Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Waiting on Wednesday: Furyborn by Claire Legrand

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Series: The Empirium Trilogy #1
Publication Date: May 22nd 2018
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Genre: YA, Fantasy 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: The stunningly original, must-read fantasy of 2018 follows two fiercely independent young women, centuries apart, who hold the power to save their world...or doom it.

When assassins ambush her best friend, the crown prince, Rielle Dardenne risks everything to save him, exposing her ability to perform all seven kinds of elemental magic. The only people who should possess this extraordinary power are a pair of prophesied queens: a queen of light and salvation and a queen of blood and destruction. To prove she is the Sun Queen, Rielle must endure seven trials to test her magic. If she fails, she will be executed...unless the trials kill her first.

A thousand years later, the legend of Queen Rielle is a mere fairy tale to bounty hunter Eliana Ferracora. When the Undying Empire conquered her kingdom, she embraced violence to keep her family alive. Now, she believes herself untouchable--until her mother vanishes without a trace, along with countless other women in their city. To find her, Eliana joins a rebel captain on a dangerous mission and discovers that the evil at the heart of the empire is more terrible than she ever imagined.

As Rielle and Eliana fight in a cosmic war that spans millennia, their stories intersect, and the shocking connections between them ultimately determine the fate of their world--and of each other.

Tuesday, March 20, 2018

Review: The Heart Forger by Rin Chupeco

Series: The Bone Witch #2
Publication Date: March 20th 2018
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Genre: YA, Fantasy
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: In The Bone Witch, Tea mastered resurrection—now she's after revenge...
No one knows death like Tea. A bone witch who can resurrect the dead, she has the power to take life...and return it. And she is done with her self-imposed exile. Her heart is set on vengeance, and she now possesses all she needs to command the mighty daeva. With the help of these terrifying beasts, she can finally enact revenge against the royals who wronged her—and took the life of her one true love. 
But there are those who plot against her, those who would use Tea's dark power for their own nefarious ends. Because you can't kill someone who can never die... 
War is brewing among the kingdoms, and when dark magic is at play, no one is safe.
My Rating
5/5 stars

My Review
I adored The Bone Witch, but I absolutely fell in love with The Heart Forger. This book was everything I wanted and more. I can't even describe how perfect it was.

Tea has finally completed her army of the dead and daeva, and with Kalen and the Bard with her, she is finally read to star her war. As Tea and her army march towards Daanoris to begin her revenge, Tea continues explaining her story to the Bard starting from the time when Prince Kance fell ill with the sleeping sickness, and Tea was blamed for it.

I have always loved Tea, right from the beginning of this series, but in this book she just became so much more. We see a lot more of present Tea taking action and explaining why she is currently doing the things she is doing, and we also get to see past Tea come into her magic, protect the ones she loves and start on the path that eventually leads her to where present Tea is (If you haven't read the first book, it is told in the perspective of Tea presently, and as she tells the story of her past). There is so much character development, not only from the past Tea but also with the present Tea as well. And finally in this book the two Teas somewhat start to become one, as past Tea has to make difficult choices and face dangerous creatures that require a huge amount of magic, enough to drive any Asha mad.

The one thing I didn't like about the first book, was that present Tea's story was a bit dry and boring and I found myself skipping parts of it. However, in this book that is not the case at all. There was action in both past and present tense, and I couldn't get enough of both. It was action packed, it wasn't confusing to the reader, and I loved every moment of it.

If you've read the first book a while back, and are just picking this one up now, I would definitely recommend just looking at online spoilers of the book just to familiarize yourself with the characters, who's who and who did what. I was definitely able to remember the main characters very well even without help, but there are a lot of secondary characters that play an important role where I sort of forgot who they were, until about a half way into the book when it finally clicked on what they did in the first book and who they were exactly.

Overall, I loved the characters, the action and the world that Rin Chupeco created. I think this series may go down as one of my favourites. I am already dying, just waiting for the third book to come out. I definitely recommend this series to all YA fantasy fans.

Happy Reading,

Saturday, March 17, 2018

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews. With this amazing meme, you can check out which books I've gotten.

