Tuesday, March 12, 2019

Tour & Giveaway: Fated Mates


Fated Mates Anthology
Genre: Paranormal Romance and RH Shifter
with stories by:
Ivy Quinn || Angelique Armae || Sarah Biglow and Molly Zenk || Brantwijn Serrah || Bella Andrews || USA Today bestselling author Shelique Lize || Julie Trettel || Khardine Gray || Valia Lind || April Canavan || Keira Blackwood and Liza Street || Athena Phoenix || JS Bright and Holly Holston || Candace Sams || Heather Young-Nichols and J.A. Hardt || Crystal Ash || Sarah Zolton Arthur || Daniella Clark || C. J. Beaumont || Miranda Harvey and Cate Alexander || Aria Adams || Elena Gray and Kelli McCracken || AJ Anders and Amanda Perry || Erica Gerald Mason

Seductive supernaturals. Steamy reverse harems. A collection that’s destined to make you fall in love.



Alpha females, powerful packs, sexy shifters, and dark immortals war for dominance in these 23 addictive, entrancing tales.



Join USA Today bestselling authors along with hot new talent as they bring you the Paranormal Romance and Reverse Harem boxed set you've been waiting for.



Don’t let destiny pass you by. One-click now and claim your Fated Mates today!


**23 stories for only .99 cents!!**




**scroll through the slideshow to find out more about the authors!!**




Want some freebies? Here's two awesome anthologies that are tied to the Fated Mates set!!

 
    Fate's Call                                Fierce & Fated
Amazon * Apple * B&N            Amazon * Apple * B&N * Kobo





Follow the tour HERE!









Friday, March 1, 2019

Tour & Review: The Dysasters by P.C. and Kristin Cast


Series: The Disasters #1
Publication Date: February 26th, 2019
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Genera: YA, Fantasy 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ B&N

Synopsis: P. C. and Kristin Cast, the #1 New York Times bestselling authors of the House of Night phenomenon, return to the scene with The Dysasters - the first action-packed novel in a new paranormal fantasy series. 

Foster Stewart knows she's different. Her life has never been "normal." Talking to plants and controlling cloud formations aren't things most seventeen year olds are into. Tate "Nighthawk" Taylor is perfect. Star quarterback and all around dreamy boy next door he never thought about his "extra" abilities. What quarterback wouldn't want night vision? That's not weird, right? It's cool! 

But on the night of their first meeting a deadly tornado brings them together and awakens their true abilities - the power to control the element air. Unbeknown to Tate and Foster, they are the first in a group of teens that were genetically manipulated before birth to bond with the elements. Which truly sucks for Foster, as she has to face the fact that Dr. Rick Stewart, her beloved scientist father, betrayed her and now wants to use her and the others for his own nefarious world domination plot. 

Foster and Tate must stop Dr. Stewart and his minions before he destroys their lives and the world.

My Rating 
4/5 stars

My Review
The Dysasters was a great book, I definitely recommend it to fans of young adult fantasy novels.

Foster has always known she was different, especially with her little jedi tricks where she could control things slightly with her mind. On Foster's 18th birthday, she runs into Tate, a boy that happens to share her birthday and his own special powers of seeing in the dark. When the two finally meet, a tornado erupts out of no where, destroying the field they are standing on and killing both Foster's adoptive mother and both of Tate's parents. Foster's mother final words were that Foster's adoptive father is alive, he faked his own death and is now an evil man, and he's coming for both Foster and Tate, as their powers are intertwined and now that they are 18, they have come to their full powers, and Foster's father wants nothing more than to control them.

I must say that I am surprisingly impressed with this book. I've previously read books by these authors, about 6-7 years ago and I wasn't overly impressed. This book on the other hand is definitely an improvement, not only does it contain much more diversity in this book, but the writing and the storyline was so much better. I am happy to see that the author's writing has improved over the years.

While I loved both the main characters, and was very happy with their storyline and character development, there were moments where the characters just felt a little unnatural and not relatable at all. In the beginning of the book, Tate loses his parents and acts very strangely. Don't get me wrong, he was devastated, but he mostly just focused on staying in one place and helping other people. This seemed a bit unnatural for me, I would believe the natural response would to be hysterical or to run away as fast as possible and mourn. There were many more moments like these throughout the novel, which I won't explain due to spoilers, but I think the authors could have done a better job of making the characters a little more realistic.

