Thursday, January 17, 2019

Tour & Giveaway: Prodigy


Prodigy
The Giver of Life Trilogy Book 3
by Kristy Centeno
Genre: YA Paranormal 
Goodreads ~ Amazon ~ B&N ~ Kobo

Synopsis: Leah Parker’s fate had always been controlled by others—who she loved and who she lost. Five years after the tragic murder of her daughter’s father, she’s done everything in her power to protect her little girl from the outside world. But she’s rebelled against fate in the past and no act of defiance goes unpunished in the Enchanter community.
The ultimate power wants to correct the damage done by Jae and the only way they can do that is by getting rid of her special child—a child destined to replace all branches of Enchanter magic one day.
But, Leah isn’t willing to go down without a fight. She will do anything to save what Jae died to protect, even if she must turn against the Circle of Elders. But when her first love, Brandon Morris walks back into her life, Leah knows nothing will ever be the same again.
Leah must confront her past, before she and her daughter are erased from her family line. She must get over her guilt and rely on Brandon to ensure her daughter’s survival. But will the pain from their past destroy their friendship forever? Or will their old bond hold them together and carry them through what’s ahead?


Enchantress
The Giver of Life Trilogy #2
Goodreads ~ Amazon ~ Apple ~ B&N ~ Kobo

Synopsis: Fate brought them together. Will evil break them apart?
Leah Parker’s visit to her hometown is supposed to bring her closer to the truth behind her identity. What she doesn’t anticipate is the handsome stranger with almond eyes claiming to be her Pair.
Her world once again upturned with the arrival of the man chosen to be her life partner, Leah is pulled between the feelings she’s always had for the friend she left behind, and those for the compelling stranger determined to save her from certain death—at whatever the cost.
With an ancient evil out to finish what it started twenty-one years before, will Leah find peace within her troubled mind and heart to fight back and win? Or will her disconnection with her newfound powers hinder her only chance at survival?

His sacrifice…is her salvation.



Enchanter
The Giver of Life Trilogy #1
Goodreads ~ Amazon ~ Apple ~ B&N ~ Kobo

Synopsis: They have a past. But will they have a future?
Leah Parker is resilient and hardworking. She’d always prided herself in maintaining a level head, even under pressure. Everything changes when she begins to see strange apparitions and hear ghostly voices on the morning of her birthday.
In a blink of the eyes, Leah’s life takes a drastic turn that spirals her into the unknown. Something is out to get her, but she’s unsure if she’s losing her mind, or the faces and demands of the dead are real. Unable to find the answers she needs, she has no choice but to rely on ex-best friend, Brandon Morris, for help.
But as she will soon discover, Brandon has his own secrets. Some of which defy logic and only add to the mystery surrounding Leah. And mix feelings between the two complicate matters by getting in the way of what they really want, and what they must do.
Can Brandon lighten the load on her by figuring out what or who wants her dead? Or will their past history get in the way of the storm brewing just beyond Leah’s grasp?



Kristy Centeno loves to spin tales of creatures that go bump in the night, with a sprinkle of romance to top them off. Her passion for writing stems from a lifelong enjoyment of reading and the pleasure derived from the magical worlds created by authors like her. She prefers her female leads strong, independent, and stubborn who will stop at nothing to save their loved ones and protect those they care for.
Kristy currently resides in Pennsylvania with her five kids and a trio of noisy parakeets. When she’s not working or writing, she juggles her free time between raising a handful of minions and pursuing other career goals.


Website * Blog * Facebook * Twitter * Pinterest * Google+ * Amazon * Goodreads

Interview


Have you written any other books that are not published? 
  • Yes, I do, and I honestly don’t know if they will ever be published. Some books I wrote were back when I first started writing and wasn’t very good at it. I’ve improved quite a bit since then, but still have so much to learn. Perhaps when I get to a point where I feel like I’m an amazing writer—if that day ever comes—then I’ll give them another go and rewrite them before seeing about getting them published. For now, they just sit in my USB, waiting to get a home. 