From Thomas Allen & Son
The Disturbed Girl's Dictionary by NoNieqa Ramos
Macy's school officially classifies her as "disturbed," but Macy isn't interested in how others define her. She's got more pressing problems: her mom can't move off the couch, her dad's in prison, her brother's been kidnapped by Child Protective Services, and now her best friend isn't speaking to her. Writing in a dictionary format, Macy explains the world in her own terms—complete with gritty characters and outrageous endeavors. With an honesty that's both hilarious and fearsome, slowly Macy reveals why she acts out, why she can't tell her incarcerated father that her mom's cheating on him, and why her best friend needs protection . . . the kind of protection that involves Macy's machete. 

That's all for this week. What did you guys get?

Friday, March 16, 2018

Review: Nothing Left to Burn by Heather Ezell

Publication Date: March 13th 2018
Publisher: Razorbill 
Genre: YA, Contemporary 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: The autumn morning after sixteen-year-old Audrey Harper loses her virginity, she wakes to a loud, persistent knocking at her front door. Waiting for her are two firemen, there to let her know that the moment she's been dreading has arrived: the enormous wildfire sweeping through Orange County, California, is now dangerously close to her idyllic gated community of Coto de Caza, and it's time to evacuate.

Over the course of the next twenty-four hours, as Audrey wrestles with the possibility of losing her family home, she also recalls her early, easy summer days with Brooks, the charming, passionate, but troubled volunteer firefighter who enchants Audrey--and who is just as enthralled by her. But as secrets from Brooks's dark past come to light, Audrey can't help but wonder if there's danger in the pull she feels--both toward this boy, and toward the fire burning in the distance.

My Rating
4/5 stars

My Review
A dangerous wildfire has started in Orange County, California. Audrey only has twenty minutes to gather her and her families belongings before she has to evacuate her family home. As the days events play out, Audrey looks back on the past three months to the events that have lead her here.

Audrey is a very captivating main character. She really knows how to tell a good story both from the past and the present perspective. Audrey calls herself a loner. She prefers being alone rather than going out to parties and socializing like most teenagers her age. It isn't until her best friend Grace introduces her to Brooks, that she is able to step out of her comfort zone. Brooks is a loner just like Audrey, and they are able to find comfort in one another. There are crazy rumours going around Audrey's school about why Brooks switched schools in his last year, and what is the reason behind his scar. Even though most people are afraid of Brooks, Audrey isn't because he has shown her a side of him that he hasn't to anyone else.

Their romance was absolutely crazy. I don't want to give you any spoilers, but just know that things aren't always what they seem. I am really happy with how Audrey chose to act in this book regarding the romance. Yes she made some mistakes, but no one is perfect, and she eventually learns her lesson. This is a reason why I love Audrey, because she always tries her hardest and ends up doing the right thing when the time comes.

The pace of the book was alright. At first I was a bit confused with how the book switches from present to past tense when Audrey reflects on the past 3 months, but eventually you get used to it. The book started off slow, with Audrey's life and how she meets Brooks, and ends up picking up around two thirds of the way into the book. 

I absolutely loved the setting of this story. The author did an amazing job describing all the different setting that the characters were in. I could picture the scene very clearly and the author uses the perfect amount of descriptions to make it feel real, but not enough to make it boring.

Overall, I loved the main character and I found the story very intriguing. I was a little thrown off by the way the story was written with past/present tense at first, but eventually I got used to it. The pace was alright and the setting was perfect. I will definitely read this author's future books, and I definitely recommend this book to all YA contemporary fans.

Happy Reading,

Thursday, March 15, 2018

Book Tour & Giveaway: Consort of Secrets by Eva Chase

Series: The Witch's Consorts #1
Publication Date: March 8th 2018
Publisher: Ink Spark Press 
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Magic 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD ~ B&N

Synopsis: Every witch knows the rules: 

Stick to your own kind. Never reveal your powers to outsiders. Take a consort from the witching families or kiss your magic good-bye forever. 

For years I've been quiet, obedient Rose Hallowell. I accepted the man my stepmother chose for me. But I never stopped missing my long-ago friends. 

Now we're back on my childhood estate to arrange my marriage. The boys I grew up with? They're still in town—and they haven't forgotten me either. And damn if they haven't grown up well. 

They've got no magic, no place in my life. But they're charming and sweet and infuriatingly hot, and I can't seem to stay away. The more I try to resist, the more secrets I uncover about my family, my betrothal, and everything I thought was true about the witching world. 

I've been lied to. I've been betrayed. So to claim my magic and my happiness, I'll break every rule there is—and then some. 