Overall, I enjoyed this book and was impressed with the authors, the one thing that would have made this book a 5/5 star would have been minor changes to the characters and how realistic they felt. I'm looking forward to continuing this series.



About The Authors

#1 New York Times & #1 USA Today bestselling author P.C. Cast was born in the Midwest, and, after her tour in the USAF, she taught high school for 15 years before retiring to write full time. PC is a member of the Oklahoma Writers Hall of Fame. Her novels have been awarded the prestigious: Oklahoma Book Award, YALSA Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers, Romantic Times Reviewers' Choice Award, Booksellers' Best, and many, many more. Ms. Cast is an experienced teacher and talented speaker who lives in Oregon near her fabulous daughter, her adorable pack of dogs, her crazy Maine Coon, and a bunch of horses.

Kristin Cast is a #1 New York Times and #1 USA Today bestselling author who teams with her mother to write the wildly successful House of Night series. She has editorial credits, a thriving t-shirt line, and a passion for all things paranormal. When away from her writing desk, Kristin loves going on adventures with her friends, family, and significant other, playing with her dogs (Grace Kelly and Hobbs the Tiny Dragon), and is currently obsessed with her baby.

Giveaway
Enter for a chance to win 1 of 20 hardcover copies!



Friday, February 8, 2019

Tour & Guest Post: The Cassie Tam Files


Addict
The Cassie Tam Files Book 1
by Matt Doyle
Genre: SciFi, Crime Noir, Clean Lesfic


Synopsis: When PI Cassie Tam is hired to investigate the death of a local virtual reality junkie, she thinks it will be easy money. In New Hopeland, VR junkies die every day, and the local PD already declared it an accidental overdose on synthetic stimulants. But the more she digs, the more that things don’t add up.

To make things even more complicated, her client, the deceased’s sister Lori, is a Tech Shifter – someone who uses a metal exoskeleton to roleplay as an animal – and Cassie has always been wary of that community. That wouldn’t be a problem if Lori wasn’t fast becoming the first person she’s been genuinely attracted to since splitting with her ex.
Easy money, huh? Yeah, right.






The Fox, The Dog and The King
The Cassie Tam Files Book 2

Synopsis: When PI Cassie Tam and her girlfriend Lori try to make up for their recent busy schedules with a night out at the theatre to watch the Tech Shift performer Kitsune, the last thing they expected was for Cassie to get a job offer. But some people are never off the clock, and by the end of the evening, Cassie has been drawn into a mundane but highly paid missing pet case. Unfortunately, in New Hopeland City, even something as simple as little lost dog can lead you down some dark paths.

Until now, Cassie wasn’t aware that there even was a rabbit hole, let alone how far down it goes.





LV48
The Cassie Tam Files Book 3

Synopsis: New Hopeland City may be the birthplace of Tech Shifter gear, but it isn’t the only place that likes to blend technology with folklore. Now, a new nightmare is stalking the streets…
When PI Cassie Tam is attacked on the way home one night, she expects the police to get involved. What she doesn’t expect is to be forced into acting as bait to lure out a lunatic in a tech-suit that’s literally out for blood. But past actions have consequences, and doing so may be the only way she can get a clean slate from the city’s law makers.
If only that didn’t mean having to face down a wannabe vampire.






Is Silence Golden?
Writers tend to fall broadly into two categories: those that need silence to write, and those that prefer to have some background noise. Me personally, I fall into the ‘needs noise’ category. See, I’ve tried to write in silence, but it just doesn’t work. Why? Because I’m easily distracted.
That probably sounds a little odd, right? I’m easily distracted, yet I need an auditory distraction to write. Here’s the thing though. My mind is naturally very busy. Whether I’m writing, cooking, cleaning, or pretty much anything else, it tends to wander. It’s like I can’t help but look for distractions no matter what I’m doing. So, when I tried writing in silence, I found that I’d manage a few lines, then start looking around the room and listening out for things going on outside. Then I’d get back to it, and after a few more lines, I’d start thinking about something completely unrelated. It was absolutely maddening.
Then I discovered how useful music was for me. With music playing in the background, my mind has a pre-made distraction running to focus on. With that in place, the worse that happens is that I end up acknowledging that music is playing and just carry on. That I can pick playlists of songs that fit with the feel of the scene that I’m writing is a great help too as it gets me into the right mood for the action on the page.
Now, this rarely works if the music is playing on the TV. Sometimes, if it’s a live performance that’s fairly stripped down, it won’t matter. If it’s a big show or a music video though, I get drawn to the visuals. As such, I tend to play the music in the background on the laptop, as the only visuals in front of me is then the slowly growing pile of words in front of me.

