Thursday, November 23, 2017

Book Tour & Giveaway: Addicted by Krys Fenner


Addicted
Krys Fenner
Series: Dark Road Series #1
Publication date: September 29th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult

Synopsis: Sixteen-year-old Bella Kynaston has been the victim of a brutal rape, by someone she can only describe as ‘the scar-faced man.’ With little recollection of what happened, she must somehow rebuild her life. Being the person she once was proves more difficult than she imagined.
To complicate matters, Bella has just met Jeremiah Detrone, the new guy in school. He’s attractive, funny, and smart. All things she’s ever wanted in a boyfriend. Too bad she’s conflicted over so many unexpected emotions. Without realizing it, she falls down a rabbit hole and begins walking a dangerous line between addiction and self-preservation.
As Bella works together with the police to bring her attackers to justice, will she be able to see it through to the end? And even if she does, will it only bring her more pain and misery? Or will she find an anchor in Jeremiah and figure out how to move forward?

Excerpt
Heather slapped Bella across the face so hard Bella fell back into the lockers and dropped her backpack. “You bitch! How dare you!”
Fuck! That hurt. Bella rubbed her burning cheek. And her shoulder throbbed, too. Damn. Why did it have to be the bad one?
Heather was right in her face. “I don’t care that you accused me of slashing your damn tires, but you accused my brother! What the hell is wrong with you?”
“I didn’t accuse you or your brother of anything,” Bella protested.
Heather slapped Bella across the face again. “Liar!”
Students gathered around the two girls in silent anticipation of a fight. Bella kept her mouth shut and considered the implications of continuing the conversation. Her parents had encouraged her to speak openly with Detective Russell—so she had mentioned all the scenarios she and Miah’d considered regarding the attack on the Dodge. Including David’s recent argument with Jeremiah. She hadn’t wanted the discussion to become public knowledge, though. Crouching down, she lifted her backpack over her good shoulder, and turned away from the girl. This was one of those moments where the right thing was simply to leave.
But Heather wouldn’t let it go. “This isn’t over,” she shouted, grabbing Bella’s arm.
Bella tugged herself free from Heather’s grip as gently as she could, but Heather balled up her fist and stepped back, preparing to lunge.
Before she could make another move, David appeared and grappled his sister from behind, lifting her off her feet. “Calm down, sis. This won’t help anything.”
“Put me down!” Heather struggled to get free from David’s grip.
Jeremiah shoved his way through the crowd and stopped beside Bella. “You okay?”
“I’m okay.” That wasn’t entirely true. Her cheek burned like hell, her arm stung where Heather had grabbed it. Plus, there was a twinge in her shoulder like nobody’s business—and her pride was pretty much shredded.
Jeremiah turned to David, who had his hands full restraining Heather. “Get her the hell out of here, or the next time the cops show up at your doorstep, it’ll be to arrest her for assault.”


Author Bio:
Krys Fenner has been infinitely passionate about writing and helping people for as long as she can remember. To date, she has published two books, numerous poems, and is now avidly working on a fantasy series. Krys received an Associate of Arts in Psychology and is currently working on her B.A.
To find out more about Krys Fenner and her upcoming book releases, visit her official website: www.krysfenner.co

XBTBanner1

Wednesday, November 22, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: The Final Six by Alexandra Monir


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Publication Date: March 6th 2018
Publisher: HarperTeen
Genre: YA, Science Fiction, Dystopia 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: Set in the near future, this action-packed YA novel—already optioned by Sony—will take readers out of their world and on a quest to become one of six teens sent on a mission to Jupiter’s moon.

When Leo, an Italian championship swimmer, and Naomi, a science genius from California, are two of the twenty-four teens drafted into the International Space Training Camp, their lives are forever altered. After erratic climate change has made Earth a dangerous place to live, the fate of the population rests on the shoulders of the final six who will be scouting a new planet. Intense training, global scrutiny, and cutthroat opponents are only a few of the hurdles the contestants must endure in this competition.

For Leo, the prospect of traveling to Europa—Jupiter’s moon—to help resettle humankind is just the sense of purpose he’s been yearning for since losing his entire family in the flooding of Rome. Naomi, after learning of a similar space mission that mysteriously failed, suspects the ISTC isn’t being up front with them about what’s at risk.