What did you edit out of this book? 
  • Brandon Morris was supposed to have a deeper presence in Leah’s life, but I felt it was too predictable. Too run of the mill. However, when I introduced Jae into the mix, I hadn’t expected him to take over the way he did, but I fell in love with his character and knew I wanted him to have more of an impact on her life than originally planned. 

How long have you been writing? 
  • Going on six years now. 

Do the characters all come to you at the same time or do some of them come to you as you write? 
  • Some I come up with ahead of starting the book. Others come as I’m already invested in the story. I guess it really depends on how much I’ve outlined or plotted to begin with and what direction the book goes once it’s started. 

Do you see writing as a career? 
  • Yes. I’ve put more emphasis in making writing my second career. Unfortunately, I have less time to dedicate to it than I’d like. But I’ve never abandoned my dream of evolving as a writer. I hope to see my books in bookstores one day. 

Do you read yourself and if so what is your favorite genre? 
  • I do read. I try to read at least 3-4 books per month depending on how much free time I have. However, it doesn’t always work out that way. But my favorite genres to read are paranormal, thrillers, horror, romance, historical romance, some fantasy, and dystopian.


Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts, guest posts and a giveaway!








Wednesday, January 16, 2019

Tour & Giveaway: Kill Code by Luna Kayne



Pub. Date: January 22, 2019 
Publisher: Kayne Publishing 
Formats: Paperback, eBook 
Pages: 317 
Find it: Goodreads, Amazon, Amazon Canada 


Synopsis: HOW FAR WOULD YOU GO TO PROTECT THE ONES YOU LOVE?

THEN

Ten years ago, a covert government operation gone wrong separated Jack from Jessa, the girl he promised he would never leave.

NOW

Jack's special forces team receives a tip, leading them to a remote farmhouse in search of a group of hackers led by the elusive Zane who work for the same person he holds responsible for Jessa’s death, ten years earlier.

Past and present collide as what was once lost is now standing in front of him and appears to be working for the very evil he is trying to end.

But is everything as it seems as secrets begin to unravel and pieces are put back in their proper places?

And will the last missing piece, the answer to all of their problems, be found in time?

*** Due to some dark and explicit themes in this book, it is recommended for mature audiences only. ***

* Kill Code is the first book in a trilogy.

Excerpt
Shit.

My skin instantly prickles at the sound of my property alarm going off on my phone. Someone is within our perimeter.

How did they find us so quickly?

This was supposed to be our vacation. I worked for months to set up a solid trail that would lead anyone trying to find us far away from here on a wild goose chase so we could have a few weeks of down time. Not the two days we’re at now.

Judging by the distance of the dust kicking up from the road, I’d say we only have a couple of minutes to get out of here and Dana is upstairs. Too far away for me to yell for her without being heard.

Looking out the window, I see movement out front, just past our cars. If it was remotely possible to make it to them, our backup supplies would hold us over for a few days while we disappear again.

That’s been our life for as long as I can remember. Jumping around, covering our tracks, and working under everyone’s radar.

I just wanted to give Dana a break. Time to hang out away from our work with Zane. A chance to watch movies and eat all the junk food I stocked the place with.

I even bought us a little boat to take out on the lake behind the property.

The boat. That’s it.

Maybe we can make it to the boat. It’s through the trees out back. Maybe they aren’t aware of it.

“What’s going on?” Dana’s voice snaps me out of planning our escape as she appears from upstairs.

“Ssshh,” I hush and she instantly freezes. “No time to explain. Perimeter is breached. We only have minutes before they’re here. I’ve alerted Zane.” I move to the side window and count three men crossing the field toward the back and sides of the house. “Dammit. I’m going to try to take one out. That might open up an escape.”

“Who are they?” Dana asks as she moves away from the windows, panic appearing to set in.