So there we go. I get distracted far too easily, so need to set up a singular distraction to distract me from getting distracted by other distractions, or I can’t write. Nothing like keeping it simple, eh?

Matt Doyle is a speculative fiction author from the UK and identifies as pansexual and genderfluid. Matt has spent a great deal of time chasing dreams, a habit which has led to success in a great number of fields. To date, this has included spending ten years as a professional wrestler, completing a range of cosplay projects, and publishing multiple works of fiction.
These days, Matt can be found working on multiple novels and stories, blogging about pop culture, and plotting and planning far too many projects.




Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts, guest posts and a giveaway!






Monday, February 4, 2019

Review: Slayer by Kiersten White

Series: Slayer #1
Publication Date: January 8th, 2019
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Genre: YA, Fantasy 
Amazon ~ Goodreads 

Synopsis: Into every generation a Slayer is born…

Nina and her twin sister, Artemis, are far from normal. It’s hard to be when you grow up at the Watcher’s Academy, which is a bit different from your average boarding school. Here teens are trained as guides for Slayers—girls gifted with supernatural strength to fight the forces of darkness. But while Nina’s mother is a prominent member of the Watcher’s Council, Nina has never embraced the violent Watcher lifestyle. Instead she follows her instincts to heal, carving out a place for herself as the school medic.

Until the day Nina’s life changes forever.

Thanks to Buffy, the famous (and infamous) Slayer that Nina’s father died protecting, Nina is not only the newest Chosen One—she’s the last Slayer, ever. Period.

As Nina hones her skills with her Watcher-in-training, Leo, there’s plenty to keep her occupied: a monster fighting ring, a demon who eats happiness, a shadowy figure that keeps popping up in Nina’s dreams…

But it’s not until bodies start turning up that Nina’s new powers will truly be tested—because someone she loves might be next.

One thing is clear: Being Chosen is easy. Making choices is hard.

My Rating
4/5 stars

My Review

Perfect for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

Athena (Nina) and Artemis are twin sisters that grew up in the Watcher Academy after their father was killed while protecting Buffy. Right before all magic was destroyed on Earth, Nina risked her life to protect her twin sister and activated her Slayer powers, becoming the last Slayer on Earth. Nina is a healer and is viewed as the weaker of the twins since her mother pushed her to be a medic rather than train to fight to protect future slayers. Now that Nina is a Slayer, her odds have turned. With incredible new strength and senses, her friends and family now have to see Nina in a different way, where she becomes their leader and takes on vampires and demons to protect the academy and the rest of the world safe from evil forces.

I'm a huge fan of Kiersten White, so even though I've never watched Buffy the Vampire Slayer, I knew I had to get my hands on this book. I sincerely enjoyed the story, the world and the plot, but unfortunately there were some characters and the relationships they had with Nina that I didn't quite enjoy.

Nina goes through an incredible self discovery and gains confidence throughout this book. She goes from the shy and weak girl who believes that she's the least favourite twin, to a strong woman that follows her instincts and isn't afraid to do what is right. I loved Nina as the main character, and I absolutely loved her character building. As for the rest of Nina's family, I'm not exactly happy with them. Artemis is very selfish and choses to take her anger out on Nina multiple times throughout the story. There were moments where the twins were fighting and Nina realizes that she's also to blame for the things she did wrong and choses to apologize, all while Artemis continues to be grumpy and blame Nina for everything that happens, while continuously doubting her even though her newfound senses have proven to be right. I would have been okay with this if the sisters left off on a good note and learned how to work together by the end of the book, but sadly I was a bit disappointed. Nina's mother is a whole different story, but I wont be expanding on why I dislike her story due to spoilers. The rest of Nina's friend group I actually quite enjoyed. They were diverse and different and I found all of them quite entertaining.

The plot was very well written. There was action at the beginning of the book and it continued throughout the story to keep the reader well entertained and wanting to read more. While it was a tad predictable, there were moments where I was pleasantly surprised and not expecting them at all. The book was engaging and story was entertaining, the only thing I would add is a little bit more surprises.

