she closed the door, she could swear she caught him smiling.
“My God.” she whispered, resting her forehead against the wall, taking in all the air she’d forgotten to take over the last two minutes. “Three more days. Just three more days of Tristan Montgomery.” She repeated the last words over and over, gathered up the rest of her belongings, and headed for the car.


Author Bio:
Taylor is mom of three young (or not so young) children she loves more than life. She runs them around endlessly, hoping she looks presentable enough to be out in public, and day dreams about fictional characters. Maybe she's crazy, or maybe she craves the barbie games she played as a little girl a little too much, but that's where her stories are born. It's where they blossom, and grow, and eventually breath life on the page of her stories.
She'd love to hear from you. (Or I'd love to hear from you. I wrote this in 3rd person to sound cooler)

XBTBanner1

Saturday, August 12, 2017

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews. With this amazing meme, you can check out which books I've gotten this past week.

From Disney-Hyperion
Rosemarked by Livia Blackburne
A healer who cannot be healed . . .

When Zivah falls prey to the deadly rose plague, she knows it’s only a matter of time before she fully succumbs. Now she’s destined to live her last days in isolation, cut off from her people and unable to practice her art—until a threat to her village creates a need that only she can fill.

A soldier shattered by war . . .

Broken by torture at the hands of the Amparan Empire, Dineas thirsts for revenge against his captors. Now escaped and reunited with his tribe, he’ll do anything to free them from Amparan rule—even if it means undertaking a plan that risks not only his life but his very self.

Thrust together on a high-stakes mission to spy on the capital, the two couldn’t be more different: Zivah, deeply committed to her vow of healing, and Dineas, yearning for vengeance. But as they grow closer, they must find common ground to protect those they love. And amidst the constant fear of discovery, the two grapple with a mutual attraction that could break both of their carefully guarded hearts.

This smart, sweeping fantasy with a political edge and a slow-burning romance will capture fans of The Lumatere Chronicles and An Ember in the Ashes.

Won
Roar (Stormheart #1) by Cora Carmack
In a land ruled and shaped by violent magical storms, power lies with those who control them.

Aurora Pavan comes from one of the oldest Stormling families in existence. Long ago, the ungifted pledged fealty and service to her family in exchange for safe haven, and a kingdom was carved out from the wildlands and sustained by magic capable of repelling the world’s deadliest foes. As the sole heir of Pavan, Aurora’s been groomed to be the perfect queen. She’s intelligent and brave and honorable. But she’s yet to show any trace of the magic she’ll need to protect her people.

To keep her secret and save her crown, Aurora’s mother arranges for her to marry a dark and brooding Stormling prince from another kingdom. At first, the prince seems like the perfect solution to all her problems. He’ll guarantee her spot as the next queen and be the champion her people need to remain safe. But the more secrets Aurora uncovers about him, the more a future with him frightens her. When she dons a disguise and sneaks out of the palace one night to spy on him, she stumbles upon a black market dealing in the very thing she lacks—storm magic. And the people selling it? They’re not Stormlings. They’re storm hunters.

Legend says that her ancestors first gained their magic by facing a storm and stealing part of its essence. And when a handsome young storm hunter reveals he was born without magic, but possesses it now, Aurora realizes there’s a third option for her future besides ruin or marriage. 

She might not have magic now, but she can steal it if she’s brave enough. 

Challenge a tempest. Survive it. And you become its master.

From the Library
Always and Forever Lara Jean (To All the Boys I've Loved Before #3) by Jenny Han
Lara Jean is having the best senior year. And there’s still so much to look forward to: a class trip to New York City, prom with her boyfriend Peter, Beach Week after graduation, and her dad’s wedding to Ms. Rothschild. Then she’ll be off to college with Peter, at a school close enough for her to come home and bake chocolate chip cookies on the weekends.

Life couldn’t be more perfect!

At least, that’s what Lara Jean thinks…until she gets some unexpected news.

Now the girl who dreads change must rethink all her plans—but when your heart and your head are saying two different things, which one should you listen to?

What did you guys get this week? Let me know in the comments.

Friday, August 11, 2017

Book Tour & Giveaway: The Hearts We Sold by Emily Lloyd-Jones


Publication Date: August 8th 2017
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover, ebook, Audiobook 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD ~ B&N ~ iBooks

Synopsis: When Dee Moreno makes a deal with a demon—her heart in exchange for an escape from a disastrous home life—she finds the trade may have been more than she bargained for. And becoming “heartless” is only the beginning. What lies ahead is a nightmare far bigger, far more monstrous than anything she could have ever imagined.