As the race to the final six advances, the tests get more challenging—even deadly. With pressure mounting, Naomi finds an unexpected friend in Leo, and the two grow closer with each mind-boggling experience they encounter. But it’s only when the finalists become fewer and their destinies grow nearer that the two can fathom the full weight of everything at stake: the world, the stars, and their lives.
 

Tuesday, November 21, 2017

Review: Fix Me by Lisa M. Cronkhite

Publication Date: November 28th 2017
Publisher: Flux 
Genre: YA, Contemporary 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: Penelope Wryter's life has been a mess ever since her sister committed suicide a year ago. Now Pen's hooked on Fix, an illegal drug that makes her feel, think, and see differently. The hallucinations are intense, but there's one vision that keeps Pen coming back for more--Nate. He's the only person who cares about her. Too bad he's just a side effect of the drug. Pen knows she's going nowhere fast. She's desperate to change. But when she tries to say goodbye to Nate, he professes his love for her making her more confused than ever. Then, when a girl from school goes missing during a bad Fix trip, Pen realizes she may be in a lot more danger than she ever imagined. Unless Pen straightens up and faces reality quick, she might be the next missing girl on the list. 


My Rating
3/5 stars

My Review
Pen knows she needs to quit, but the thought of Nate keeps her hooked on Fix, a drug that causes hallucinations. As her trips get worse, and more girls from school go missing after taking Fix, Pen tries her hardest to stop taking the drug, until Nate is in trouble, and as the only girl that can see him, its up to Pen to try to save him.

This book was really interesting and has so much potential, but it just didn't come together like I wanted to. There was a mystery aspect with the death of other girls, and there was obviously lots of parts about drug use, and hallucinations. 

The main character and supporting characters were all interesting and well developed. Pen was a very complex character, and watching her character development was absolutely fantastic. She was really great.

This book was extremely short, I read the whole thing in a few hours. There was very little world-building, and the mystery aspect could have been more developed and better.

Overall, this book was so creative and had a lovely message and concept, but there were lots of little details that could have been fixed up and made the book so much better.

Saturday, November 18, 2017

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews. With this amazing meme, you can check out which books I've gotten this past week.

From Netgalley
S.T.A.G.S. by M.A. Bennet 
Donna Tartt's The Secret History meets Pretty Little Liars in this propulsive, edge-of-your-seat novel that explores just how far the elite at an English boarding school will go to maintain the social order.

One deadly weekend.

At St. Aidan the Great School, or S.T.A.G.S., new things--and new people--are to be avoided. Unfortunately, Greer MacDonald, token scholarship student, is very much a new person. She has just transferred to S.T.A.G.S., and finds herself ignored at best and mocked at worst by the school's most admired circle of friends, the Medievals.

So imagine Greer's surprise when this very group invites her to an exclusive weekend retreat at the private estate of the parents of their unofficial leader, Henry de Warlencourt. It's billed as a weekend of "huntin' shootin' fishin'," and rumor has it that the invitee who most impresses the group will be given the privilege of becoming a Medieval themselves.

As the weekend begins to take shape, however, it becomes apparent that beyond the luxurious trappings--the fancy clothes the maid lays out on Greer's bed, the elaborate multicourse dinners held in the Great Hall--there are predators lurking, and they're out for blood. . . .


The Rogue Queen (The Hundredth Queen #3) by Emily R. King 
Despite the odds, Kalinda has survived it all: Marriage to a tyrant. Tournaments to the death. The forbidden power to rule fire. The icy touch of a demon.

That same demon now disguises itself as Rajah Tarek, Kalinda’s late husband and a man who has never stopped haunting her. Upon taking control of the palace and the army, the demon brands Kalinda and her companions as traitors to the empire. They flee across the sea, seeking haven in the Southern Isles.

In Lestari, Kalinda’s powers are not condemned, as they are in her land. Now free to use them to protect those she loves, Kalinda soon realizes that the demon has tainted her with a cold poison, rendering her fire uncontrollable. But the lack of control may be just what she needs to send the demon back to the darkest depths of the Void.