“Don’t know. But there’s no reason for anyone to be here. So it’s not good. Just see what they want. Maybe it’s local law enforcement, then you can ask them to leave the property. If it isn’t, you’ll need to get out of here. If you can get away, head straight out back and run through the trees. I have a boat on the lake. It was going to be a surprise. Just get in and go. Keys are in a holder beside the wheel.” I grab a metal statue of an elephant and weigh it in my hands. This’ll do.

“But what about you?” Her eyes are wide now. She’s never come this close to being captured before and I know she’s worried.

“You know if I can make it, I’ll be there before you. If I’m not, just go. You know what to do when you get in cell range.” She nods at my words and I turn to jog across the living room towards the steps. “Just stay cool. Buy some time. I’ll be right back.”

About the Author:
Luna Kayne is a multi-published author in the romance and erotica genres. Her creative works include novels, novelettes and a book of poetry and prose.

Within the romance genre, her books and short stories are also listed under suspense, paranormal, BDSM and contemporary.


The woman behind Luna Kayne’s pen name has been writing for online publications since 2005. She writes from her home on an acreage near Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada.
Website |Twitter | Facebook | Instagram |Amazon Author Page | BookBub | Goodreads




Giveaway Details
3 winners will win an eBook of KILL CODE, International.

Giveaway 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:
Week One:
1/14/2019- Simply Daniel RadcliffeReview
1/14/2019- Texan Holly ReadsExcerpt
1/14/2019-The Little BookwormReview

1/15/2019- Bookish RantingsSpotlight
1/15/2019- BookHoundsExcerpt
1/15/2019-Lisa Loves LiteratureSpotlight

1/16/2019- Angelic Book ReviewsExcerpt
1/16/2019- JrsbookreviewsExcerpt

1/17/2019- Smada's Book SmackSpotlight
1/17/2019- ColorimetryExcerpt

1/18/2019- TMBA Corbett Tries to WriteSpotlight
1/18/2019- Two Chicks on BooksExcerpt

Week Two:
1/21/2018- A Gingerly ReviewExcerpt
1/21/2018- Good Choice ReadingExcerpt

1/22/2018- Tales of A Ravenous ReaderExcerpt
1/22/2018- ParajunkeeExcerpt

1/23/2018- Owl Always Be ReadingExcerpt
1/23/2018- Adventures Thru WonderlandExcerpt

1/24/2018- Jaime's WorldExcerpt
1/24/2019- Books a Plenty Book Reviews-Playlist

1/25/2018- BookbriefsExcerpt

Friday, January 11, 2019

Tour & Excerpt: Delusion by Amy Crandall


Delusion
by Amy Crandall
Genre: YA Psychological Thriller

Synopsis: As she waits to give her statement in one of the interrogation rooms of Arcata Police Department, Abigale recites the same line over and over inside her head.



I did not kill anyone.

I did not kill anyone.

But there’s a trail of bodies, and it leads straight to her. The events that brought her to this very moment all point to one thing…her guilt.

She must convince Detective Collins of her innocence, but how can she explain her ties to the victims, and the evidence that has her name written all over it?

Then there’s the mysterious Facebook profile. DarkHeart434.

Who is DarkHeart434? And why does it seem like this person has all the answers, including the identity of the real murderer?

As pieces of the puzzle start to come together, everything about Abigale’s life begins to unravel—her past, her present…and even her self-proclaimed innocence.