With reality turned on its head, Dee has only a group of other deal-making teens to keep her grounded, including the charming but secretive James Lancer. And as something grows between them amid an otherworldy ordeal, Dee begins to wonder: Can she give someone her heart when it’s no longer hers to give?

Interview with Emily

Hello Emily, and welcome to Angelic Book Reviews. It is so wonderful to have you here and to pick your brain about the book. I absolutely loved The Hearts We Sold and I could not put it down. It was definitely a 5 star read for me.

My first question for you, is how did you select the names of your characters? Were they based off real people?

Most of my names are picked with specific themes involved. In the case of THE HEARTS WE SOLD, I had an obvious theme—hearts. The main character, Deirdre, was picked because I once saw the name listed as “broken-hearted” in a baby names book. The same went for Cora.
James was picked because I liked the regal sound of it—as for his last name, that was an inside joke. The “lancer” is a storytelling trope—a person who provides a role as second in command, often with a differing personality and viewpoint of the main character. So I went ahead and gave the lancer of the group… the last name Lancer.
Gremma’s was a mash-up name—a combination of “Gregory” and “Emma” because I thought it would be just like her to have a name that was solely hers.
The characters themselves are always fragments of my imagination.

What was the hardest scene to write?

Chapter 24. I won’t spoil it, but let’s just say that chapter was draining to write.

Was there anything you edited out of the book?

There were scenes not of a person, but of a place.
As I sketched out my demons, I imagined them as business tycoons: Sleek, in control, well aware of what they have to offer people, and picky about the offers they take. Some demons would likely have specializations. Some might prefer arms, others legs, and as for My Demon, as I began to think of him, he would only accept hearts. But where would a person find him?
There would be the usual locations to find a demon, I decided. Casinos, bars, and nightclubs.
But none of those locations quite fit for Portland, Oregon. Where would an Oregonian go to trade a limb for a wish, I thought. And the answer came to me: a farmer’s market.
It’s funny, but it’s totally true.
There were originally more scenes of that farmers market—called Mephisto Market. But they had to be cut for pacing reasons.

Have you ever considered writing under a pseudonym?

I have considered it, actually. But there are some logistical issues with pseudonyms, and if I ever decided to go through with it, it would be because I’d be writing in another genre and would want to keep my two audiences separate.

In your bio, you mentioned that you fear sheep. Can you tell us the story behind that?

First off, forget any stories you’ve heard about sheep being lovely, fluffy animals. Well, they can be, but most of the time they’re loud and hungry and perfectly willing to trample a six-year-old girl who just
wants to walk across the sheep field to get to the good rope swing in the forest. And some of them were quite territorial. After being repeatedly charged by one in particular, I developed a healthy fear of sheep.
Today, I’m not so much afraid of them as respectful of their boundaries. Also, I come armed with a handful of fresh greens to distract them.

Thank you so much for joining me today Emily, and answering all of my questions. I can't wait till everyone gets a chance to read your book, so I have more people to talk about it with.

About Emily:
Emily Lloyd-Jones grew up on a vineyard in rural Oregon, where she played in evergreen forests and learned to fear sheep. After graduating from Western Oregon University with an English degree, she enrolled in the publishing program at Rosemont College just outside of Philadelphia. She currently resides in Northern California, working in a bookstore by day and writing by night. Illusive is her debut novel.

Website ~ Twitter ~ Facebook ~ Instagram ~ Goodreads




Giveaway
3 winners will receive a copy of The Hearts We Sold
US Only
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Check out the rest of the Tour
Week One: 
8/7/2017- Owl Always Be Reading- Excerpt
8/8/2017- When Books Defy Gravity- Review
8/9/2017- YA Books Central- Interview
8/10/2017- Take Me Away To A Great Read- Review
8/11/2017- Angelic Book Reviews- Interview


Week Two:
8/14/2017- The Layaway Dragon- Review
8/15/2017- Two Chicks on Books- Guest Post
8/16/2017- Book Briefs- Review
8/17/2017- Adventures of a Book Junkie- Interview
8/18/2017- Stories & Sweeties- Review
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...