To take back the empire, Kalinda will ally with those she distrusts—and risk losing those most loyal to her—to defeat the demon and bring peace to a divided nation.
 

Friday, November 17, 2017

Book Blitz & Giveaway: Enchant by Micalea Smeltzer


Enchant
Micalea Smeltzer
Series: The Enchanted Series #1
Publication date: November 17th 2017
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

Synopsis: Mara Pryce never imagined that her life was anything but normal and then a strange gray-eyed young man appears at her graduation. When he vanishes without a trace, she’s convinced he’s a figment of her imagination. Then he appears again and shatters her whole world.
Mara is an enchanter, part of an ancient line of Wiccan power, and a war is raging—one of good and evil—between the Enchanted and the Iniquitous.
The Iniquitous want her dead and it’s Theodore’s job as her protector to keep her safe.
When Mara and Theodore arrive at a safe house, where Mara will remain hidden while learning about her powers, they find that the real threat might be a little closer to home than they want to believe.


Author Bio:
Hi. I’m Micalea. Ma-call-e-uh. Weird name, I know. My mom must’ve known I was going to be odd even in the womb. I’ve written a lot of books. Like a lot. Don’t ask me how many, I don’t remember at this point. I have an unhealthy addiction to Diet Coke but I can’t seem to break the habit. I listen to way too much music and hedgehogs have taken over my life. Crazy is the word that best sums up my life, but it’s the good kind of crazy and I wouldn’t change it for anything.

XBTBanner1

Thursday, November 16, 2017

Review: Siege of Shadows by Sarah Raughley

Series: Effigies #2
Publication Date: November 21st 2017
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Genre: YA, Fantasy 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: There’s nowhere to hide.

Not when you’re an Effigy. No matter where they go, Maia and the other Effigies can’t escape the eyes of the press—especially not after failing to capture Saul, whose power to control the monstrous Phantoms has left the world in a state of panic. It’s been two months since Saul’s disappearance, and there’s still no sign of him, leaving the public to wonder whether the Sect—and the Effigies—are capable of protecting anyone.

When Saul suddenly surfaces in the middle of the Sahara desert, the Sect sends Maia and her friends out after him. But instead of Saul, they discover a dying soldier engineered with Effigy-like abilities. Even worse, there may be more soldiers like him out there, and it looks like the Effigies are their prime targets.

Yet the looming danger of Saul and this mysterious new army doesn’t overshadow Maia’s fear of the Sect, who ordered the death of the previous Fire Effigy, Natalya. With enemies on all sides and the world turning against them, the Effigies have to put their trust in each other—easier said than done when secrets threaten to tear them apart.
 

My Rating
4/5 stars

My Review
Warning: This book contains a huge cliffhanger ending!

Saul has escaped, and its up to Maya and the other Effigies to find him and capture him. The only problem is that he has gone off the grid for over two months, with no leads. The other problem is, that Sect employees let Saul out, meaning that the Sect can no longer be trusted. So when a mysterious dying man in the desert tells the Effigies that there are Effigie-like soldiers coming for them, the Effigies don't know who to trust, or how to get out of this mess. 

I absolutely loved the first book, so I was really excited to get my hands on this book and start reading it. Everything lived up to my expectations, except I was absolutely devastated at the cliffhanger ending. It was so good, but now I really want to read the next book! Why must the wait be so long.

Maya had fantastic character development in the first book, and even more character development in this one. While in the first book it was more physical development, this book contained a lot of emotional and mental development from Maya as she tries to control Natalya in her head, and deals with everything that Natalya has shown her in the past. She really needs to trust her own judgement in this book, and she does a wonderful job doing it.

The other Effigies are basically all the same. Chae Rin is as funny as ever, you can always count on her to lighten the mood by saying something witty. Lake is just gaining more confidence and growing as an Effigie right beside Maya, and it was so lovely to watch her development as well. And Belle, well she's just Belle. She is mysterious, brooding and sometimes even scary. All of these girls are so different from one another, but they make a wonderful team.

The world building in this story was fantastic as well, the places the girls went to were described so well that I could picture myself in the scene. Although I would have enjoyed the book more if the girls got to travel to other parts of the world.