Excerpt
Abigale looked down at her hands, which both shook. But from what? Jitters? Shock? Fright? Pain? She
wasn’t able to decide.
She refocused on the door that both detectives had disappeared behind. What did that cop have to tell Collins
that she couldn’t be in the room for? Could it be something about her mom? Maybe her dad? Her stomach
churned at the thought.
The analog clock that hung on one of the bland walls was beginning to drive her insane. The constant ticking
noise that counted every second she was in the room rattled around her brain. Abigale fought the urge to rip it
from the nail it was suspended from and smash it on the floor. She pictured the glass face shattering on the tile,
the small gears and parts sliding across the floor in a desperate attempt to flee her anger. Abigale would have
already done it if she knew Collins wouldn’t make her pay for a new one.
After enduring a few minutes of excruciating silence with only her tortured thoughts and the ticking noise of
the analog clock, Collins re-entered, his face ashen.
“What’s wrong?” Abigale asked, her heart climbing into her throat. The tears that had been streaming down
her cheeks were long dried.
The detective shook his head, taking a seat at the table. “It’s nothing. I’ll tell you when I have more
information. No sense in worrying you yet.”
“Yet?” Abigale said. She reached for his arm, her fingers wrapping around his wrist. “No, I want to know
now.”
He raised an eyebrow.
“Please.”
Collins sighed, glancing down where she squeezed his arm. He removed her pale, shaky hand from his wrist
and placed it back on her side of the table. “I’ll make you a deal. You tell me what I want to know, and I’ll
inform you of what’s going on.”
Abigale’s hands curled into fists as the memories flooded back again. “No, I can’t,” she said in a small voice.
“Please don’t make me do this.”

Amy Crandall is an avid reader and novelist born and raised in British Columbia, Canada. She began writing in elementary school, publishing her first story on Wattpad.com at the age of thirteen. With the support of her loved ones and newfound friends on the site, Amy continued to share her thoughts and interests in the form of storytelling.



Before her Wattpad.com days, she was published in A Celebration of Poets - Summer 2012 (Creative Communication, 2012) for her poem My Garden. That experience only drove her desire to further pursue writing. Her first full-length novel, "Delusions", was a featured story on Wattpad.com, reaching #7 in the mystery/thriller genre, and surpassing 115,000 reads, before its publishing.

When she isn't envisioning a new story plot, Amy can be found camping with loved ones, getting lost in a great read, jamming to her favourite tunes, or giving in to her craving of Timmies' iced lemonades.





Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts, guest posts and a giveaway!






Saturday, January 5, 2019

Book Blitz & Giveaway: Power of Five by Alex Lidell



I am so excited that the POWER OF FIVE Series by Alex Lidell is complete with LERA OF LUNOS available now and that I get to share the news!
If you haven’t yet heard about this wonderful series by Author Alex Lidell, be sure to check out all the details below.
This blitz also includes a giveaway for a $10 Amazon GC, International, A set of the eBooks, International, & a POWER OF FIVE Journal, US only, courtesy of Alex and Rockstar Book Tours. So if you’d like a chance to win, enter in the Rafflecopter at the bottom of this post.

Title: LERA OF LUNOS (Power of Five #4)
Author: Alex Lidell
Pub. Date: January 4, 2019
Publisher: Danger Bearing Press
Formats: Paperback, eBook
Pages: 192
Find it: GoodreadsAmazon


Read For FREE With Kindle Unlimited!

Two immortal realms on brink of war. One mortal standing in their way.

With the quint squaring off against the king of Slait, Lera is running out of time to tame her feral magic. Worse still, just when the quint must weave together to survive, demons from Tye’s past surface to tear them apart. Demons he fears facing, let alone sharing with Lera.

But when Griorgi makes a move that no one expects, throwing River, Shade, and Coal’s lives into question, the clock runs out. Lera and Tye have no choice but to fight their battles within—or risk losing Lunos and their quint forever.

LERA OF LUNOS is a full-length reverse-harem fantasy novel, the stunning finale to the Amazon-bestselling, KU-All Star POWER OF FIVE series.

Title: TRIAL OF THREE (Power of Five #3)
Author: Alex Lidell
Pub. Date: September 26, 2018
Publisher: Danger Bearing Press
Formats: Paperback, eBook
Pages: 192
Find it: GoodreadsAmazon

Read For FREE With Kindle Unlimited!

Four cords of power. Three trials. Two soul-crushing secrets. 

For Lera, training has never been so hard. With the males’ power roaring in her veins and River’s cold demand that she master the magic before the third trial, something has to give. Worse still, River is keeping something from her. Something about his past and Lunos’s future.

For River and Coal, the past must stay buried. Though one male’s nightmare sits on a throne and the other’s hides in his soul, they are equally unprepared for Lera’s startling determination to undress the truth.