Overall, I really enjoyed this story and will definitely keep reading in the series. I'm excited to see what happens next to Nina.

Sunday, February 3, 2019

Tour & Giveaway: The Incarn Saga


Issaura's Claws
The Incarn Saga Book 1
by Katharine E. Wibell
Genre: YA Fantasy

Synopsis: According to legend, when the world was young, the goddess Issaura appeared among men. Those who treated her with kindness received the gift of the gods—the ability to transform into an animal form. This was a great honor but one that separated this race from other humans. Before Issaura departed the mortal realm, she promised to return if her people were ever at the point of destruction.


Now a threat is rising from a land across the mists of the ocean, a threat that will push this race to the brink of extinction. Responding to the call to war, seventeen-year-old Lluava heads off to find her destiny, one that will carve her name in history.” 

The Kingdom of Elysia consists of two races: the dominant race of humans and the native race of Theriomorphs who can shift into animal form. Although law dictates equal treatment, they neither like nor trust each other. Now brutal and ruthless Raiders are approaching; there is only one chance to defeat them. An army must be raised and trained. An army where each human will be paired with a Theriomorph partner. An army that must fight as one to defeat their common enemy.

Women are not warriors. However, Lluava is not like other women – human or Theriomorph. Her animal form is a magnificent beast whose power and fury she must learn to control. Although Lluava endures intense physical training and strives to overcome the doubts of the male recruits, she faces an unexpected adversary in the commanding general who seeks to break both her spirit and her body.

At the paring ceremony, Lluava is humbled when presented with a unique and ancient weapon. Yet she becomes distraught and angry when her human partner is revealed. If they fail to trust each other, the consequences will be devastating. Death and destruction are on the horizon and time is running out.

The Incarn Saga is a young adult fantasy series inspired by ancient myths, filled with fast-paced action and adventure, and enriched by an understanding of animal behavior that defines the shape-shifting Theriomorphs.



Ullr's Fangs
The Incarn Saga Book 2

Synopsis: "According to legend, when the world was young, two gods of war — one male, one female — were destined for each other. Yet Ullr, forever unfaithful, lost the love of Issaura, his true match, and was forsworn. His violent anger and bitter rage grew and intensified, poisoning all creation and humanity.


Now that the Raiders’ long ships have faded from sight, the kingdom of Elysia is beginning to recover from the summer’s war with the brutal invaders from across the sea. Yet darker forces have taken root, forces that can alter the future of the land and its people in unthinkable ways. Seventeen-year-old Lluava must discover the means to prevent her world from collapsing. But in doing so, will she succumb to that darkness?"





Crocotta's Hackles
The Incarn Saga Book 3

Synopsis: According to legend, when the world was young, Crocotta, Queen of the Gods, discovered her mate’s faithlessness. She vowed to prevent future threats to all matrimonial pacts henceforward, but for her it was too late. The child born from the illicit coupling was a warrior goddess—one whom Crocotta would seek to destroy throughout eternity.

Now that the Raiders’ elite army is threatening the kingdom of Elysia’s northern borders, seventeen-year-old Lluava must leave the familiarity and safety of her native land to venture into the wilderness. Her mission is to discover others like her who will come to Elysia’s aid; her hope is to unravel the secrets behind what it means to be Incarn. But what she finds could destroy everything.”

Lluava’s story continues in Crocotta’s Hackles, the third book in The Incarn Saga's award-winning new-adult series.




Katharine Wibell’s lifelong interest in mythology includes epic poetry like the Odyssey, Ramayana, Beowulf, and the Nibelungenlied. In addition, she is interested in all things animal whether training dogs, apprenticing at a children’s zoo, or caring for injured animals as a licensed wildlife rehabilitator. After receiving degrees from Mercer University in both art and psychology with an emphasis in animal behavior, Wibell moved to New Orleans with her dog, Alli, to kick start her career as an artist and a writer. Her first literary works blend her knowledge of the animal world with the world of high fantasy.





Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts, guest posts and a giveaway!








Monday, January 28, 2019

Tour & Giveaway: The Allegiance Series


Captive Rebel
The Allegiance Book 1
by Erin McDermott
Genre: YA Fantasy Romance

Synopsis: In a world where Greek Gods rule over the Allegiance, Marylyn O’Conner struggles to survive. 