Overall, this book is absolutely wonderful and if you loved the first one definitely pick up a copy of this book. If you like cliffhanger endings then read it right away, but if you're not a huge fan (like me) then wait till the next book is closer to publication before starting this one.

Happy Reading,
Aneta 

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: Markswoman by Rati Mehrotra


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Series: Asiana #1 
Publication Date: January 23rd 2018
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Genre: YA, Fantasy 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: Kyra is the youngest Markswoman in the Order of Kali, a highly trained sisterhood of elite warriors armed with telepathic blades. Guided by a strict code of conduct, Kyra and the other Orders are sworn to protect the people of Asiana. But to be a Markswoman, an acolyte must repudiate her former life completely. Kyra has pledged to do so, yet she secretly harbors a fierce desire to avenge her dead family.

When Kyra’s beloved mentor dies in mysterious circumstances, and Tamsyn, the powerful, dangerous Mistress of Mental Arts, assumes control of the Order, Kyra is forced on the run. Using one of the strange Transport Hubs that are remnants of Asiana’s long-lost past, she finds herself in the unforgiving wilderness of desert that is home to the Order of Khur, the only Order composed of men. Among them is Rustan, a young, disillusioned Marksman whom she soon befriends.

Kyra is certain that Tamsyn committed murder in a twisted bid for power, but she has no proof. And if she fails to find it, fails in her quest to keep her beloved Order from following Tamsyn down a dark path, it could spell the beginning of the end for Kyra--and for Asiana.

But what she doesn’t realize is that the line between justice and vengeance is razor thin . . . thin as the blade of a knife.
 

Tuesday, November 14, 2017

Book Blitz & Giveaway: Mad Magic by Nicole Conway


Mad Magic
Nicole Conway
Published by: Month9Books
Publication date: November 14th 2017
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

Synopsis: Mad Magic is a beautifully dark and rich Young Adult fantasy from Nicole Conway, bestselling author of the Dragonrider Chronicles.
Josie Barton is a high school student living in terror. Invisible creatures torment her everywhere she goes, constantly getting her into trouble at school, and even haunting her apartment. But just when Josie thinks things couldn’t get any worse . . . she meets the guy from across the hall.
Zeph Clemmont is a changeling with enemies in all the worst places, fighting to undo a curse that threatens to end his life. Survival means he will have to swallow his pride and trust Josie with all his darkest secrets.
With the help of a gun-slinging shaman and the enigmatic Prince of Nightmares, Zeph and Josie are only a heartbeat away from defeating one of the most diabolical faerie villains their world has ever known.
EXCERPT:
WHAT IS MAGIC?
“Magic is like water. It’s required for all things on this earth to live and it cycles through the world to be reused over and over again. Some things, even some people, soak up more of it than others or require more of it to live. Children are usually more attuned to it than most. They soak it up like little sponges.” Each word from his lips carried a weight I could feel hanging in the air. “Any being on earth is capable of using it, although humans lost interest and forgot how to do that a very long time ago. Most of them can’t even see it or feel it anymore. Their minds have turned to things of metal. It can be that way for faeries, too. In fact, a lot of us have fallen from our former glory to be fed by the machines of the modern world.”
A strange, wild hunger rose up in me so suddenly it made my body stiffen. If magic was real, then surely it had something to do with all the strange things that had been happening to me. I needed to know more—I needed to understand.
“Where does it come from?”
“The moon.” He paused, holding a liquor bottle in each hand as he turned to look me in the eye. “Or at least, that’s what the old songs say. No one knows for sure. But magic is raw energy that we can use as we choose. Even a small amount can accomplish miraculous or even terrible things.”


Author Bio:
NICOLE CONWAY is an author from North Alabama. She graduated from Auburn University in 2012, and has previously worked as a graphic artist. She is happily married and has one son as well as a cat and a dog. She enjoys blogging, traveling, cooking, and spending time with her family.