But when Mors’s Emperor Jawrar makes a play for Lunos, neither Lera’s fledgling magic nor the males’ old wounds can remain untouched—not if their world is to survive.

TRIAL OF THREE is a full-length reverse-harem fantasy novel, third in the Amazon bestselling, KU-All Star POWER OF FIVE series. 

Title: MISTAKE OF MAGIC (Power Of Five #2)
Author: Alex Lidell
Pub. Date: June 29, 2018
Publisher: Danger Bearing Press
Formats: Paperback, eBook
Pages: 193
Find it: GoodreadsAmazon

Read For FREE With Kindle Unlimited!

Three trials stand between Lera and exile. Unless the training kills her first.

Quint magic has never chosen a human before, and the Elders Council is convinced Lera is a mistake. 

When the quint refuses to be cleaved apart, the enraged elders give them a choice: exile from Lunos or demotion to the lowest of trainees. Subject again to the humiliations and deadly trials they endured centuries ago, the males now face a new challenge—training Lera to survive. 

River, Shade, Coal, and Tye will do whatever it takes to keep Lera safe. But Lera will do whatever she must to keep them together—even if it means putting herself in mortal danger.


Title: POWER OF FIVE
Author: Alex Lidell
Pub. Date: May 4, 2018
Publisher: Danger Bearing Press
Formats: Paperback, eBook
Pages: 312
Find it: GoodreadsAmazon

Read For FREE With Kindle Unlimited!


Four elite fae warriors. One mortal female. A magical bond they can’t allow—or resist. 

Orphaned and sold to a harsh master, Lera’s life is about mucking stalls, avoiding her master’s advances, and steering clear of the mystical forest separating the mortal and fae worlds. Only fools venture into the immortal realms, and only dark rumors come out... Until four powerful fae warriors appear at Lera’s barn. 

River, Coal, Tye, and Shade have waited a decade for their new fifth to be chosen, the wounds from their quint brother’s loss still raw. But the magic has played a cruel trick, bonding the four immortal warriors to... a female. A mortal female. 

Distractingly beautiful and dangerously frail, Lera can only be one thing—a mistake. Yet as the males bring Lera back to the fae lands to sever the bond, they discover that she holds more power over their souls than is safe for anyone... especially for Lera herself. 

Power of Five is a full-length reverse-harem fantasy novel. 





Excerpt from LERA OF LUNOS:
“There was rather little incentive to follow the rules at that point,” Tye said simply. “And smuggling pays well.” He swallowed painfully, unable to look at her for this part, to see in her eyes the moment she realized he’d been right to push her away. “Now do you see why I thought you should go with Shade? If it were up to me, Lilac Girl, I would never let you out of my sight for the rest of my life. But it isn’t up to me, especially now that you know the full truth. You deserve better, Lera. You deserve the world.”

Silence trailed at the heels of Tye’s words, the cave around them a capsule of secrets. Each memory shoving itself insistently from its hiding place in the depths of Tye’s mind drove another needle into his soul. Fingers tightening on the rough stone, Tye inhaled the damp, mossy air and awaited judgment.

Several heartbeats passed before Lera rose to her knees, her cool hands gripping Tye’s face. Tipping it to look so deeply into his eyes that Tye felt his soul bared beneath her intense chocolate gaze. Stars, if the girl could make him feel so vulnerable with one look, what could she do with a word? A step? Fear crackled along his veins, but when he tried to pull back, to escape for a bit of air, Lera would not let him.

“I see you, Tye.” Her words rang gently through the cave, stopping Tye’s heart. “And I want you. Not for play. I want you for you, forever.”

Tye’s blood stirred, waking him to Lera’s words. She wanted him.

She wanted him.

The way he’d always longed for her but had been so certain she would never feel in return. He stared into her eyes, hardly daring to believe it.

“And I want forever to start now, Tye,” she said quietly.