Don't mess with this witch. Every rose has thorns. 

*Consort of Secrets is the first full-length novel in a steamy reverse harem paranormal romance series. Take a dollop of gothic atmosphere, add a heaping of romantic angst, and mix it up with five enticing young men and a passionate witch just coming into her own*
Read the prequel ROSE'S BOYS!

Jin was leaning over, trailing the end of a stick he’d picked up through the mud between the moss.
“You’ve always got to be sketching something, don’t you?” I said with a smile.
“What can I say,” he said, twirling the stick. “It’s an obsession. I’ll cop to that. But as obsessions go, you’ve got to admit there are a lot worse.”
“Okay, that’s fair,” I said, propping myself against the boulder. “Although maybe calling it just an ‘obsession’ is downplaying the situation a little. Didn’t you travel around, like, half the world chasing inspiration?”
“I guess so. But I didn’t really have to. Finding it all over the world was just more fun than trying to get it all in one place.”
“Uh huh.” I couldn’t help raising my eyebrows. “And is that a policy you apply to all sorts of areas of your life? Suddenly I’m imagining you leaving a trail of broken hearts all across the globe.”
Jin’s dark eyes gleamed with amusement. “I won’t say there’s no truth at all in that either. But I swear I’ve never made promises I didn’t intend to keep.”
“Always a gentleman, even when you’re being a ladies’ man?”
“I don’t know any other way to be,” he said with that flirty smile. I wasn’t sure if he meant the gentleman part or the ladies’ man part—maybe both.
Curiosity prickled at me despite myself. “None of those girls kept your interest long enough to make any promises?” I asked.
“Well…” Jin cocked his head. His tone turned a bit more serious. “There are places and people that give you what you’re craving in the moment, right? And that’s a pretty wonderful thing. The ones that give you something so essential it becomes a part of your soul… That type is a lot harder to find.”
His gaze caught mine across the pond for a beat longer than felt completely casual. A warm tingling spread down my chest. He meant the estate, of course. The estate had worked its way into his soul. Not me.
Didn’t he?


Rose's Boys
Publication Date: February 9th 2018

Synopsis: Rose Hallowell has magic, and her boys do not. Their parents work for hers. But she can't imagine life without her rambles around her estate with brilliant Kyler, stoic Seth, passionate Jin, daredevil Damon, and Gabriel, whose self-assured charm brought them all together. Despite their differences and the secrets Rose has to keep, the bond between the six of them has been unshakeable since they were kids. 

Now, as Rose and her boys tumble into their teens, the dynamic of their friendship is changing in ways both unnerving and enticing. Ways Rose's strict new stepmother would never approve of. With the restrictions of witch society tightening around her, will Rose be torn from everything she holds dear forever? 

*This is a prequel story introducing the characters from the Witch's Consorts series. Due to character ages, Rose's Boys is more of a pre-romance than a full-out romance.

Book Two
Consort of Thorns
Publication Date: April 25th 2018

Synopsis: No more quiet, obedient Rose Hallowell. Every witch knows the rules—and I've broken them all to save myself and win my happiness. 

I thought my troubles would be over once I had my magic and my men by my side. Apparently I was a little too optimistic. My stepmother left me with a seed of doubt I can't shake. I may have more enemies in my home than I ever imagined. 

My guys say they'll do anything for me, but they couldn't have been prepared for the twisted secrets of the witching world. Or for an old friend to unexpectedly show up in town, with who knows what complications for our newfound connection. 

The thorns are closing in around us. Will my unpracticed magic and my consorts' love be enough to guide us through?

About the Author
Eva Chase lives in Canada with her family. She loves stories both swoony and supernatural, and strong women and the men who appreciate them. You can visit her online at
Want to hear about new books and receive exclusive bonus content? Sign up for Eva's mailing list:
Giveaway Details 
1 winner will receive a $25 Amazon Gift Card and Swag, International. 
Ends on March 27th at Midnight EST!