XBTBanner1

Monday, November 13, 2017

Review: Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh

Series: Flame in the Mist #1
Publication Date: May 16th 2016
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers 
Genre: YA, Romance, Fantasy 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: The only daughter of a prominent samurai, Mariko has always known she’d been raised for one purpose and one purpose only: to marry. Never mind her cunning, which rivals that of her twin brother, Kenshin, or her skills as an accomplished alchemist. Since Mariko was not born a boy, her fate was sealed the moment she drew her first breath.

So, at just seventeen years old, Mariko is sent to the imperial palace to meet her betrothed, a man she did not choose, for the very first time. But the journey is cut short when Mariko’s convoy is viciously attacked by the Black Clan, a dangerous group of bandits who’ve been hired to kill Mariko before she reaches the palace.

The lone survivor, Mariko narrowly escapes to the woods, where she plots her revenge. Dressed as a peasant boy, she sets out to infiltrate the Black Clan and hunt down those responsible for the target on her back. Once she’s within their ranks, though, Mariko finds for the first time she’s appreciated for her intellect and abilities. She even finds herself falling in love—a love that will force her to question everything she’s ever known about her family, her purpose, and her deepest desires.

My Rating
4/5 stars

My Review
Flame in the Mist was an absolutely wonderful read. It has a strong heroine, lots of action, a great romance and fantastic world building.

Mariko was born a girl, and because of that the only thing she's good for is to be married off to make strong alliances for her parents. As Mariko is travelling to her betrothed's palace, her carriage is ambushed and all the men killed. Lucky enough to survive the brutal murder, Mariko is alone in the forest, and nothing can be worse than an unprotected girl, vulnerable to whomever finds her first, which is exactly why Mariko choses to cut her hair, steal clothes off a dead man, and set off on her own adventure to find out exactly who tried to kill her.

I absolutely love Mariko and her personality. She is definitely one of the best characters I've seen this year. She's a feminist in a wold where being a feminist is a bad thing, but she is one anyways. I love that she knows herself so well, she's not afraid to follow her heart and I truly admire her. 

I really liked most of the side characters. They were all very different and unique, each character brought something to the story that just made it so much better. I definitely had favourites over the others, but I don't want to spoil anything so I wont be saying who.

One of my favourite things about this book was that it never got boring, there was action from the very first few chapters and as the story went on there was just so much that made you want to keep reading. The world building was also amazing. We get to see a lot of different landscapes and every time, the descriptions are so clear that you can just picture the scene as if it was playing out for you. I loved it.

Overall, I can't tell you enough how amazing this book was. The mystery was great, the world building was fantastic as well, and the romance and character development was superb. I can't wait to get my hands on the next book.

Happy Reading,
Aneta

Saturday, November 11, 2017

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews. With this amazing meme, you can check out which books I've gotten this past week.

From HarperCollins
Honor Among Thieves by Rachel Caine and Ann Aguirre 
Petty criminal Zara Cole has a painful past that’s made her stronger than most, which is why she chose life in New Detroit instead moving with her family to Mars. In her eyes, living inside a dome isn’t much better than a prison cell.

Still, when Zara commits a crime that has her running scared, jail might be exactly where she’s headed. Instead Zara is recruited into the Honors, an elite team of humans selected by the Leviathan—a race of sentient alien ships—to explore the outer reaches of the universe as their passengers.

Zara seizes the chance to flee Earth’s dangers, but when she meets Nadim, the alien ship she’s assigned, Zara starts to feel at home for the first time. But nothing could have prepared her for the dark, ominous truths that lurk behind the alluring glitter of starlight.


From Netgalley
Ever the Brave (A Clash of Kingdoms #2) by Erin Summerill 
Ever the Divided. Ever the Feared. Ever the Brave.
After saving King Aodren with her newfound Channeler powers, Britta only wants to live a peaceful life in her childhood home. Unfortunately, saving the King has created a tether between them she cannot sever, no matter how much she'd like to, and now he's insisting on making her a noble lady. And there are those who want to use Britta’s power for evil designs. If Britta cannot find a way to harness her new magical ability, her life—as well as her country—may be lost.

The stakes are higher than ever in the sequel to Ever the Hunted, as Britta struggles to protect her kingdom and her heart.