About Alex:
Alex Lidell is the Amazon Breakout Novel Awards finalist author of THE CADET OF TILDOR (Penguin, 2013). She is an avid horseback rider, a (bad) hockey player, and an ice-cream addict. Born in Russia, Alex learned English in elementary school, where a thoughtful librarian placed a copy of Tamora Pierce’s ALANNA in Alex’s hands. In addition to becoming the first English book Alex read for fun, ALANNA started Alex’s life long love for YA fantasy books. Alex is represented by Leigh Feldman of Leigh Feldman Literary. She lives in Washington, DC.

Join Alex's newsletter for news, bonus content and sneak peeks: www.subscribepage.com/TIDES 



Giveaway Details:


1 winner will win a $10 Amazon GC International.
1 winner will receive a POWER OF FIVE Journal, US Only.
1 winner will receive the complete POWER OF FIVE series in eBooks, International.




Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Review: Empress of All Seasons by Emiko Jean

Series: Empress of All Seasons #1
Publication Date: November 6th 2018
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Genre: YA, Fantasy 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: In a palace of illusions, nothing is what it seems.

Each generation, a competition is held to find the next empress of Honoku. The rules are simple. Survive the palace’s enchanted seasonal rooms. Conquer Winter, Spring, Summer, and Fall. Marry the prince. All are eligible to compete—all except yōkai, supernatural monsters and spirits whom the human emperor is determined to enslave and destroy. 

Mari has spent a lifetime training to become empress. Winning should be easy. And it would be, if she weren't hiding a dangerous secret. Mari is a yōkai with the ability to transform into a terrifying monster. If discovered, her life will be forfeit. As she struggles to keep her true identity hidden, Mari’s fate collides with that of Taro, the prince who has no desire to inherit the imperial throne, and Akira, a half-human, half-yōkai outcast.

Torn between duty and love, loyalty and betrayal, vengeance and forgiveness, the choices of Mari, Taro, and Akira will decide the fate of Honoku in this beautifully written, edge-of-your-seat YA fantasy.

My Rating
3/5 stars

My Review
Empress of All Seasons is a beautiful tale of Japanese heritage. I was extremely excited for this story and while I loved most of it, it definitely had a few setbacks.

Mari is an Animal Wife, a yokai that transforms into a horrible monster and can trick men easily. Animal Wives are known for their beauty, but all Mari has heard her entire life is that she is plain. Knowing her fate, Mari chose to train to become an empress, but in order to do so she must first pass a competition where fierce female warriors are sent into four rooms where they have to battle against the elements of Summer, Fall, Winter and Spring to prove that they are the equal match for the prince and deserve the honour of being Empress. The problem is that the emperor despises all yokai and demands all yokai in the palace to be enslaved by collars that cause immense pain and drain their powers. Mari must hide her true nature while winning the trust of the prince, and becoming the empress of all seasons. 

I'm not going to lie, I was a bit dissapointed in the direction this story went. In the first 3/4 of the book, I fell in love with Mari and the world that the author created. The story is very unique and quite interesting. Not only do you get a strong female character but also a very creative fantasy world. The writing, and the characters were perfect. At first I thought I was going to hate the competition part of the story, as I believed that it would be another tale where women have to fight against other women, but one of the rules were that the contestants couldn't harm one another, and we actually get to see Mari make friends and work with other contestants to get ahead. I was so incredibly impressed by this story I thought this was going to be a 5 star read for sure.

In the last quarter of the book, the story took a huge turn. It went from being a beautiful tale to a cliche story that made you roll your eyes because you knew exactly what was going to happen next. The ending felt incredibly rushed. There were parts of the story where we skipped a day or two in the timeline because the characters were "setting up." It felt like an essay you would write during an exam where you write an amazing first half and then once the teacher yells that time is almost up you write whatever comes to mind and don't really plan anything anymore. The last quarter was an absolute mess, that didn't fit the style of the beauty of the beginning. It really turned the book off for me.

I will definitely continue to read this series because I do love Mari and the world that the author created, but I sure hope that the author takes her time and slows things down to go back to the beautiful story as was in the first part of the novel.

Happy Reading,
Aneta
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...