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Tour Schedule 
Week One:
3/12/2018- BookHounds- Interview

3/13/2018- Two Chicks on Books- Guest Post
3/13/2018- Love in a time of Feminism- Review

3/14/2018- Daily Waffle- Excerpt
3/14/2018- Reading for the Stars and Moon- Review

3/15/2018- Angelic Book Reviews- Excerpt
3/15/2018- Savings in Seconds- Review

3/16/2018- Smada's Book Smack- Review
3/16/2018- Books and Blends- Review

Wednesday, March 14, 2018

Waiting on Wednesday: War Storm by Victoria Aveyard

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Series: Red Queen #4
Publication Date: May 15th 2018
Publisher: HarperTeen
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Dystopia
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD


Mare Barrow learned this all too well when Cal’s betrayal nearly destroyed her. Now determined to protect her heart—and secure freedom for Reds and newbloods like her—Mare resolves to overthrow the kingdom of Norta once and for all… starting with the crown on Maven’s head.

But no battle is won alone, and before the Reds may rise as one, Mare must side with the boy who broke her heart in order to defeat the boy who almost broke her. Cal’s powerful Silver allies, alongside Mare and the Scarlet Guard, prove a formidable force. But Maven is driven by an obsession so deep, he will stop at nothing to have Mare as his own again, even if it means demolishing everything—and everyone—in his path.

War is coming, and all Mare has fought for hangs in the balance. Will victory be enough to topple the Silver kingdoms? Or will the little lightning girl be forever silenced?

In the epic conclusion to Victoria Aveyard’s stunning series, Mare must embrace her fate and summon all her power… for all will be tested, but not all will survive.

Tuesday, March 13, 2018

Review: Tyler Johnson Was Here by Jay Cole

Publication Day: March 20th 2018
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Genre: YA, Contemporary 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: When Marvin Johnson's twin, Tyler, goes to a party, Marvin decides to tag along to keep an eye on his brother. But what starts as harmless fun turns into a shooting, followed by a police raid.

The next day, Tyler has gone missing, and it's up to Marvin to find him. But when Tyler is found dead, a video leaked online tells an even more chilling story: Tyler has been shot and killed by a police officer. Terrified as his mother unravels and mourning a brother who is now a hashtag, Marvin must learn what justice and freedom really mean.

My Rating
5/5 stars

My Review
Grab a box of tissues and get ready for a waterfall of tears.

Tyler Johnson Was Here is such an important read. I can’t stress it enough. No matter what colour your skin is, or what country you are in, I really think you should give this novel a read, it may change the way you look at the situation.

This book focuses on Marvin as he deals with the disappearance and death of his twin brother Tyler. There are so many important aspects of this book. It talks a lot of police brutality, and the two sides to how people react to it. It also shows just how hard it is to get over the death of a family member, especially when they were murdered.

Marvin is a fantastic main character, and reading from his point of view was great. He is so compassionate and caring, it really breaks your heart just going through the story with him. Seeing his development throughout the story was fantastic, we see just how the events change his perspective on life and what he wants to do with his. He is honest and truthful, and overall makes a wonderful main character.

The plot of the story goes very fast. It’s not a long novel, so if you have the time like I did, you can definitely finish it in one night, and the book is so captivating that I guarantee you won’t want to put it down for long. 

If anything, the only thing I didn’t particularly like in this story was the addition of the romance. While I was glad that Marvin found someone, and that she helped him deal with the pain of losing his brother, it seemed a little forced and while it didn’t make the story any worse, it also didn’t make the story any better. It was just there.

Overall, this book definitely changed my perspective on the situation. As someone who is white, and doesn’t like in the United States, we hear a lot of stories but they never feel as personal as reading from Marvin’s point of view did. I highly recommend this book to all young adults and adults, no matter what genre you usually read.

Happy Reading,

Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Waiting on Wednesday: Tell Me No Lies by A.V. Geiger

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Series: Follow Me Back #2
Publication Date: May 5th 2018
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Genre: YA, Mystery
Amazon  ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: After months of living under the radar in Mexico, Tessa and Eric are forced out of hiding when Dorian Cromwell—a pop star who was allegedly murdered by a fan—is found alive. What's more, when intimate photos of Eric and Tessa appear on the Twitter page of Eric Thorn's biggest fan account, MET, they realize that their time together will never be private again.

Determined to shut down the elusive MET for good, Eric sets out to investigate. But when his search turns up a dead body, and all signs point to Tessa as suspect #1, Eric's online nightmare becomes an offline reality.