Chemistry Lessons by Meredith Goldstein
From advice columnist Meredith Goldstein, a dazzling, romantic, and emotionally resonant YA debut about a teen science whiz in Cambridge, Massachusetts, who tries to crack the chemical equation for lasting love and instead wreaks havoc on herself and the boys in her life.

For seventeen-year-old Maya, the equation for happiness is simple: a dream internship at MIT + two new science nerd friends + a perfect boyfriend = one amazing summer. Then Whit dumps her out of the blue. Maya is miserable until she discovers that her scientist mother, before she died, was conducting research on manipulating pheromones to enhance human attraction. If Maya can finish her mother’s work, maybe she can get Whit back. But when her experiment creates chaos in her love life, she realizes that maybe love and loss can’t be understood using the scientific method. Can she learn to trust the unmeasurables of love and attraction instead?

The Wicked Deep by Shea Ernshaw
Hocus Pocus and Practical Magic meets the Salem Witch trials in this haunting story about three sisters on a quest for revenge—and how love may be the only thing powerful enough to stop them.

Welcome to the cursed town of Sparrow…

Where, two centuries ago, three sisters were sentenced to death for witchery. Stones were tied to their ankles and they were drowned in the deep waters surrounding the town.

Now, for a brief time each summer, the sisters return, stealing the bodies of three weak-hearted girls so that they may seek their revenge, luring boys into the harbor and pulling them under.

Like many locals, seventeen-year-old Penny Talbot has accepted the fate of the town. But this year, on the eve of the sisters’ return, a boy named Bo Carter arrives; unaware of the danger he has just stumbled into.

Mistrust and lies spread quickly through the salty, rain-soaked streets. The townspeople turn against one another. Penny and Bo suspect each other of hiding secrets. And death comes swiftly to those who cannot resist the call of the sisters.

But only Penny sees what others cannot. And she will be forced to choose: save Bo, or save herself.
 

From Hachette
Gunslinger Girl by Lyndsay Ely
James Patterson presents a bold new heroine--a cross between Katniss Everdeen and Annie Oakley: Serendipity Jones, the fastest sharpshooter in tomorrow's West. 

Seventeen-year-old Serendipity "Pity" Jones inherited two things from her mother: a pair of six shooters and perfect aim. She's been offered a life of fame and fortune in Cessation, a glittering city where lawlessness is a way of life. But the price she pays for her freedom may be too great....
In this extraordinary debut from Lyndsay Ely, the West is once again wild after a Second Civil War fractures the U.S. into a broken, dangerous land. Pity's struggle against the dark and twisted underbelly of a corrupt city will haunt you long after the final bullet is shot.




The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

Of course I want to be like them. They’re beautiful as blades forged in some divine fire. They will live forever.

And Cardan is even more beautiful than the rest. I hate him more than all the others. I hate him so much that sometimes when I look at him, I can hardly breathe.


Jude was seven years old when her parents were murdered and she and her two sisters were stolen away to live in the treacherous High Court of Faerie. Ten years later, Jude wants nothing more than to belong there, despite her mortality. But many of the fey despise humans. Especially Prince Cardan, the youngest and wickedest son of the High King.

To win a place at the Court, she must defy him–and face the consequences.

In doing so, she becomes embroiled in palace intrigues and deceptions, discovering her own capacity for bloodshed. But as civil war threatens to drown the Courts of Faerie in violence, Jude will need to risk her life in a dangerous alliance to save her sisters, and Faerie itself.
 


What did you guys get this week? Let me know in the comments.

Thursday, November 9, 2017

Book Tour & Review: The Night Realm by Annette Marie


The Night Realm
Annette Marie
Series: Spell Weaver #1
Published by: Dark Owl Fantasy Inc.
Publication date: October 20th 2017
Genres: Adult, Urban Fantasy
Synopsis: Clio is good at all sorts of things. As a nymph, she’s great at outdoorsy nature stuff. As a nymph living in exile, she’s got the “blending in with humans” thing down pat. As a nymph living in exile because she possesses the rare ability to mimic magic, she’s had to pick up some unique survival skills.
But stealing from the most dangerous spell weavers in the Underworld? Not so much.
Unfortunately, that’s exactly what she has to do to earn a ticket back home. Conning her way into the night realm may have gone pretty well, but now she’s got a new problem. His name is Lyre and he’s a sinfully alluring incubus, a dangerously skilled spell weaver, and the only thing standing between her and stealing some damn magic.
Maneuvering around him without blowing her cover shouldn’t be that difficult, but chaos has been dogging her every step, monsters hide behind beautiful faces, and Lyre keeps saving her neck even though they’re enemies. Kind of enemies? Either way, her mission is getting complicated fast, and in the Underworld, even one mistake could prove fatal.