Marylyn is a rebel, forced to do the rebellion’s bidding until an unforgiving family debt is paid. A pawn in the war against the Allegiance, she is obligated to become a rebel spy, or her family will suffer. 

When word spreads that an Allegiant Prince, Ariston, has escaped rebel captivity vowing to hunt down rebel spies, Marylyn realizes her only hope is to escape Allegiant territory. 

While on the run, Ariston captures Marylyn, preventing her from any chance of returning home. Desperate, she knows she needs to escape her alluring captor or risk the safety of her family. 

But Marylyn can’t keep herself from falling for the mysterious prince as she finds that he can empathize with her troublesome past - a past no ally has understood before.



Immortal Rebel
The Allegiance Book 2

Synopsis: He is scarred by betrayal, she lives by deceiving others...



Betrayed, rebel Michael O’Conner blames himself for the Allegiance laying waste to the rebel town Pyke. After Pyke’s destruction, a curse of immortality was placed on him by the three Furies. Ashamed, he vowed to live a disconnected life, undisturbed by anything occurring outside his seclusion.

Phoibe is an Allegiant bounty hunter, circumstances forcing her to collect bounties or lose her only home. When she is tasked with capturing a girl named Marylyn O’Conner, for a promising reward, Phoibe agrees. To aid in her mission, she creates an alliance with the isolated immortal, Michael O’Conner.

After learning his sister has been taken captive by an Allegiant Prince, Michael O’Conner realizes he can no longer hide from the world. He agrees to join Phoibe and save his sister, completely unaware of her ulterior motives.

Phoibe knows she needs to keep everything a secret from the handsome immortal, or risk losing her only home. Phoibe only hopes she can handle the heartache that will come with betraying a man who has already experienced so much betrayal in his past.



Forgotten Rebel
The Allegiance Book 3

Synopsis: She will do anything to save him, even risk her only chance to return home...



Fanny is an exiled princess of the Allegiance, a faction favored by the Greek Gods. She was exiled for loving a rebel, but now he has gone missing. She will do anything to find him - even place her trust in the mysterious yet enticing stranger, Adonis.

He promises Fanny he knows where the rebel, Charles, has been taken, but refuses to explain how he knows. Seeing that he is her only hope, she follows him on a journey to the Allegiant capital, hoping Charles is still alive.

The only catch? Adonis does not know Fanny is exiled. She needs to feign Allegiant royalty if she wants his help. Desperate, that is exactly what she does.



Erin McDermott was born and raised in New Jersey. She graduated college with a bachelors degree in History. If she's not in her room writing, you may find somewhere on the Jersey Shore with her family. She has been writing stories since 3rd grade. It was not until after experiencing the fast-paced life New York City had to offer that she decided to finally take the plunge and finish her first book, CAPTIVE REBEL (The Allegiance, Book 1).



During her years in college she expressed a deep interest in Greek Mythology, which she incorporates into The Allegiance Series. She is incredibly grateful to her family for supporting her throughout the trials and tribulations of the independent publishing process.

Website * Facebook * Instagram * Amazon * Goodreads

Interview


"When did you first begin writing?" 
  • I began writing in 3rd grade while watching my brother's Little League games. I would just sit in a corner and write. The books I wrote were inspired by "Little House on the Prairie," by Laura Ingalls Wilder. I would sit and write about my life in the houses I lived in, just as she wrote about her life in her diaries. 

"When did you decide to first publish a book?" 
  • I always loved writing, but the idea of publishing a book seemed like an impossible dream. I never thought I'd finish a book, never mind actually publish something. It wasn't until I was working a job that I really didn't enjoy that I decided to set to my dreams and complete a book. Then my first book was born, Captive Rebel. 

What advice would you give to those who are trying to write a book? 
  • I once read somewhere that writing is like building a sand castle. The first draft is you filling a sandbox with, well, sand! It's messy, it's unstructured, but it's something to work with. Knowing the first draft is going to be sloppy is the only way to finish the book. Once you finish a book your goal seems more realistic and the edits will come on easy. The edits are you building the sand castle in that scenario, by the way. 

What inspired you to write Captive Rebel? 
  • Actually, I had a dream. It was a vivid dream and I needed to get it down on paper. In one night I wrote 10,000 words. Then, I didn't look at that story again. Not until after my job in New York City when I finally decided to begin pursuing my dreams.


Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts, guest posts and a giveaway!







Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...