Tuesday, March 6, 2018

Blitz: Sneaking Out by Chuck Vance

Sneaking Out
Chuck Vance
Series: Chased, #1
Published by: Dunemere Books
Publication date: March 6th 2018
Genres: Mystery, Young Adult

Synopsis: Could you sleep next to a murderer?
Luke Chase—yes, that Luke Chase, a modern hero ripped from the headlines—didn’t mean to get caught up in Mrs. Heckler’s murder. He just wanted to hook up with the hot new British girl at St. Benedict’s, and if that meant sneaking out to the woods after hours, then so be it. But little did he know someone would end up dead right next to their rendezvous spot, and his best friend and roommate Oscar Weymouth would go down for it. With suspects aplenty and a past that’s anything but innocent, Luke Chase reluctantly calls on his famous survival skills to find the true killer.
For fans of “A Study in Charlotte” and boarding school lit, “Sneaking Out” (book one in the “Chased” series) immerses readers in the privileged prep school world, with a mystery that exposes the dark side of life on a residential high school campus.
Luke stood up and held out a hand to help Pippa up. He didn’t let go after she rose, and he clasped it firmly as they walked together. It didn’t feel awkward—he’d already held her hand a couple of times. He felt protective. They walked along in silence.
They passed a mailbox, its hinge squeaking in the wind. The wind had picked up a plastic bag, which was scraping along the road, dancing with the fallen leaves. Every noise was amplified.
Luke pulled Pippa toward him to avoid a ditch. It was then that Luke sensed something. He glanced over his shoulder, and saw the flash of someone jump behind a tree. Luke’s muscles tensed. They were being followed.
“Don’t turn around, but someone is behind us,” warned Luke. “On foot.”
He saw Pippa’s neck stiffen. “Who is it?” she whispered.
“Not sure, but let’s speed up.”
They started walking as fast as possible without running. Luke felt as if there was a bullseye on his back. Was the person who was following them crazy enough to do something to harm them? What if he had a gun?
They were about a block away from the nearest streetlight. Luke feared that if they walked under it, they would be completely exposed to whoever was following them. It seemed safer to remain in the shadows. He abruptly pulled Pippa diagonally across the street. They picked up their pace and stayed on course.
“We’ll be able to see who it is when they pass the streetlight,” said Luke.
“Do you think he crossed, too?”
Luke pricked his ears. He could hear a distant tap, tap. Footsteps. “No, he’s on the other side.”
They walked past the streetlight and up about thirty feet before stopping short and turning around. For a split second, they saw a figure bathed in the light, but then it darted to the side. It looked like a man, in a baseball hat. But he was too fast for them. Luke grabbed Pippa’s hand tightly.”
“We need to run.”

Author Bio:
Chuck Vance is a pseudonym for a bestselling writer of both adult mysteries and novels for young adults. Vance attended boarding school in Connecticut and graduated from Columbia University. Vance has lived in New York, Moscow, London, Paris and Los Angeles and is frequently on the move.


Book Tour: Promise Me Always by Rhonda Shaw

Promise Me Always
Rhonda Shaw
Publication date: February 26th 2018
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance

Synopsis: Gabrielle Wells was everything Danny Anderson shouldn’t want. She was his opposite in every way, but he couldn’t keep his distance, and fate seemed to push them together at every turn. She consumed him, and the more he learned about her, the more he realized she was exactly what he didn’t know he needed. But then past mistakes forced him to walk away and never look back, breaking Gabrielle’s heart in the process.
Fast forward six years, and it seems as if fate is intervening again. Danny, now a best-selling rap artist, returns to his hometown, and is reunited with the only girl he’s ever loved.
Gabrielle isn’t the girl he left behind, though, and Danny realizes life has thrown her quite a few curves. But he will stop at nothing to get her back, refusing to let his true desires—love and family—continue to elude him. However, when Danny’s past crashes into his present, threatening everyone he loves and everything he’s fought for, he must decide if his promise to Gabrielle of “always” is worth the risk.