My Rating
4/5 stars

My Review
The Night Realm is absolutely amazing. It was funny, engaging, action packed and the romance was to die for. Reading this book makes me want to start the Steel & Stone series right away.

All Cleo wants to do is to return to her home. Exile was fun for a while, but now she would do anything to get back, and the only way she hows how is to please her half-brother Bastian. So when Bastian gives Cleo a mission to go to the Underworld and use her powers to steal spells, Cleo can't say no, even though its a mission she might not get back from.

I ended up finishing this book in one day, mostly because I was hooked right from the start. Chapter one already has tons of action that makes you want to read more, and the best part was that the chapters to come after weren't full of information loading. The story had a lovely pace, where it was fast enough to keep the reader engaged in the story, but it also contained the perfect amount of dialogue and romance.

I've come to the conclusion that Annette Marie can't make a character that I don't love. I fell in love with Cleo right from the beginning. She's really funny and very clumsy at times, but is also very powerful, but she doesn't have an arrogant side to her with all the power she carries. She is honestly such an enjoyable character! You just can't help but love her.

Since I haven't read the Steel & Stone series, this was my first time meeting Lyre. All I can say is that I'm picking up Steel & Stone right away because I need more Lyre in my life. He easily became one of my favourite characters. I couldn't help but swoon, he is just perfection. The best part about his character is that you basically have an opinion about him from the beginning, but then you realize that his story goes much deeper, and that when I really started to like his point of view. He is everything I could ever want in a male main character.

Annette Marie is a master in world building. The world she created is absolutely wonderful and I can't wait to find out more about it.

Overall, I absolutely loved this book and will definitely continue on with this series as well as start the Steel & Stone series to get my fix before the next book comes out. If you've enjoyed Annette Marie's books so far you will love this one, and if this is your first one then you are in for an enjoyable ride. 


Author Bio:
Annette Marie is the author of the Amazon best-selling Steel & Stone series, which includes Goodreads Choice Award nominee Yield the Night, and fantasy trilogy Red Winter. Her first love is fantasy, but fast- paced urban fantasy and tantalizing forbidden romances are her guilty pleasures. She lives in the frozen winter wasteland of Alberta, Canada (okay, it's not quite that bad) with her comparatively sensible husband and their furry minion of darkness—sorry, cat—Caesar. When not writing, she can be found elbow-deep in one art project or another while blissfully ignoring all adult responsibilities.

XBTBanner1

Wednesday, November 8, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Series: Untitled Trilogy #1
Publication Date: April 24th 2018
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Genre: YA, Fantasy 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD 

Synopsis: Theodosia was six when her country was invaded and her mother, the Queen of Flame and Fury, was murdered before her eyes. Ten years later, Theo has learned to survive under the relentless abuse of the Kaiser and his court as the ridiculed “Ash Princess.” Pretending to be empty-headed and naive when she's not enduring brutal whippings, she pushes down all other thoughts but one: Keep the Kaiser happy and he will keep you safe.

When the Kaiser forces her to execute her last hope of rescue, Theo can't keep her feelings and memories pushed down any longer. She vows revenge, throwing herself into a plot to seduce and murder the Kaiser's warrior son with the help of a group of magically gifted and volatile rebels. But Theo doesn't expect to develop feelings for the Prinz. Or for her rebel allies to challenge her friendship with the one person who's been kind to her throughout the last hopeless decade: her heart's sister, Cress.

Cornered into impossible choices and unable to trust even those who are on her side, Theo will have to decide how far she's willing to go to save her people and how much of herself she's willing to sacrifice to become queen.
 
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...