School hadn’t been in my plan this year, intending to drop out and focus on my ticket out of this hellhole, which didn’t require a diploma, but something had pulled at me to show up, and now I wondered if I was looking at it. I didn’t question fate; I believed in destiny or predetermination, but the last thing I needed was some stuck-up chick interrupting my plans. I struggled to harden myself against her, but watching as she sunk against the locker in defeat, the desire to reach out, to shelter and comfort her, was too overwhelming.
Pushing away from the wall, I stepped out of the shadows. I would help her one more time, and then I would forget her and this place.
“You don’t want to be here alone for too long.” My voice was harsher than I meant it to be, but she needed truth more than she needed a friend.
Her head jerked up. I half expected her to cower away, but she surprised me by reaching for her bag and rushing forward to get in step with me. “Thank you.”
I glanced at her out of the corner of my eye, but didn’t stop.
“It was nice of you—”
“I’m not nice.” I snorted at the ridiculousness of that description.
“Oh. Well, I appreciate that you—”
“Look.” I stopped, turning toward her as I lowered my hood. “You seem like a nice girl; maybe a little uptight, but whatever.” I waved at her, standing there all buttoned up. “But watch your back, all right?”
Her eyes watered. “Watch my back?”
Jesus. I hadn’t meant to make her cry, so I bent toward her, forcing her gaze to mine and
tried to soften my message. “Look, I don’t know who you are or where you come from, but you don’t belong here. We all know that. I’m just trying to give you some pointers, so I don’t pass your body along the side of the road somewhere.”
She nodded as a tear fell down her cheek.
I sighed and shifted my weight, at a loss as to what to say. I was obviously going about this all wrong. “Fuck it.” I grabbed her arm and pulled her down the hall with me. “Let’s go.”
She let me tug her with zero resistance and that worried me. If she wanted to survive in this hood, she needed to have some fight in her.
Once outside, I jogged down the cracked cement steps, giving acknowledging nods to those who still mingled around the front of the school and were glancing our way, curious about what was transpiring. When I reached the crumbled sidewalk, I stopped and let go.
“Now get out of here. Go home and don’t stop until you get there.”
“Can I at least know your name?”
“Jesus Christ, girl! What’s your deal? Just get out of here.”
She scowled, tears forgotten. “I can’t even know your name? What? Am I not good enough?”
My brows lifted, surprised at her change in tone. I studied her a minute, before shaking my head. Maybe she did have a backbone on her. “D.”
“D?” she repeated with a look of disbelief.
“My name is D.” Maybe she wasn’t as smart as she looked.
“Your name is D? Like, as in the letter ‘D’?”
I nodded as I pulled my hood back up. “Yep.” I started down the sidewalk before turning and walking backward. “And you’re not in Kansas anymore, Dorothy.”

Author Bio:
Rhonda owes her love of reading to her mother who would read to her each night before bed and sometimes give into pleads for more than one chapter. These days, if Rhonda doesn’t have a book in her hands, it feels like something is missing. While romance is her true passion, Rhonda enjoys reading multiple genres.
Born in California, but transplanted to the Midwest, Rhonda is warm weather girl to the bone (even years later, winter and her are not on speaking terms) and loves nothing more than a balmy, summer evening. She also loves all animals–especially her silly French Bulldog, Keno.
Nowadays, she has so many characters and story ideas running around in her head that she can’t keep up with them. But one day, she’ll tell each one.


Monday, March 5, 2018

Book Tour & Review + Book Trailer: The Wicked Deep by Shea Ernshaw

Hi everyone, and welcome to my stop on The Wicked Deep Blog Tour. I am so happy to share with you the beautiful book trailer for The Wicked Deep, as well as my own review of the book.

Publication Date: March 6th 2018
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Genre: YA, Fantasty, Paranormal

Synopsis: Welcome to the cursed town of Sparrow…

Where, two centuries ago, three sisters were sentenced to death for witchery. Stones were tied to their ankles and they were drowned in the deep waters surrounding the town.

Now, for a brief time each summer, the sisters return, stealing the bodies of three weak-hearted girls so that they may seek their revenge, luring boys into the harbor and pulling them under.

Like many locals, seventeen-year-old Penny Talbot has accepted the fate of the town. But this year, on the eve of the sisters’ return, a boy named Bo Carter arrives; unaware of the danger he has just stumbled into.

Mistrust and lies spread quickly through the salty, rain-soaked streets. The townspeople turn against one another. Penny and Bo suspect each other of hiding secrets. And death comes swiftly to those who cannot resist the call of the sisters.

But only Penny sees what others cannot. And she will be forced to choose: save Bo, or save herself.

Book Trailer

My Rating
4.5/5 stars

My Review
Another summer spent in Sparrow means that another three girls will be possessed by three sisters that were murdered 200 years ago, and with the reawakening of the sisters comes a lot of teenage boys that mysteriously drown. Penny wants nothing to do with the whole legend, but it isn’t something she can truly control. When Bo arrives to town, Penny takes him to her island home to save him from sleeping on the beach, with a mutual agreement that he can stay as long as he provides work on the lighthouse. As the summer begins, the mysteries of the Swan sisters unfold as one of them is caught. Penny must decide if she’s willing to lose the boy she has just started falling in love with over finding out the truth about the three sisters that haunt her summers.

I really enjoyed Penny as a main character. Right from the beginning you can tell she’s not like everyone else in the town. She is very responsible and thoughtful, she would love to go away for college but needs to take care of her mother and I love how she takes this into account. She’s very selfless and smart. Honestly she’s just a very realistic character, one that I can relate to a lot. 

I really enjoyed the romance in this book. Bo and Penny didn’t necessarily get off to a good start, as she denies him the job at the lighthouse. Bo ends up saving her later that evening and the two start of as just friends. Later on when events that happen in the book bring them together only do their feelings for one another show. It is a really well written slow burning romance that I absolutely loved.

The pacing of this story was a little slow at first, and while there was not a lot of action, we did get a lot of backstory about the Swan sisters and what happens to the town during this period. It’s not until about half way through the book when action starts to pick up, and it’s in the last quarter of the novel when the action is so great that you can’t put the book down. So if you’re really into action novels, this one might not be for you, but if you enjoy a bit of history and a really good back story then I would definitely give this one a try.

Overall, I loved the characters, I loved the fantasy aspect and I loved the romance. The pacing was good, but it could have been a bit improved. The ending of this book was what truly got me and made me love this book. I highly recommend this one to all YA and/or Fantasy fans, especially fans of Hocus Pocus and Halloween.

About the Author
Shea Ernshaw is an Oregon native and YA author. She often writes late, late, late into the night, enjoys dark woods, scary stories and moonlight on lakes. She drinks loads of tea and believes sunrises are where unicorns hide.

She lives with her two cats, a dog, a husband, and a stack of books beside her bed she still needs to read.

Her debut THE WICKED DEEP will be published by Simon & Schuster/Simon Pulse in 2018.

You can connect with her here:

Thank you for checking out my stop on this wonderful tour organized by Simon and Schuster. For more reviews and information about this book check out the other tour stops, and don't forget that The Wicked Deep comes out tomorrow (March 6th, 2018).

Saturday, March 3, 2018

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews. With this amazing meme, you can check out which books I've gotten.

From Raincoast
The Heart Forger (The Bone Witch #2) by Rin Chupeco
In The Bone Witch, Tea mastered resurrection―now she's after revenge...

No one knows death like Tea. A bone witch who can resurrect the dead, she has the power to take life...and return it. And she is done with her self-imposed exile. Her heart is set on vengeance, and she now possesses all she needs to command the mighty daeva. With the help of these terrifying beasts, she can finally enact revenge against the royals who wronged her―and took the life of her one true love.

But there are those who plot against her, those who would use Tea's dark power for their own nefarious ends. Because you can't kill someone who can never die...

War is brewing among the kingdoms, and when dark magic is at play, no one is safe.

The Traitor's Ruin (The Traitor's Circle #2) by Erin Beaty
After proving her worth in book one as a deft spy and strategic matchmaker, Sage Fowler is now comfortably positioned in high society as the royal tutor. When she’s called upon to teach his majesty’s soldiers how to read and write, she jumps at the chance to serve her kingdom of Demora—and to be reunited with her fiancĂ©, Captain Alex Quinn. 

During a skirmish, Sage and Alex are separated. She watches him die before he can deliver important military intel—or so she thinks. She escapes from the enemy and makes an unlikely alliance with a mysterious soldier from a third nation. As Sage tries to rally their support against a common foe, the important political alliance is plagued by secrets and betrayal. 

Can Sage complete Alex’s mission and save her kingdom once more?


Heather Ezell was kind enough to host a giveaway for an ARC of her book Nothing Left to Burn. I am so thankful to have won a copy of the book, and Heather was kind enough to personalize it to me. Thank you so much Heather, I can't wait to start reading!

I've finally picked up a Tarot set. Look at how pretty these cards are!
I'm so excited to start practicing with these cards, they are all so beautiful and I can't wait to see it in action.

That's all for this week. What did you guys get?

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...